We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compromise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Botanica Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Botanica Guest House to your Saves list
Botanica Guest House
National Route 33a, Kep, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Compromise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Ok! Its Cambodia, and its only $29 US a night.
So whats it like.
I dont know why but I really want to like the place. I've spent more time thinking aboiut this review than any other. But here goes.
We arrived and our Agoda booking was not entered into their room schedule.
English is perhaps the least understood than anywhere we have stayed in last month in Asia.It's ok, we wait and a manager arrives from the town itself, 3kms away.
They provide a lower standard room for our teenage children and offer to reimburse the difference. Ok all sorted. Its Cambodia, so lets be relaxed.
The pool is great - really nice.
The surrounds are good to.
However:
Your along way out of town on a road that is being upgraded and the roadway is wide enough for 8-10 lanes. Its dusty, hot and with little vegetation on its roadside. So either you get a tuk tuk at $2.50 each way into town or you endure a long, boring walk from the middle of nowhere.

The challenge is that there is not alot at Kep, so people seem to go there to simply relax at a nice place. This makes sense if your staying at a great resort with no need to leave or your located close to town and can just walk in whenever the need arises.

As nice as the tropical grounds may have been, the pool great - its more toward the backpacker end than resort - which given the price is to be expected.
It just felt that we were constantly in transit to the accomodation and back again to restaurants, the sailing club, etc.
We had an extra night at a resort nearer town, paid more, but felt the investment was well worth it.
I'd suggest you decide to stay at a really nice place where theres no need to leave - or get a cheap place closer to the town.

Room Tip: The non aircon rooms have a traditional small fan - not a ceiling fan. They also have vents designed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
34
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Kep is a beautiful place, but staying at the Botanica Guest House made it all the more wonderful.
I can't fault it!
The service was great, always happy to help in any way and in a laid back 'you can approach me' style, unlike many pushy guest house staff that constantly want to know what you are up to.

The food is beautiful at the restaurant! And the owners two year old boy will keep you entertained for hours. He is adorable!

The pool is great!

The private villas were outstanding, set in a gorgeous garden atmosphere you could feel as if you were in your own private oasis. We opted for the $19 bungalow which was with a fan and cold shower, but the cleanliness and comfort of the villa more than made up for the lack of hot water and at $19 for all of that who can complain! They clean the room and changed the beds every day too, which is a lot more than many guest houses could say for the same price!

Overall wonderful, comfortable and enjoyable place to stay. I can guarantee if you book for 3 it'll end up being more like 5 nights like us!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed 3 nights at these bungalows. We had 2 bungalows - one with hot shower and the other with cold water only. This didn't matter too much as the hospitality shown to us was by far the best we received on our trip to Cambodia. The owners and their friendly staff treated us like family and gave us much advice about the area as well as booked trips and transport for us. After a day out, the pool was great to cool off in and best of all the meals cooked in their kitchen were a great change from eating out as they were home cooked and absolutely delicious. Simple accommodation but highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The perfect guesthouse to enjoy some relaxing days in Kep. The bungalows are beutiful, sourounded by a lovely garden and every bungalow has it own hammoch. Perfect for a nap! The pool is nice - and the staff will give you an extra towel, when you go for a swim. Pool area/restaurant/reception is beautifully designed. Staff is really sweet and welcoming. Rooms are spotless. And the owner's son is really good at charming all the guests! The guesthouse is a bit far from town, but since you don't go to Kep for the town it self, it isn't really a problem. The guesthouse will lent you bikes for free. If you're going to Kep; stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phu quoc, Viet nam
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I fell in love with this guest house since i step in, just like another world compare to the dusty road out there, the owner, Alak, greeting us with a big smile and quickly show us the room. Our rooms is amazing, it's like a resort, not guesthouse. We love the couch infornt of our room.
Next day we have a problem after eatting Crab from Crab market, so Alak gave us some medicine, she event gave me her motorbike and show me where can i get medicine.
I don't like Kep, but i love Botanica.Next time i may come Kep just to enjoy my time in Botanica

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morzine, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in May 2013 and we both LOVED it. The bungalows were immaculate, the bed was comfortable, bathroom was very nice, porch with sofa and hammock were a great way to chill out in the shade in the afternoon. The bungalows were tucked away in a beautifully manicured garden. The room came with a mosquito net which we didn't generally need but it was nice to have.

The food was ah-may-zing! You do pay a few dollars extra compared to local restaurants but the taste was unbelievably good and the portions were massive. Our faves were beef lok lak and the chilli beef which they made especially for us as it was not a menu item (15 chillies per dish -- yikes!).

It was such a relaxing stay -- the pool is AWESOME; nice sun lounge chairs, shower, well maintained. Only criticism I had was the poolside could benefit from umbrellas for shade -- Cambodia in May was too hot for comfort at the height of the afternoon! The owners and staff were lovely and sociable. It had a real 'family' feel to it and they were so welcoming. There was a TV in the lounge if you wanted it; and we used their pool table in the evening after dinner.

We took the free bikes into town a few times; very handy to have as it's a long walk from Kep town. They booked our day tour to Rabbit Island for us and it was cheaper than local travel agents.

When leaving, the bus company forgot about us and the staff phoned them 2 times to ensure we would get to our destination (Kampot). In the end, it seemed that the last bus had left without us and the owner (Phillipe) even offered to drive us himself. Luckily, due to their phone calls, the bus company sent a new coach for us and we did not have to inconvenience Phillipe -- but how sweet is he to offer?!?!?!

Next trip to Cambodia: Staying here longer!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kep, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having left the hectic pace of PP, I arrived at Botanica. Great place, in a beautiful setting. The bungalows are immaculate, with sofa and hammock on the porch. The bar and pool area is welcoming and laid back. The owners are welcoming and helpful. Would really recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Botanica Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanica Guest House

Address: National Route 33a, Kep, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Botanica Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botanica Guest House Hotel Kep

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botanica Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.