We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably Forgettable! or not” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Beach House to your Saves list
The Beach House
Kep Beach, Kep, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 37 Kep B&B and Inns
Busselton, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Forgettable! or not”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Well where to start.

Possibly the pick up, we were carrying our own suitcases and a young man stops and asks our names ( as we were two separate couples ) and he says I am late. The two women get in the cart and are taken up the road, where he promptly drops my suitcase. Not a good beginning. When on holiday I like to take my time and sort out what I want to do and where I want to go – continually asked by driver what he can do to help.

Once in our room we then find out that there was no TV and no Wifi in room, which was on the internet! There were no towels, no ice, no tea/coffee facilities, holes in the fly wire and main door did not actually close so we had flying things coming and going (I hate bugs!!) and a real no care attitude by the staff. We then found out that the place was trying to be sold ( also met a potential buyer ) and realized that the owner was certainly not interested in her customers.

The pool was alive with more wild life than you could poke a stick at and certainly the incorrect colour and was out of it and into the shower as quickly as possible. No place to put your suitcases, even dropped ones! Each time you go out the fridge goes off, but the potential owner helped me with that. The last thing one wants to do is come back to hot beer!

The trouble is there is so much potential at this hotel going to waste. All I can say is bring on the new owner.! And make sure you find out just how long the owner has been there before booking this joint!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    17
    0
    4
See reviews for
11
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Kep is a strange town. It has nothing really to offer in terms of sandy beaches and the normal sights associated with a beach town... but it has a charm of yester-year!
It is a cool place to chill out as there are no beggars and similar annoyances associated with other seaside towns. In the area there are places of interest to visit and your days can be filled with activities if you so choose!
We loved Kep and will certainly be going back again and again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

When you first arrive, finding a good place to stay in Kep which doesn't cost an unreasonable amount is not easy. The problem is that the hotels are spread out so its not possible to walk around and check out a range of them.

The pool area, at the Beach House though small, is the highlight. It overlooks the sea and is lovely to sit around and relax. The food was good at the hotel (though there is nothing to beat Breezes which is down the road and offers a free tuk-tuk service from your hotel).

At the Beach House, as a family of four, we went for the Family Room - two double rooms seemed to cost a lot for what you got. The family room is around the back which has two downsides - the first is that it has no view (the other rooms overlook the sea). The other downside is that you have to walk past what looks to be a rubbish tip to get to the room (the tip is in the adjacent property and a couple of storeys down). The family room itself was clean and has two rooms - so the kids are in one room and the parents another. The bathroom is nothing to write home about - but adequate enough.

The Beach House's location is near the main centre (though there is really not much there) and too far to walk at night with kids to the Crab Market (we tried it and it is not recommended). There are heaps of Tuk-Tuks so getting around is easy enough.

Kep is wonderfully calm and is a real gem slightly off the main Cambodian tourist path. It is also a great place to stop for a couple of days if you want to travel overland from Phnom Penh to Phu Quoc (in Vietnam).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I would describe this place as only OK. I did enjoy their pool area with massage chairs out and the free wifi (what a relief!). However, the rooms were only average - Ive had a person on the tour reporting that his door lock did not work. It also didnt seem very secure as the door were just the sliding doors 'hook lock' - easily undone and unlocked by an intruder. The deco inside were minimal and nothing to shout about but all in all Ive had no complaints. there is a nice view of the ocean from the room no. 1-3.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Kep is developing as a beautiful seaside holiday location and the Beach House is in an ideal location. We had an ideal experience and can recommend the resort for individuals or families. There is areas the management need to work on though. Small maintenance issues need to be addressed as they can have an affect on the overall rating.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

After looking at a number of places in Kep (some full, some scabby & some lovely but v expensive) we decided to stay here.
It has a good location v close to the beach & an easy walk to the Crab Market. Lovely sunsets from the upper terraces.
Small but welcome pool. Free wifi at the bar.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

The Beach House is in a good location, overlooking the central beach area and a square where Cambodian families gather for a picnic on the weekend. It's also close to the start of the walk around the hill behind the hotel which is a must.

The pool area (very small pool) is a nice place to relax with a beer in the evening and the staff are all helpful and attentive.

The problems that I found were:

1. Water on the floor in the bathroom didn't drain well at all which meant a cold pool of water that I had to step in whenever I needed to go to the bathroom
2. The sliding, external door was fairly stiff and made a maddening screech each time it was opened (probably worse for my neighbors than me.
3. The food is pretty terrible. I only had a snack in the evening and some breakfast, but both were enough to put me off trying any other food there. Greasy and flavorless.

Asides from this, the hotel is not bad, it's just disappointing to see places like this that are so close to getting it right, but take their eye off the ball on some quite important things.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: Kep Beach, Kep, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Kep

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.