We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rather Soviet experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harsnaqar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Sevan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harsnaqar Hotel
Save Saved
You added Harsnaqar Hotel to your Saves list
| Tsamaqaberd, 38610, Armenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lake Sevan
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A rather Soviet experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

From the outside, the hotel looks rather grim and uninviting. Inside, it's not much better. The bedroom was comfortable to a point, but there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke (also right through the hotel). The carpet was almost clean. The bed was like sleeping on a wooden board. There was no air conditioning, and it was stiflingly hot. The bar had no atmosphere whatsoever and resembled an airport departure lounge. (An empty one). It closed at 9pm. So there was nothing to do for the rest of the evening. On the plus side, the views were good from certain rooms (not mine!) ant the breakfast was passable if unimaginative. May have been excellent in Soviet times, but we have moved on from then. The hotel hasn't.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
italy/belgium
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at the Harsnaqar Hotel on the Sevan Lake for one night as part of a tour of Armenia. I was really disappointed: the hotel was shabby, rooms were dusty and poorly illuminated, the bathroom did not appear clean. Staff was not interested in being helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was really ugly: no jam or honey, no cereals, no cold milk, no yogurt. We were only offered some bad quality coffee, bread and some eggs and sausages.
Common areas were also dusty and in real need of refurbishment.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here one night on a tour of Armenia and Georgia. There are good views of Lake Servan. The Sevanavank church complex atop a nearby hill is well worth visiting.
The rooms are large with somewhat fancy furniture for western tastes.
We were taken to another restaurant for dinner- so can't comment on what their meals are like.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The rooms were really comfortable and had great views, but all smelled of cigarette smoke. We asked if they had non-smoking rooms, but were told "no". We stayed two nights and our room was not cleaned. Of course, we could have asked, but by the time we were back we wanted to relax in the room and not wait outside while they cleaned it.

Given that the location is quite far from other restaurants, we ate one lunch and two dinners at the restaurant. The food was terrible, selection quite limited and the service was the worst I've ever experienced in Armenia. Unfriendly wait staff played angry birds with loud volume in the corner while we ate food that was not what we ordered, was undercooked and simply not tasty. To waitstaff: show customers a bottle of wine before you open it, don't blame the customer if the food order is wrong and go play angry birds somewhere where I can't hear you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is one of the most extraordinary hotels I have ever stayed in, and it's not an experience I wish to repeat. It looks as if it was built in the Soviet era as what they imagined was a luxury hotel, and is still run in the Soviet way.We were there one night, on a tour of Armenia. It is true to say that our room was vast, but there was hardly anything in it apart from a bed, a settee, and two elaborately gilded but uncomfotable chairs. The bed was on of the hardest I have ever slept on (actually, I didn't sleep very much), and other couples on our tour had the same experience. The only curtains were very thin, and didn't keep out any light. The bathroom was worn and stained, with cheap soap and towels. Staff were not very friendly or helpful. Breakfast was dire - poor bread and meat, nearly raw eggs, and the worst 'coffee' I have ever tasted (a thin coffee powder, apparently pre-mixed with dried milk and sugar). Not surpisingly, apart from our tour group, there appeared to be no other guests!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Well, it is nice and overpriced. But the most important issue is that it belongs to a criminal authority and you do not have safety guarantee !!!! Just a month ago, in the Harsnaqar restaurant in Yerevan belonging to the same person security just killed a person whom they just did not like.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We visited this hotel as part of an inclusive tour so cannot comment on value for money. Some members of the tour had rather negetave things to say about the standards of cleanliness in their rooms but they were in the apartments rather than the main hotel.

Our room was huge and had picture windows overlooking the lake along with a small balcony. The room was well furnished and the bed comfortable. There was a large modern bathroom. Everything was very clean.

The food was rather poor by Armenia's high standards but there was plenty of it and the service was OK.

The hotel has loads of facilities, a huge pool, spa, tennis courts, etc.

If we were to return to this resort I think we would seek out a smaller, familly run hotel with more personal service and better food but if the recreational facilities are important to you this is undoubtedly the best in town.

Room Tip: Try for lake front rooms on a high floor with a balcony. Apartments could be good for groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harsnaqar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harsnaqar Hotel

Address: | Tsamaqaberd, 38610, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Gegharkunik Province > Lake Sevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lake Sevan
Also Known As:
Harsnaqar Hotel Lake Sevan, Gegharkunik, Armenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harsnaqar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.