We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quaint little eaterie ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Malay

Cafe Malay
Old Market, Kampot, Cambodia
979938641
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 68 Restaurants in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cambodian
Description: Cafe, Pizza, western food, Khmer food
Restaurant details
Description: Cafe, Pizza, western food, Khmer food
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint little eaterie ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had to leave a review for this place as it was a really awesome little restaurant, we stopped here for breakfast, and paid $3.75 for a full English. I'm a veggie and the lady was really accommodating and changed my brekkie for me, no hassle. The food was really good, and staff are extremely friendly, also a great place to people watch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Small place, but very good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had dinner here recently and was very pleased with the food. the service was good and friendly too. Locals and apatsmade for a pleasant evening

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic western food for when you're missing your oven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The lasagna was great. My friend had the Chicken Cordon Bleu several times during our stay. Mashed potatoes- yum. It's been a while and we still talk about it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Standards are slipping?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is used to be a bit of a gem, looking like a standard hole-in-the-wall traveller café. Their food was surprsingly good and they even managed to bake a proper authentic German cheesecake, all at very fair prices. And not to forget, at 1.50$ they had the best value cappuccino in town. These were my impressions on my first few visits in 2012. Going back there now was a bit of a disappointment, the prices are still the same but the food seemed a bit more bland and the cappuccino was sloppily prepared and almost undrinkable. I'm still rating the place but they should get their act together again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ciotat, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent food - top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We learned of Cafe Malay from our hotel manager at The Columns. We had a very enjoyable lunch at this small restaurant tucked away up a side street near the River. Without the recommendation we may have missed it as its quite small! The kitchen and bathroom were very clean. We had been in Kampot two days and hasn't tried the local green pepper in a dish and used this as the occasion. The squid in green pepper sauce was really delicious! My wife had the Tom Yum soup (shrimp version) and was equally pleased with it. Service was with a smile, English was well understood and we rate this as the best meal we had in Kampot!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Malay also viewed

Kampot, Kampot Province
Kampot, Kampot Province
 
Kampot, Kampot Province
Kampot, Kampot Province
 

Been to Cafe Malay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Malay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.