We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice for short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kampot Diamond Hotel

Kampot Diamond Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kampot Diamond Hotel to your Saves list
Kampot Diamond Hotel
Kampongbay Village, Kampot, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kampot
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“It was nice for short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel was not very bad because they tried the best they can do. I was give them average and it is real for whole things here. if we stayed here we do not where we can go at night because anywhere was so dark, just take a tut tut to go far from the hotel. The night club nearby was horrible which i ever been in my life, so do not take any nightclub in this area. The breakfast is not impressive me much as my expect, it may i am not the person prefer to use buffet. Anyway, it is the best hotel in this area, Kampot, so i would recommend other traveler come to stay here if you have to pass this area.

Room Tip: Nice view if you take room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed here one night as the hotel we wanted to stay in had no vacancy. Kampot is a sleepy little town in southern Cambodia. It is between Kep and Sihanoukville and is a little bit more "Cambodian" than the other two. The Kampot Diamond Hotel is a nice hotel, relatively new. As are many hotels in Asia, this one is made up of some part that is really tackily decorated. In this case, the tackiness is reserved for the bathroom. The tiles have some writing on them and in this case, they say, "Merry Christmas" and "Hope New Year." While this is not the nicest thing to look at while in the bathroom, it is what it is. Other than that, the hotel is pretty good. The A/C works, the hot water is hot, and the front desk help is as helpful as they can be. Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired, but it is a good deal. I think everyone is given complimentary breakfast so there isn't much complaining to make about this.
Beds are a little hard (but what bed in an Asian owned hotel in all of Asia isn't?) Overall, not too bad of an experience. My wife did find a flea in the room. Price is really good for what you get at around $25-$35 a night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This hotel is not on the river unlike most of the other available (guesthouse) accommodation. But it is near enough to access the many good restaurants and bars which are situated there. The rooms and facilities are excellent for the price, but forget totally about trying to use the restaurant. None of the staff speak any English and, even if you succeed in making an order using sign language, you will find the portions (especially the complimentary breakfast) not big enough even for a sparrow. For business travellers, the hotel is about as good as it gets in sleepy Kampot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Recently stayed in the Kampot Diamond hotel and was not impressed at all.Absolutely no problem with the room which was nice but the staff looked half asleep,very poor english which is unusual for Cambodia and the breakfast was really poor.First morning ordered an American breakfast which was 1 egg and a slice of toast..ordered a second small coffee and was told i would have to pay for it...they had a buffet which both mornings virtually had no food left..must have to get up very early to participate..not grt after shelling out $30 for the accomadation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed at the Kampot diamond for two nights (it was supposed to be four but realised there isnt much to do in Kampot)
The hotel is very modern and clean. The staff are friendly and reception staff speak good english. The room was spacious with a large balcony.
The breakfast was not so good, the american breakfast came with bacon and sausage which was freezing and the eggs were undercooked. The staff in the restraunt couldnt speak much english so unfortunatly were unable to understand when we told them. The coffee was like tar and pretty much undrinkable.
The location wasnt ideal. although its not far from the riverfront area where the other guest houses and restraunts are the walk is dark at night and has lots of dogs in packs lingering, and although a tuk-tuk would only cost you $1 there are not that many in Kampot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No Fixed Abode
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in the Kampot Diamond Hotel, especially as this was a recently built modern hotel. We had a room on the 6th floor, overlooking Kampot and the mountains. The room itself was great value for money, very clean, comfortable double bed and a great shower! Only a ten minute stroll fom the "town centre" with all the old colonial builing nd a few good bars and retaurants. The staff were very helpful, only hindered by their lack of English! Great value overall.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kampot Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampot Diamond Hotel

Address: Kampongbay Village, Kampot, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kampot Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kampot Diamond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.