We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NYNY Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added NYNY Guesthouse to your Saves list
NYNY Guesthouse
1 Oussphea Village | Kampong Kondal Commune, Kampot, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 Kampot B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My single room was very large and had two windows. Water in the shower was plentiful and maintained its temperature. The main receptionist Lena was friendly and spoke English. The night receptionist was also friendly and spoke English. The mosquitoes were a problem even though I kept the windows closed and used the air conditioner. You will need to buy one of those plug in mossie repellants and use insect repellant on your skin even at night. It would be good if the cleaners removed rubbish from the corridors as leaving it attracted flies. The sleep quality would have been improved if Kampot did not have a night time dog problem - fighting in packs - but that isn't the hotel staff's fault.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
39
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel location within walking distance to everything, very clean, great wifi, hot shower and very friendly staff able to assist with booking anything. Great security. Not a single problem here infect we wished we could have stayed longer. Definitely recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Room and bedsheets are very clean and tidy. Air-conditioning was quiet and strong (you can adjust). Quite close to city centre which was some 5 to 10 minutes walk only. They charged me USD20 for a night because it was during Chinese New Year and no more available rooms of other hotels/guesthouses along the street that this hotel is located. They also told me that I could only stay for one more night. Therefore, I moved out to another guesthouse on the second night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeonju, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Ok location with some good local places to go to just across the road. 10 minute walk to downtown. Great restaurant called Hang Leaf' next door.
Area was very noisy as late each night many dogs would howl for a few minutes then stop(this was every few hours!!) The room was full of mosquitos(14 or so) when we booked in - no spray available so we killed them all by hand.
Walking to town and even around town was possible but not reccommended for families with kids - a few dogs took 'special interest' in our 7 year old when we walked,(espec. at night!). It was distracting as I wasnt enjoying the ambience - I was on dog watch. I ended up carrying a rolled up newspaper after dark!

Honestly not in-house issues but location issues which effected our experience the most.

Room Tip: avoid corner rooms as 2 thin windows block little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakata
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ny Ny was one of the cleanest places we stayed in the whole of SE Asia, and for only 6 bucks for a fan room was an absolute steal. The rooms are spotless, big, have TV and a great shower room. The staff are also very helpful. Very difficult to fault for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes walk from Old Market (city center). Rooms are very basic but are clean. For just 15$ a night, this place is great value for money. If you're travelling on a budget and want a private bedroom, this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had i done this over again, i would have stayed alongside the tranquil river (i.e. Ollie's place, etc.), but instead i got dropped off by the bus from Kep and landed here. So i booked a room for $7 and expected the worst. Instead, the room was nice, with cable tv (HBO), a strong wi-fi connection, and good location if you like the center of town, albeit a quiet street. There are plenty of good food choices nearbye.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NYNY Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYNY Guesthouse

Address: 1 Oussphea Village | Kampong Kondal Commune, Kampot, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your NYNY Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYNY Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.