We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimly Restaurant

Kimly Restaurant
Waterfront Crab Market, Kep, Cambodia
012/435-096
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 46 Restaurants in Kep
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Cambodian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Good restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good place if you want something more than basic grilled fish or restaurant in Kep. Don't expect too much. Only good service, good location, good quality of food but the price is a bit more expensive than the other restaurants of the village. If you are going to eat basic khmer food try the first restarant of the walking coast (opposite to Kimly).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    158
    58
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Kep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was without doubts the best restaurant we ate while in Kep. The crab is excellent, try the fresh green pepper one. While its a little bit more expensive than other places in SE Asia, for $10 dollars you can eat like a king. You won't regret it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a lovely evening here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a lovely evening here, having dinner with some friends. Our table was right at the front, so we had a lovely breeze straight off the water. The service was good and very speedy, the crab was excellent, if a bit messy to eat. It would be a shame to leave Kep without at least one crab meal and I would recommend a visit here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great place to eat out over the ocean with wonderful views and a refreshing breeze. The food is delicious, the freshest crab you can get, direct from the sea to your plate in minutes. A must do if in Kep.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kimly, from local place to eat to tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Over the last 3 years, I have been quite regularly to Kimly. It is well known among the expat and locals alike. We knew that prices were a bit higher but we always felt having good value for money and most importantly the food was good. A pretty good indicator of the quality of a restaurant across the countries I have lived in and travelled is if a place is also frequented by locals (Cambodians and expats alike). Kimly was such as place, at least it used to be. A little renovation and a few reviews in tourist guides down the road, the restaurant has much become a tourist trap. Prices were put up and portions cut. Don’t get me wrong it is still good food and the staff is still friendly and understands what you want (a big added value in Cambodia were often you have to struggle with waiters who have only basic English skills or very quickly pretend not to understand you when it arranges them). The locals have not been fooled and indeed you can no longer find one in the restaurant, even in one of the most busy nights such as during Chinese New Year.
I you are only passing by Kep once, you may still consider this place but for demanding travellers, I would not recommend the place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimly Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kimly Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimly Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.