We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best yet in Kep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Romonea

Save Saved
You added Villa Romonea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Romonea
Kampot Road | Prey Thom, Kep Thmei, Kep, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty lodging in Kep
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best yet in Kep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at Villa Romonea with friends in April 2013. They booked first and secured the "best rooms". Sure, they had a sea view etc, but our two rooms were very comfortable, clean and smart & half the price! The bathrooms were clean, tasteful & modern.

Breakfast was a real treat. Freshly cut fruit from the garden, and excellent bacon supplemented a great range of french pastries and breads. Lunch and dinner was available by ordering out, which staff managed for us, and then laid up the tables when food arrived. What a great service and meant everyone was happy with such a varied selection!

Facilities were good; the children loved the pool, the tennis court (when Cambodia's Davis Cup tennis player wasn't practising there!), and of course the TV room had it's uses. Shortly after we arrived a tropical storm hit, and all three families hung out playing games in the "heart" of the villa. That worked really well, and demonstrates the thoughtful design of the original architect.

The grounds are something not to be underestimated. They really are spacious. No building site next door, and even if there were at some stage in the future, the villa and pool are a good distance from the neighbouring properties - something unusual in Cambodia's crowded hotel sector.

This was a great place to stay, and we have no hesitation in saying "we'll be back".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Villa Romonea is a very special boutique hotel sitting along beach in the quiet town of Kep, next to Vietnam border. I was 1st attracted to visit it by its unique architecture design, and listed as the World's Hottest Hotel 2011.

I've stayed there a few times both solo and with groups of friends. It feels like visiting your wealthy friend's private house: deep infinity salt water pool, sea front pavilion where I do my yoga every evening in dream like sunset, int'l quality tennis court, huge garden where I can have massage under cool shade of trees... They recently finished renovation of the deck, outdoor shower, and facade painting. It's a perfect place for 3-4 families rent the entire villa together, very kids friendly. Also good for parties, I joined a wedding there recently with 120+ guests, everyone loves it...

Staffs here are friendly and helpful, the last existing unspoiled beautiful Khmer people. Food can be ordered from best near Kep restaurants, and staff would serve candle light dinner outdoor with style under the mango tree.

As for activities, there's local sandy beach Rabbit island good for day trip, Sailing club next door along the beach, or just simply hang out relaxing in the house and pool side...

I would recommend people looking for exclusive seaside vacation experience to try it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It's a luxury holiday home, and the perfect spot for families with young children. We spent a very quiet week there (away from lunar new year in busy Hanoi) so we had time to think about it.
There are 6 rooms in total, three are small (for kids) and three are for couples, including two original huge bedrooms in the 1960's style and furniture with very nicely designed bathroom and immense balconies.
We had the two connected rooms downstairs, which were very handy for our three kids aged 5 months, 2.5 years and 6. Outside our door starts a lush garden, within which a nice pool awaits under a mango tree. This is where I am writing this on our last day there.
Everything is available to keep parents and kids busy, games, movies (there is a nice loungy video room), outdoor gear like balls, boxing equipment, golf practice (there is a run down fairway in the garden that will be upgraded), and there is a brand new tennis court.
There is no restaurant, which is better because about 10 different menus of neighbouring places are available and every meal can be ordered and different. There is western food, vietnamese, khmer and anything kids like.
Breakfast is however served and good. The common huge kitchen makes it homy, and anything is at hand with a self service system and 3 very helpful and kind ladies. Stephane, the manager, knows the country very well and will happily spend hours with those eager to learn about Kep's and Cambodia's history, economy or anything about the flora, the fauna etc.... And kids really like him.
With three families of friends sharing the house it would make a perfect nostalgic stay, like when we were kids and our parents would organize a rental by the sea.
When I see which other places are in this category of trip advisor's there is no possible comparison, and Villa Romonea ought to be number 1.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We loved Villa Romonea - though it is definitely very expensive given the amenities, it's a lovely secluded place right on the beach and we saw one of the most beautiful stunning sunsets of our lives here. We also ate the most exquisite crab with the kampot green pepper sauce - unbelievable and the best meal we had in cambodia. I loved eating out by the pool on the rustic table overlooking the ocean. The manager stephane is quite a character and very knowledgeable on kep and where to go, eat, etc (though he recommended we visit rabbit island, which we hated - beware if you want to go there that it's a dirty ex-hippie hang out. everyone on the island looked like they were coming down off a very long long trip. no smiles and lots of flies - ick).

Also I would not recommend staying in the small lower floor room here - it was described by one guest as a dorm. We stayed in the large upstairs room with a beautiful view. I really enjoyed staying here and it certainly looked nicer and more intimate than knai bang chatt. the sailing club was also a nice place for happy hour.

also you can get a massage under the tree in the yard, which I never did, but it looked nice.

Room Tip: Makes a big difference to stay in the larger room on top floor with the excellent view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Agent had booked us in here as a result of sudden cancellation by another hotel. I would imagine that when the villa was newly refurbished it might have been reasonably good. However, it was clear that the place had been allowed to fall into a sorry state of repair. The decking around the pool was splintered and broken with nails protruding and just [lain dangerous. The outside shower area was frankly disgusting - covered with green mould: building works and abandoned electric cables everywhere. Tired kitchen, dirty outside furniture, pretty shabby room. All in all very depressing. Needless to say we did not stay there and left within an hour. This purports to be a luxury villa from the website. You have been warned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane A, Manager at Villa Romonea, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Stj Surrey,

After Reading your review, i sincerely apologize for your experience you had coming to stay at Villa Romonea in November, angered by the sudden cancellation from other location.
Firstable, we am sorry we didnt meet, i dont know your client’s name either your agency, and we didnt had any prior contact with them to warn before arrival that we had also renovation works at that period. The other hotel mismanagement of bookings with their extension’s works let many clients or partners unsatisfied and angered…
At the time you came we had obviously different technical issues, as the façade, the deck, pool shower and the tennis court.
There is nothing else to say about the deck and the shower, very badly damaged by a shamefull and wrong set up from the building contractor. We had programmed to change it from early December. By the way there are no nails on the terrace, only wood sticks as on a boat structure. Nobody has been ever hurted or injuried at the Villa since we opened it, and we do everything to secure it.
The shower has been rebuilt on a more secluded location, at the edge of the terrace with the garden. It has be done in early December , before the Xmas and New Year’s Eve period.
For the deck, we replaced it by tiles for a major part and we kept a woodden deck along the pool. We had to wait till November because the rainy season ended lately.
Also the lateness of the renovation of the façade was due to another uncompetent contractor who get replaced. It has been finished on the middle of December.
Even the tennis court had to be rebuilt because a wrong set-up and became ITF standard on the middle of December, when international tennis players came for a week of training,, with the Tennis Federation of Cambodia and the three best players of the country.
I totally understand your mail and judgement. I would have prefer to read your review after you had slept at the Villa, i believe it would have been lightly different. We are always taking the most care of your guests during their stay. It is more challenging when the guests doesnt stay. And their experience of the Villa is limited to the first impression.
Please accept one more time my apologies as i did with all guests staying at the Villa in November, and consider that all the technical points you have noticed have been corrected.
Best regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

This place is just great, Breakfast in increadible. I am biased as the manager is a friend of mine but the overall impression my familly has after the first night is super. Many thanks Stef, will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Rey, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We just stayed at Villa Romonea here for 3 nights and had a very nice time in Kep. Villa Romonea is a beautifully restored New Khmer villa on a huge slice of coastline property. The pool and deck area is wonderful and we enjoyed the beach front pavillion as well. The house is run almost like a vacation rental and you treat it like your own home (which we enjoyed). The management is happy to arrange for a scooter, bikes, etc. which we took full advantage of. For two of the nights we stayed there it was full, but it there is definitely enough space for everyone to enjoy. For our last night, we had the place all to ourselves and it was magic. There is a great breakfast spread, but for the rest of the day you are on your own - the arrangement they've made is that they can pick up food from several of the local restaurants for lunch or dinner. They have menus at the ready and you just tell them what you want and it is delivered and then set-up/plated for you as though it's a restaurant. I was skeptical at first, but I actually liked this arrangement. The staff is very nice, but again it is treated more like a vacation rental than a place with 5-star service - there is always a manager present but don't expect someone to come by asking if you want a drink every 10 minutes (I actually enjoy a place where I can just walk into the kitchen and grab a beer if I want). They have stocked beers, wines, etc. and you just let them know what you take if you serve yourself. When we brought home mangos or pineapple from the market, the staff was more than happy to prepare for us. We stayed in one of the large rooms upstairs and it was great. Beautiful views, comfy bed, and a huge bathroom. We also toured all the rooms while we were there and they were all nicely appointed (the rooms downstairs in the main house are small, but at this property you should be outside, in the kitchen, on the lawn, in pool, at the beach veranda, (i.e., anywhere but your room) most of the time. Kep is one of the most peaceful places we've been in SE asia and Villa Romonea is a great place to soak it all up. I hope more places like this pop up in Kep. Artful, low impact development with a focus on highlighting the glory days of Kep-sur-Mer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Romonea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romonea

Address: Kampot Road | Prey Thom, Kep Thmei, Kep, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty lodging in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa Romonea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Romonea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.