We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmmmmmm bit of a mix!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Columns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Columns to your Saves list
The Columns
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   37 Phoum 1 Ouksophear, Kampot, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 Kampot B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“mmmmmmm bit of a mix!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Not as close to river or other action (well not a lot in Kampot - but what there is) as stated in advertising but not that far to walk really. Sort of budget but supposed to be one more step up. On the positive - the room was very clean, neat, and compact. Fantastic shower area and very very clean. Staff are helpful when you can actually find them. Negatives: For some reason the staff insist on leaving the fans off in the lobby so when you arrive back in from looking around etc the place is stifling. Balcony views are not what they advertise either - fence with a few trees. However if you crane your neck to the right - one can see glimpses of the river. Interesting little experience for me. Second night in the toilet blocked and I mean BLOCKED and just staring to overflow. Took a while to get anyone to understand and when they finally followed me up the many stairs (no room phones) and after a lot of shaking of heads it was decided to move me to the next room along. Okay no problems - staff helped me move my belongings. I noticed the balcony door was ajar - I did not think anything of it as I though oh okay airing the place out maybe. Wrong. After the staff left, and I pottered around a bit, did some emailing and uploading to Facebook that sort of thing, I thought I would go and have a little drink on the balcony. Well the door wasn’t actually left open on purpose - it was off one of its hinges - now Faulty Towers came to mind (those of you who are John Cleese fans will know exactly what I mean). By this time, I was in sleep mode and dress so just jammed the door closed and shoved a table up against it. Went downstairs in the morning - no one around again so had to call out. Took a little while to explain again and up the stairs we trooped again. However, it was fixed while I was out on my excursions during the day and I slept fitfully that night without a table jammed up against the door. Thank goodness my stay was only for three nights. I would have moved otherwise. However, I took it all with good humor, as one should in these circumstances and have a good travel story to tell!

Room Tip: Unless on a budget and only staying a couple of nights - dont use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    39
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
70
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Junction 10 M6
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This place scores highly in all areas, having a pleasant location on the edge of the old colonial quarter close to the river front and all the facilities and attractions of Kampot. It is a solid city hotel, with a good breakfast as well as being an impressive coffee shop. The staff are helpful and friendly, being well organised and motivated by the patron. The rooms are of good size and comfortable. The value for money is good and solid without being spectacular. A safe choice for a place to stay in Kampot itself, as others say it is stylish , cool and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It's hard to add to the excellent reviews of the Columns - suffice to say the place lives up to the excellent reviews. The building is wonderfully restored and the rooms stylish, cool and comfortable. But what really makes this place great is the wonderful warmth, helpfulness and service of the entire staff. Thavy, especially, could not do more to assist us with tours, taxi hires and bus tickets. She also called Hotels in Phnom Penh for us to find us a room on short notice. Even after we had checked out and stopped in from Kep on route to the capital, the hotel staff was welcoming as ever while we sorted out a transport hiccup on site. I cannot recommend the place highly enough. As for the town, Kampot has loads of potential and hopefully it sees improved infrastructure and revitalization in the next few years. Shopping note: the shop around the corner selling handicrafts made by disabled Cambodian artisans is well worth a visit - the quality is high, the prices extremely reasonable, and shopping there helps people in need. I saw many items there that are sold in Phnom Penh shops at higher prices. All in all, if you come to Cambodia, do not miss the chance to enjoy Kampot hospitality at The Columns.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

When you walk into a hotel and you just know it's the one...That's this place. We were greeted by the warmest smiles I've seen in Cambodia, and that's saying something. A boutique hotel with lovely rooms, great breakfast. The whole place is clean, bright, modern and best of all, staff are friendly, warm and helpful. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome at this stylishly renovated hotel. The rooms have been cleverly designed with all modern facilities, our room had a gorgeous little balcony where you could sit in the evening. The lobby and front veranda are also very pleasant places to enjoy the excellent coffee - being from Melbourne this was a major drawcard. The hotel is a short walk to the riverfront where there are quite a few restaurants with good outlooks to the river. The staff were really helpful and efficient in arranging bus tickets or tours etc. Breakfast was really good - scambled eggs and lovely thin bacon, great baguettes or fresh fruit with yoghurt.

Room Tip: I don't think this matters as the hotel is a street or so back from the main drag and it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully restored row of 4 colonial houses. Chris, who owns the place with his wife, is friendly, helpful and knows Kampot, Kep and the whole area inside out. I have been to Kampot and Kep many times over the years. And this is by far the best place to stay in Kampot. (I have stayed in or visited all the options) Great breakfast. Kampot is a nice, tiny, quiet town--and has the most intact (rows uninterrupted by strange high rises or McMansions) collection of colonial buildings in Cambodia--even if there are only about four streets of them and most are not in great shape. Lets hope more of them get restored to this high standard.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is the best hotel I have stayed in Cambodia.
The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The staff are courteous and really helpful. It is no problem for them to arrange all the little extras.
Very impressed with the refurbishment of the 4 old French colonial houses. They do not serve dinner, but breakfast is included in the room rate.
The location is a very short walk to the river (less than 2 minutes) where there is a good range of restaurants.
I will definitely stay there when I am next in Kampot. Next time I will book a room with a balcony to enjoy the sights and sounds.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Columns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columns

Address: 37 Phoum 1 Ouksophear, Kampot, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Columns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Columns is located on a quiet tree-lined street in the heart of old town Kampot. Our historic French Colonial houses have been restored to their original charm but with the addition of modern functionality and comforts. The relaxing atmosphere and central location make for an ideal place to stay while exploring the town and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Columns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Columns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.