We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knai Bang Chatt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Knai Bang Chatt to your Saves list
Knai Bang Chatt
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Phum Thmey | Sangkat Prey Thom, Kep 908, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kep
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Slipping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

I first visited from Europe a couple of years ago, and thought I had found paradise on earth but this once wonderful place is going through a difficult moment. Recent apparently multiple management changes (from what I learned) have caused the place to loose its "soul", although it remains very beautiful, It is a wonderful concept, but that's about it. Food and service are good, but the rooms are spartan. The gym is a joke, and there is no beach too bad for a seaside resort. I would hesitate to spend again the kind of absurd money they are asking until it settles down. The owner is a Belgian decorator who probably doesn't spend a lot of time there. I would recommend it to a friend, but I would warn them.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    47
    31
    5
    8
See reviews for
49
163
21
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich / Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

First of all, the design and location of this hotel are amazing, this more than pays off for the mediocre service that you get a relatively steep price. The slow pace of Kep together with beautiful villa with its cool pool allow you to relax perfectly. I would recommend anybody to stay at this hotel, no question. However, the service could improve quite a bit - while there is a very large number of staff employed at the hotel, the level of service is generally rather poor. The bicycles that we rented from the hotel were in an amazingly poor state. We didn't use the spa services but what we noted that other guests had some issues there. The Sailing Club restaurant built onto the sea has incredible views and good food. The hotel is on the expensive side for what they deliver.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

quite simply a stunning place

rooms lacked tv and i thought the sailing club's cooking was quite hit and miss.

that being said the food at the main hotel was outstanding, the rooms were lovely and decorated in a nice minimalist style and the staff was ever present, friendly and always looking to help. had a good massage there too.

the main attraction however was the setting - simply stunning with breathtaking sunsets every evening and an eternity swimming pool 10 paces away from the sea.

all in all an incredibly relaxing place to stay and a great way to unwind after a trip around cambodia.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Saw the hotel on BBC (Rick Stein's food programme) and booked soon after. It felt more like a very good Guest House than a 5* Hotel despite the 5* price and pretensions. Concept is lovely, execution erratic, eg service for dinner at Sailing Club one evening was atrociously slow and tempers frayed all round. Rooms slightly spartan for the cost. But still charming. We had to book onward travel to Vietnam and Manager was spectacularly unaware of the possibilities and really not at all interested in finding out, in fact his information was wrong!

A pity as this has huge potential to be a superb hideaway, but we were left feeling we could manage it as well as the present regime!

Rith Travel & Tour Service [--] on the nearby beach [--] provided reliable info about travel on to Vietnam via Ha Tien and tickets. Excellent service, booking the boat to Phu Quoc the Manager of Knai Bang Chatt said did not run!

  • Liked — Lovely beachfront atmosphere
  • Disliked — Slight aroma of drains...
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Spent one VERY RELAXING night. The very spartan room was expensive but roomy with a comfortable bed and great water view. Full Breakfast was included. For other meals the food, which was ordered off of a limited set menu for each meal, was very good and served at a table next to the water by a typically sweet Cambodian waitress. Rooms are expensive but the food, wine and alcoholic beverages were quite reasonable. Infinity pool overlooking the water was beautiful and practical for lap swimming. Massage was of the no pain/no gain variety. Ask for Room # 4.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Knai Bang Chatt is very nice but a bit pricey given some uneven service. However it seems to be the only high-end place in Kep (which we really liked) so until there is some competition I'm not sure that things will change or that visitors will have many other options. First of all, like everywhere in Cambodia the staff were lovely, the architecture is very nice (although the entrance does not do the place justice) but the rooms are surprisingly bare and a lot of the fittings seem rather cheap. I know this fits in with the style but I still feel that the rooms could have been done up a bit more given the prices. We paid $134/night and did not have much of a view from the room (surprised there was no upgrade because the place was pretty empty), and the room was pretty small. There is a lovely pool, but no pool service (there was a plate of half eaten fruit that was left out for nearly a whole day). Next door to the hotel is a sailing club that has a nice bar/restaurant next to the sea that is absolutely fabulous for sunset. There is a lovely library with a great selection of books. Wifi was on and off apparently there was some problem with the server while we were there. Dinner takes place in a lovely open air room by the sea (it was very nice for us because there was a lovely cool sea breeze but I am not sure if there is a risk that it gets too hot in the high summer months). Dinner was fine ($38 for 2) but could have been better given all the fresh seafood (especially crabs) available in Kep. One thing i was rather annoyed about, every dinner they brought us a 1.5 litre bottle of water which we did not ask for and never finished. We never signed a bill at the end of dinner so it was only upon check-out that I found out we were charged $3 every night for the water. The breakfasts were nothing to write home about and again should have been much better given all the local fruit. When we arrived we were each given a local scarf as a gift which we really liked and thought was a great and unique idea and when we left we were given some nicely packed peppercorns. One thing that was a little strange was the hotel has a book in the room that says they rent scooters. When i tried to rent the scooter one day I was told the manager had taken it. Later in the afternoon the manager returned with a friend on the back of the scooter, when I asked about renting it, he said it was his scooter but I could rent it. So what is really going on, is it the hotels scooter as described in the books in the room or is it the managers scooter and he just rents out his own scooter to make a bit of extra money. Again at these prices it seems a bit strange.

As for Kep, we really really liked it. It is a very chill laid back atmosphere. It is great to go to the crab market and see how they bring the fresh crab in from the sea, sell them, and then cook them to order. It is fascinating to hire a scooter and just drive around looking at all the burnt out villas that show what a great resort Kep must have been during colonial times. Kep is lacking in a good beach but it makes a nice day trip to go out to rabbit island (still not a Thai style beach but perfectly nice), but be careful, i rented a boat that was meant to wait for me and when I was ready to go home the boat had dissapeared and I had to wait over an hour for another one. Apparently this is quite common. We were very dissapointed we couldn't make it up Bokor mountain (something i was really looking forward to) because the road is closed off. Apparently it has been like that for some time and they have no idea when it will open again. We did hear from some expats that work in Cambodia and were staying in the hotel that they get much better deals from the hotels, so I guess if you make a reservation say that you work in Cambodia.

All in all, until there is some competition, this is a great place to stay at, but with just a little effort this could really be an outstanding place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a fantastic 3-days stay at the Knai Bang Chatt.
The place, which is boarding the sea, has been completely refurbished in style by one of Europe's most important antiquaires families. Each and every detail of the place has been thought of: stylish rooms, large bathrooms, perfectly maintained garden, the open-air terrasse/dining room and of course the chilling sailing club.
The french manager is a perfect host to the place, with a passion for Khmer history and culture as well as keen interest in the local architecture.
We have enjoyed every single moment of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knai Bang Chatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knai Bang Chatt

Address: Phum Thmey | Sangkat Prey Thom, Kep 908, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kep
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knai Bang Chatt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene and pure, Knai Bang Chatt, an exquisite lifestyle resort, will enchant you. Located in Kep, right onthe southern east coastline of Cambodia, the resort gives you a blend of privacy, serenity and exclusivity.Three renovated villas built in the 1970s by protégés of Vann Molyvann, a pupil of the world renowned Le Corbusier, are extraordinary historical landmarks you can now experience as your very own private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Knai Bang Chatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knai Bang Chatt Hotel Kep

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knai Bang Chatt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.