We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Boat House to your Saves list
The Boat House
Beach Road, Kep, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Kep B&B and Inns
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

There are 2 houses so the place is spacy and comfy. We were in the back one, a little more expensive but ok and the room was very nice (no AC though). It's quiet and nice, you just have to relax in a big chair and enjoy. Owner is nice and helpful. Food is good and good for the price also! (compared to what you can find around...) Truly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    23
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
46
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Firstly I should say that I was staying at the front part of the guesthouse- the back part looked much cleaner and newer but was of course more expensive as a result. We had a double with fan for $12, and they put in an extra mattress at no extra cost, so it was good value. And the location is good, close to the beach and not too far from the crab market. The owner was around most of the time and was very friendly. The reason I have marked it only as average is that the room was pretty shabby, had obviously not been cleaned fully (and wasn't cleaned during our stay), and the drains were blocked which made showering unpleasant- when we asked they said that happened often. We were given a fan but there was nowhere to plug it in as the only power sockets were down the side of the bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful 3 nights at this mellow and fair priced guesthouse in the small town Kep which is a tranquille place to kick back.

Its situated close to all you could need, and most of what Kep has to offer. The beach, the national park and the crab market.

The French owner loves to smile! He drew us a routemap for us to follow on motorbike and so we spend the whole day driving through the 'true' Cambodia without seeing ANY tourist! I definetly recommend the guesthouse, its kind staff and owner, and this motodaytrip. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I couldn't have asked for more in terms of a hotel in Kep province. I cannot remember exactly what the charge was for the stay, but I do remember it being not too expensive, but also not exactly cheap. This place is very peaceful, as soon as we arrived and saw the cottages and all the beauty that this place has abounding in it I was very glad we found it. It is very quaint and serene--there are rabbits, lizards, birds and all sorts of animals lounging around in the courtyard. You can tell the Boat House is a labour of love as it is run by a small family who lives there as well. There is a kitchen down the road where the mother cooks and the food is brought back to the table in the lobby for you. I remember the fresh and vibrant flavor of the fish and Kampot green peppercorn dish I was served. The room was nice and comfy, all the things you need are in there (except tv or a fridge). The woman we dealt with even helped us arrange to rent motobikes and charter our bus home. All told we had a very relaxing stay. Excellent service, the lady who served us went above and beyond, we settled our tabs with her at our departure before we left. I would HIGHLY recommend the Boat House. It is a wonderfully cared for place where relaxation is the priority.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the Boat House for two nights. Kep is a very nice and quiet place to get some rest from the busy city of Phnom Penh. Our room was in the big house behind, it was spacious and looked very charming. The pillow cases were spotty but there was no problem getting them changed. A minus point gets the wash-room, not much water came out of the shower and it smelled a bit. It could use a good renovation! The owner was very friendly and gave us good tips as to what to do and where to go. Breakfast and Dinner were tasty and good and fairly priced. This B&B is very near the beach and other restaurants. All in all, a good place to stay at!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

A really short but lovely stay in Kep. Best thing about the boathouse was the staff – super friendly & the owner went out of his way to chat to us too. We had a mid price room ($16 a night I think) which was perfect – good air-con, large & clean. A few more bed sheets would be nice though & the hot water is a sporadic drizzle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved our 2 nights here. Location is perfect (300m from the bus stop and beach on the right, 400m from the crab market on the left). Furnitures and decoration could not be better.

The boat house is actually two distinct buildings close by each other. The one right by the main road (boat house 2) is where the restaurant, reception, pool table, sofas and some rooms are located. It looks great, new and clean. The restaurant was a bit disappointng though: my rice was burned and so salty that I had a hard time finishing it. Small serving given the above-average price.

The other building 50 meter in the back (boat house 1) is where our room was located and seems to be the original one. The resting area is as awesome as by the boat house 2 but not as clean (sofa pillows need a big wash!). It looked a bit deserted and although we did see other customers for the most part it felt like we rented a huge villa just for ourselves (can't complain about that).

If you opt for the cheapest rooms (8 usd) pick the one with a window and shared hot water bathroom. It looks much nicer than the one with private cold water ensuite but without window. Alternatively, add an extra 2 usd and get the charmful and much bigger room 11 (best value). The shared bathroom just in front feels private.

Only problem: all towels and bed sheets were full of stain in the 3 rooms we checked. Still we would not hesitate to come back and we definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful rest.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Address: Beach Road, Kep, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located between the two hills close to the Kep National Park, 300 meters from the Kep beach. The house is a traditional wooden Khmer style. The restaurant serve a fine and traditional French cuisine made by our French chef with reasonable prices. Ideal for rest and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Hotel Kep

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.