We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has everything you need!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Boat House to your Saves list
The Boat House
Beach Road, Kep, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 37 Kep B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Has everything you need!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

There are 2 different houses ranging in price. We stayed in the cheaper Boat House 2, for $8 with fan and cold water showers. The staff are really friendly and so is the owner Christophe from France. They really make you feel welcomed and showed us around to the other house. The rooms looked really nice (but out of our price range) and there was a TV area to use with a bunch of DVDs to watch. We rented some bikes that weren't in the best condition (very rusty and old brakes) but for only $1 each they were ok. Great location to crab market. Very nice place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    23
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
46
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Boat House on first appearance seemed charming. They have a lovely, spacious and relaxing eating/communal area, and the owner was friendly and chatty.

But this was where the pleasure ended. Although they had a menu available all day, they didn't have much food left in the afternoon when we arrived (even though they'd had a few weeks notice that we'd be there, and the place didn't seem busy), and what they had left was insubstantial and just wasn't very good. There were about two dozens huge mosquitoes in our bathroom, and the bedroom (slightly above ground level) was dark, dingy and damp smelling, although they were reasonably spacious.

Their communication was poor too - they booked a taxi to take us to Phnom Penh in the morning, then told us when the taxi was due to arrive that the taxi company had cancelled it, because they wanted a higher fare as it was a public holiday. While the cancellation wasn't the staffs' fault, we were annoyed and stressed that they hadn't told us earlier, or made any attempts to rearrange a different taxi. With little time to spare, we got them to rebook the taxi, for more money. We had to, because one member of the group had a flight to catch.

This place was a real disappointment after the warm, efficient and generous hospitality we'd experienced the previous two nights at Ganesha's Eco Resort in Kampot. If there were no other accommodation available in Kep, I might consider giving The Boat House a second chance and ask for one of the higher rooms, and eat elsewhere. But given a choice I would try to find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I spent two wonderful relaxing days and nights in this enchanted guesthouse: There is a variety of rooms in two different buildings for all budgets. I chose a more expensive one (20 $) due to the fascinating wooden building in Khmer style. The en-suite bathroom has a bathtub and even daylight. I felt very comfortable. There is no air/con but this is not necessary due to the many trees around the house which help to keep it cool.
The food is very tasty and generous: For 5 $ I got a superb breakfast with eggs, bacon, fruit juice, fruit salad, bread, butter jam and coffee! And the fish amok is great.
Not to forget the host, Christophe from France, who makes your stay a special one.
Although not situated at the ocean but just between the central point where the buses arrive and the crab market on the other side, it's easy walking distance to both places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Kep is pretty spread out, and this place is in a good location for the crab market, Kep beach, the restaurants on the hill by the national park. It's not too long to walk to Coco Beach too. You should definitely look for the shortcut on the other side of the road that takes you to the crab market much quicker than going via the roundabouts though you'll need a torch if you're going in the dark.

The place has two buildings - if your in the newer one definitely explore the upper house - I didn't even know it was there until the friendly owner Christoph took me on a tour. It has several great places to hang out in.

The food here is good, although there isn't much choice for breakfast. Wifi is reliable, and the staff are friendly. I was in a fan room for the first 2 nights and it was a bit hot to be honest, although I think the ones in the upper house would be breezier. Still $10 for an aircon room with bathroom isn't bad so I moved to that for the rest of my stay.

You can rent bikes here, tho they are all a bit ropey and had flat tires when I had a look, but there's a place that's marginally better a few metres down the hill.

Christoph has just taken the place over and has some interesting ideas, so think this place is only going to get better in the coming months.

Room Tip: The rooms in the upper house are much more atmospheric but a bit more expensive. The fan room I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place was the best hotel we had in Cambodia. The rooms were clean, the garden was a beautiful place to just relax in and staff was very friendly and helpful when we were looking for sights around kep and to find a bus to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Kep is a lovely place to chill out for a few days. The Boat House complements that notion perfectly.

Two beautiful converted houses with immaculate, furnished, cool rooms at very reasonable rates. Set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by countryside. Delicious breakfast at on-site restaurant and lovely lounge areas to read and write and while away the days. Lovely, helpful staff and a really nice ambience/vibe. Perfect for some down-time and for couples.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Intended to just stay here for one night to recover from Sihanoukville before heading off into Vietnam, but ended up staying an extra couple.

Whilst there isn't an awful lot to do in Kep, it was a great place to just sit chill out and regroup.

The staff are endlessly friendly, helpful and accommodating; good wifi connection; great location make for an easy walk into town and the beach and from the bus station; close to entrance for national park and trails and you have the use of bicycles.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Address: Beach Road, Kep, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located between the two hills close to the Kep National Park, 300 meters from the Kep beach. The house is a traditional wooden Khmer style. The restaurant serve a fine and traditional French cuisine made by our French chef with reasonable prices. Ideal for rest and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Hotel Kep

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.