We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable & the best pizza in Cambodia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mea Culpa Kampot

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mea Culpa Kampot
Save
You added Mea Culpa Kampot to your Saves list
44 Sovansokar | (behind Governor’s Mansion), Kampot, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 49 Kampot B&B and Inns
Phnom Pen, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable & the best pizza in Cambodia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We've been to Kampot several times, but this was our first staying in town and at Mea Culpa. Considering the low price, I wasn't expecting very much, but it exceeded all my expectations. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. We had a double and single bed in our room, and the double bed came with 4 pillows and the single bed with 2 - gotta love all the extra pillows! The bathroom was also very clean, the water hot, and the towels large and fluffy, a rarity in Cambodia. It was a great place to stay with kids because there is a nice garden area and the restaurant has fresh, wood fired pizzas, so a quiet night of staying in for dinner is a real treat. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    41
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
95
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were recommended here and glad we were. We booked for three days and then added an extra night. Our first room was large and had two large beds and everything you could want. It was all spotless and they did a great job each day with the cleaning and supplying fresh towels. The aircon was good and the shower hot. The second room which we had for the one night, as the first room was booked for a long term booking, was excellent, with a king size bed and in the new section with its own balcony and a view through to the river. In a common area outside both rooms there was tea and coffee supplied throughout out the stay. The staff were always smiling and offering to help and the owner,Ben, was very helpful. He arranged a motorbike and when it had a small problem, he just had it replaced for us. He arranged transport for us from Kampot to Phnom Penh, by private car. We had been traveling for a while before we got here and took the opportunity to have the washing done. It was returned beautifully ironed and very clean for $2 a kilo. The guesthouse is a two minute walk from the river and about six minutes to the start of the shops and a restaurants on the front. So convenient enough to get to and far enough away to be very quiet around the street. A great place to stay. Now the negatives............None

Room Tip: Upstairs is best as there is balcony in the common areas that you can sit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights recently and would definitely recommend it as a base for exploring Kampot or just relaxing on a weekend away.

Lovely shady trees and a variety of flowers are planted in the grounds of the property that's located just a short walk to the riverfront.

The rooms are tastefully decorated with comfy big beds, clean soft sheets and good pillows - a rare treat in this price range! Bathroom has hot water with good pressure and both a/c and fan options in my room were useful
to cool off after a walk by the river.

I didn't use the restaurant, but staff were attentive and had good English which made communication easy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in Kampot. The guesthouse is very clean, well-run, my room on the second floor was spacious but the only slight negative was the size of the bathroom and no shower curtain. The cleaner made the bed, made sure bottles of water were replaced and generally did a good job.

This is for a mid-range traveler; you won't see any miserable penny-pinching backpackers here as it's $20 a night without breakfast. At that price it would have been nice to be offered at least a simple breakfast but it's not included.

The pizzas make the place but the breakfasts are very good, especially the bread. The downstairs area is a good place to relax and some good chill-out music is played to add to the already relaxing atmosphere.

I would probably stay in a riverside guesthouse next time, but that's got nothing to do with any problems with Mea Culpa.

Decent coffee is offered for free, and there's WIFI right through the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Mea Culpa is a nice place to stay in Kampot. Its about a 10 min walk from the "town centre". The rooms were spacious and clean; air con, fan, tv/dvd player. Staff were very friendly. Overall Mea Culpa is a nice place to stay however food and accommodation are slightly on the pricey side ($20 per night - accommodation).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were welcomed by the staff and manager as soon as we arrived. They have been superb throughout our stay. The place is so relaxing with a tiny outside bar with low chilled music, good food and lovely clean rooms. It is very near to everything you want in Kampot. Do not go here if you like the Manic, noisy, Thailand scene.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindera, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

we loved this place. the homemade baguettes in the morning cooked in the woodfired pizza oven were to die for. the outside eating area, the lovely garden and the fact that you could fill up your water bottle from the big sealed 20 litre bottle rather than creating more plastic waste was very appealing. it is 3 minutes walk from the river and the fantastic opportunity to get up early and see all the men come in on their fishing boats with the women waiting on shore to sell their prawns, crabs and squids. it was a great local experience

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mea Culpa Kampot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mea Culpa Kampot

Address: 44 Sovansokar | (behind Governor’s Mansion), Kampot, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Accommodation in Kampot, set in a quite area of the French Quarter in Kampot. Six new rooms, nicely decorated with AC, Hot Water, DVD, TV, Complementary Tea and Coffee. Large Garden Setting with Patio Pizzeria and Bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mea Culpa Kampot Hotel Kampot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mea Culpa Kampot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.