We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No attention for details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh to your Saves list
Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh
Gegharkuniq Region, Village Tsapatagh, 378838, Armenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Sevan
Certificate of Excellence
Ancona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No attention for details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice hotel, wonderful location, so quiet and tranquil you will be amazed, beautiful view of the Sevan lake and amazing light. Quite nice staff, some speak English. No attention for the details, the garden looks more like the steppe and the little road that lead to the hotel is so bumpy and dusty you might think you got to the wrong place. The swimming pool is nice but the water in the Jacuzzi too cold. The restaurant is few hundred meters from the hotel, beautiful location as well and stunning view of the lake. Food wise less than average, in most restaurant along the road you get better food, indeed the buffet won’t help to keep up the standard. All in all a nice experience, the place is worth the trip. A petty a small effort would turn this place into a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    5
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
17
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a hotel for people who like nice historical and genuine surroundings. The service at the Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh was excellent. The room was very clean with all necessary devices. The view from the room was fantastic with astonishing sunset. Delicious and large 3 times buffé. I had the best relaxing long weekend ever. An incredible atmosphere because it´s a hotel with surprising surrounding of mountains, trees and lake Sevan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TufenkianHotels, Public Relations Manager at Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Ani A,

Thank you very much for staying with Tufenkian Heritage Hotels and for all your comments. Hopefully we will have a chance to accommodate you in our hotels again.

Thanks again for choosing Tufenkian Heritage Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It is a long journey to get to the hotel but if you like peace and quiet and enjoy walking and looking at wild flowers and some birdwatching then I recommend this especially in the spring. It is on the shores of lake Sevan and looks over to the mountains in the distance. The hotel, much to our surprise, serves the most delicious food and wine. The accommodation is simple but stylish and the main reception area is lovely with old rugs and carpets and copper pots. There is an outside swimming pool. Most people just stay for one night but we stayed for 4 and it was lovely to meet the local people in the village who are very poor but very kind and welcoming (even though we don't speak Armenian) This is something very different and rather special.

Room Tip: The reception area is also the bar and games room so if there is a group staying then ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We hosted our wedding at the Tufenkian Hotel in Tsapatagh village and I have nothing but amazing things to say about the accomadations and staff. From the planning of our wedding, the design of menus, the staff was extremely supportive and courteous. This is a great surprise as one of the downfalls of the Armenian service industry is quality of customer service, but the Tufenkian staff is spot on. The rooms were amazing, well maintained and meticulously clean. The view of Savan is breathtaking and the night time sky with stars shining over Sevan is more than breathtaking. Thank you again for making our special day one to remember!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Sevan. You will not forget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

For those seeking a quiet getaway location in the middle of Armenian nature, Avan Tsapatagh is one of the hidden treasures that I would recommend for couples and families alike. The rooms are nicely decorated and furnished with lovely views of the vast surrounding fields and praries. Lots of blue skies, rosehip bushes, grazing cattle, amazing skies at night and quiet, typical of rural life -- something that will be cherished by those living in busy cities. Food is great, and the staff will be there to help always with a smile! Highly recommended for families with young kids.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in Tufenkyan Hotel located in Sevan. Honestly told, this trip was a surprise for my husband and I was afraid that something will not be in right way, but we loved it and we will back. Everybody was too kind and polite, the food was excellent, the sauna a was the best and hours, passed under the stars in the warm basin, are accompanying us till today.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We specifically chose to go to this hotel to get away from Yerevan bustle and from the rest of Sevan hotels which are everything but restful. Tufenkian Tsapatagh hotel is located in a remote and quiet location which is wonderful if you are looking for peace and silence...if only the other guests were peaceful as well. Most guests of this hotel are families with kids and unfortunately, the swimming pool area is not organized in such a way that kids and adults are separated and we were disturbed by the kids jumping in the pool, playing ball in the pool with us getting water all over us while trying to relax. Despite us trying to explain to the kids to play more wisely several times, we didn't get any reaction from the kids or even from the parents. We in contrary got bad looks from the families and even from the staff for trying to get some order and we had no choice but to leave the hotel after one day only. Such a shame, as the hotel was perfect for a getaway.
The rooms are really nice and comfortable and the restaurant (which is situated 2 minutes walk away in the village, which is good for digestive walk) is really good quality with a very nice staff.
This hotel being the only one of western standard in Armenia, it is really a shame that there is no better client policy to make sure that all clients feel welcome and at ease in the hotel. We probably will not come back a second time...

Room Tip: Ask for a duplex room they are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh

Address: Gegharkuniq Region, Village Tsapatagh, 378838, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Gegharkunik Province > Lake Sevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Sevan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tsapatagh Village's warm climate makes it a perfect recreational site, where visitors can relax on the shores of the world's largest high-elevation lakes. Avan Marak Tsapatagh Hotel offers a range of on-site recreational facilities, including billiard, an outdoor swimming pool and a hot tub, sauna and table tennis. The Hotels Restaurant specializes in dishes featuring locally-caught fish indigenous to the lake. The outdoor dining patio overlooks the sparkling panorama of lake Sevan and the surrounding countryside. Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh Hotel now offers also a range of activities, including yoga sessions, cooking classes, campsite for kids, cycling and mountain biking tours, guided hiking tours, off-road tours, biking and beach camping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh Hotel Lake Sevan
Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh Lake Sevan, Gegharkunik, Armenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.