We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harsnaqar Hotel Complex

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Sevan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harsnaqar Hotel Complex
Save
You added Harsnaqar Hotel Complex to your Saves list
Tsamaqaberd | Tsamaqaberd, 38610, Armenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Sevan
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here one night on a tour of Armenia and Georgia. There are good views of Lake Servan. The Sevanavank church complex atop a nearby hill is well worth visiting.
The rooms are large with somewhat fancy furniture for western tastes.
We were taken to another restaurant for dinner- so can't comment on what their meals are like.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The rooms were really comfortable and had great views, but all smelled of cigarette smoke. We asked if they had non-smoking rooms, but were told "no". We stayed two nights and our room was not cleaned. Of course, we could have asked, but by the time we were back we wanted to relax in the room and not wait outside while they cleaned it.

Given that the location is quite far from other restaurants, we ate one lunch and two dinners at the restaurant. The food was terrible, selection quite limited and the service was the worst I've ever experienced in Armenia. Unfriendly wait staff played angry birds with loud volume in the corner while we ate food that was not what we ordered, was undercooked and simply not tasty. To waitstaff: show customers a bottle of wine before you open it, don't blame the customer if the food order is wrong and go play angry birds somewhere where I can't hear you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is one of the most extraordinary hotels I have ever stayed in, and it's not an experience I wish to repeat. It looks as if it was built in the Soviet era as what they imagined was a luxury hotel, and is still run in the Soviet way.We were there one night, on a tour of Armenia. It is true to say that our room was vast, but there was hardly anything in it apart from a bed, a settee, and two elaborately gilded but uncomfotable chairs. The bed was on of the hardest I have ever slept on (actually, I didn't sleep very much), and other couples on our tour had the same experience. The only curtains were very thin, and didn't keep out any light. The bathroom was worn and stained, with cheap soap and towels. Staff were not very friendly or helpful. Breakfast was dire - poor bread and meat, nearly raw eggs, and the worst 'coffee' I have ever tasted (a thin coffee powder, apparently pre-mixed with dried milk and sugar). Not surpisingly, apart from our tour group, there appeared to be no other guests!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We visited this hotel as part of an inclusive tour so cannot comment on value for money. Some members of the tour had rather negetave things to say about the standards of cleanliness in their rooms but they were in the apartments rather than the main hotel.

Our room was huge and had picture windows overlooking the lake along with a small balcony. The room was well furnished and the bed comfortable. There was a large modern bathroom. Everything was very clean.

The food was rather poor by Armenia's high standards but there was plenty of it and the service was OK.

The hotel has loads of facilities, a huge pool, spa, tennis courts, etc.

If we were to return to this resort I think we would seek out a smaller, familly run hotel with more personal service and better food but if the recreational facilities are important to you this is undoubtedly the best in town.

Room Tip: Try for lake front rooms on a high floor with a balcony. Apartments could be good for groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011 via mobile

We come to restaraunt 12.07.2011,
service was good, food was unaceptable:(
We told about poor quality of food to water, chef give us watermelone free, but impression still not good

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
195 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Have you seen the film The Shining with Jack Nicholson? The one where he’s the caretaker of a huge hotel out of season, and slowly goes mad as he paces the endless corridors whilst being spooked by ghostly children? This was how I felt at Harsnaqar. The hotel is a huge complex with hotel, bungalows and water park on a hill overlooking the beautiful lake. We arrived as a walk-in in mid June and found we were the only guests, which was something of a surreal experience.

We were shown a couple of rooms on the third floor and opted for a corner room with large balcony and views of the lake and the surrounding snow capped monutains. The room was very clean and well furnished. It gave the impression of being recently refurbished. From the comfy bed you could actually wake up and look out across the lake which was nice. The bathroom was modern with a good shower.

The hotel is about a 25 minute walk along the highway to the peninsula where most of the bars are. We therefore ate at the hotel. The food was good but it was a little strange eating in a huge restaurant with only one other table populated out of dozens. In the morning we had a long drive to Goris so wanted to set off early. The breakfast didn’t start till 9am and we asked if we could have it earlier. We were told that 8.30 was the very earliest we could have it so declined. When we left at 8am the whole hotel was deserted and we had to wake the receptionist to check out.

The grounds of the hotel are extensive and I imagine its like an all inclusive resort in the short summer months of July and August. As it was, the hotel was fine but just a little odd being so deserted. “Heeeeere’s Jonny!”

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

It is the off season in Sevan, so I give extra credit rather than what I really thought of everything. On all sides of my room there was construction going on. In the central bar, in the hallways, etc.
The food in the restaurant was good. The beds were very very very hard - I could have lived with one, maybe even two very. The lobby bar had almost nothing available. They had to go to the shop off premises to buy beer to sell to us. And they only went when we asked.
The waterpark looked great-but they told us it had not worked in 2 years. The indoor pool has not worked in 8 months.
Horseback riding was high priced (30 euro per hour) and snooker/billiard tables cost 5 euro per hour. Not a full set of balls to be found.
The meeting room holds about 15 comfortably. It has too much furniture but the hotel removes what you do not need. Simultaneous translation booths worked fine. I did have to laugh that the delegate headsets all said - Property of British Airways. No Internet connection of any kind.
Planning meetings in Armenia? Find somewhere in Yerevan!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harsnaqar Hotel Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harsnaqar Hotel Complex

Address: Tsamaqaberd | Tsamaqaberd, 38610, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Gegharkunik Province > Lake Sevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Sevan
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Harsnaqar" Harsnaqar is the only hospitality complex in the area of Sevan Lake. Thanks to geographic location and high altitude, the complex has a wonderful view of the Lake and the Sevan peninsula. A one of the two aqua-parks in Armenia is in Harsnaqar, with a magnificently large pool intended for 950 people. The complex is one of the few that has its beach with more than 1 hectare territory. Harsnaqar is intended for sports fans too. Here are a mini-football ground, basket-ball, volley-ball and tennis, courts, conforming to professional standards and free for visitors.One of our unique points is the cottage section of the complex where families can enjoy their holidays. There are 14 family cottages, two-storied, furnished with all the modern conveniences and natural gas. The cottage section has a separate pool and beach intended only for those renting cottage. This section has a striking view of the Lake. We have considered also the needs of people on business trips and official meeting. The five presidential cottages and the conference hall are intended for such purposes. It`s worth mentioning that the heads of CSTO states and Dmitri Medvedev, the President of the Russian Federation, stayed at these cottages in 2010. The conference hall is furnished with equipment and an interpretation system of 50 people.There is an internet centre with new computers and free Wi Fi connection available over all the area, making the stay of business people most comfortable. Those who prefer passive rest many enjoy a game of billiard, tennis, cards, chess or nardi. The bar with a variety of drinks is a nice surprise for our guests. Your child won't get bored here either as there are a wonderful attractions. The closed pool is available year all long. You can get rid of your stress at the modern saunas and through professional massage at our complex. Another way of distressing and relaxation is a cruise on the lake on a yacht or water motorcycles. Another unique point of Harsnaqar is the opencafe right on the beach where you will be served a wide range of dishes. And if you still do not find your favourite dish in the cafe menu, you will find an amazing list of meals in the restaurant of Harsnaqar. All year round, there are live music performances in the hall of the restaurant intended for 250 people. The staff is ready to host any event, from wedding parties to official dinners, and for business meetings we have banquet halls, which can host 10-40 people. The large parking areas, the launderette, the shop of souvenirs, the winter park, the satellite TV, 24-hour security, the polite and friendly service of staff and many other aspects will make your stay at Harsnaqar an unforgettable experience. <> With love... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harsnaqar Hotel Complex Lake Sevan, Gegharkunik, Armenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harsnaqar Hotel Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.