We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borey Bokor

Borey Bokor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Borey Bokor to your Saves list
Borey Bokor
Kampot, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kampot
Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A clean bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed for 1 night. The hotel is looking grand and new from the outside. Perhaps the biggest in the city. But a bit dark and run down inside. There is no elevator.
Our room was basic with a clean bed, closet, television and ok bathroom.
From our window we could see a swimmingpool but didn´t try it.
There is no breakfast room. But there is plenty of restaurants that serves breakfast in the neighbourhood. The location is good. Close to the riverbank.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
4
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We checked into the hotel, with a friendly pleasant front desk receptionist. Got to our room and found out we were sharing the space with a rat. The cleaning staff were kind enough to catch the rat and remove it from the room.
We debated if we should try another room, Decided to check another room. We searched all over the room and it appeared to be rat free. We did stay at this hotel and no more incidents with rodents, but the hotel is quite shabby and starting to fall apart. They are building a new swimming pool in the back of the hotel but the rooms really need to be refreshed. The paint on hallways is peeling and moldy. The rooms are quite clean but need refreshing. The common areas, stariways need better cleaning.
A good location in middle of town and quiet for sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Found the rooms here a little run down considering the hotel had a fairly grand entrance. There was holes in the wall of our room and the curtains were broken and didn't meet in the middle. During the night there was far too many scuttling noises coming from behind the beds.. Didn't dare look! Quiet location only a short walk from the river and far nicer hotels. Compared with like accomadation in Cambodia this was a disappointment.
Saying all that, we loved Kampot.. our favourite place in Cambodia.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights - large clean room with good AC. Hotel only a minute walk from the river. Plenty of nearby cafes to have breakfast (try Epic Arts cafe just along the road). Quiet location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

I can't remember much about this hotel. Although it was a large looking hotel we didn't have breakfast here as visited a little place that employed hard of hearing or deaf and also disabled people to run the place.

Like the other reviewers I do remember a large TV in the reception that seemed to get watched most of the time and the staff were very busy on 24th making bird's nest soup!!!

No lift but very grand stairs of which we were on the 3rd floor!!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

We have staid at Borey Bokor for 1 Night in Jan06.
Our room was very basic but spotless clean with tiled floor, Aircondition, twinbed and hot water.
We´ve been the only guests and they guy at the receiption was watching TV all the time, so we did not expect any service beside a wake up call.
Location is good, close to the river where you will find some nice little restaurants.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No other guests...
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

We ended up staying at this hotel as we were on a tour and i was taken ill with food poisioning so had to be moved from our homestay to a functioning hotel with electricity. Unfortunatley, this was about all we got. The hotel appeared to be totally empty and there was no one around , anywhere. The room was very dirty, various things broken off and not working. The bathroom was in a serious state of disrepair, not only did it need everything fixing but the plumming looked rather dangerous and it was hygenically a nightmare. In the early morning we had two unannounced visits by a lady who we believe wanted to "clean" our room? But this is only a guess as she ran off when we called out to her that we were in the room still
Unless this hotel has undergone HUGE renovations please do not stay here!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borey Bokor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borey Bokor

Address: Kampot, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Borey Bokor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borey Bokor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.