We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harsnaqar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Sevan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harsnaqar Hotel
Save Saved
You added Harsnaqar Hotel to your Saves list
| Tsamaqaberd, 38610, Armenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Sevan
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here one night on a tour of Armenia and Georgia. There are good views of Lake Servan. The Sevanavank church complex atop a nearby hill is well worth visiting.
The rooms are large with somewhat fancy furniture for western tastes.
We were taken to another restaurant for dinner- so can't comment on what their meals are like.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The rooms were really comfortable and had great views, but all smelled of cigarette smoke. We asked if they had non-smoking rooms, but were told "no". We stayed two nights and our room was not cleaned. Of course, we could have asked, but by the time we were back we wanted to relax in the room and not wait outside while they cleaned it.

Given that the location is quite far from other restaurants, we ate one lunch and two dinners at the restaurant. The food was terrible, selection quite limited and the service was the worst I've ever experienced in Armenia. Unfriendly wait staff played angry birds with loud volume in the corner while we ate food that was not what we ordered, was undercooked and simply not tasty. To waitstaff: show customers a bottle of wine before you open it, don't blame the customer if the food order is wrong and go play angry birds somewhere where I can't hear you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is one of the most extraordinary hotels I have ever stayed in, and it's not an experience I wish to repeat. It looks as if it was built in the Soviet era as what they imagined was a luxury hotel, and is still run in the Soviet way.We were there one night, on a tour of Armenia. It is true to say that our room was vast, but there was hardly anything in it apart from a bed, a settee, and two elaborately gilded but uncomfotable chairs. The bed was on of the hardest I have ever slept on (actually, I didn't sleep very much), and other couples on our tour had the same experience. The only curtains were very thin, and didn't keep out any light. The bathroom was worn and stained, with cheap soap and towels. Staff were not very friendly or helpful. Breakfast was dire - poor bread and meat, nearly raw eggs, and the worst 'coffee' I have ever tasted (a thin coffee powder, apparently pre-mixed with dried milk and sugar). Not surpisingly, apart from our tour group, there appeared to be no other guests!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Well, it is nice and overpriced. But the most important issue is that it belongs to a criminal authority and you do not have safety guarantee !!!! Just a month ago, in the Harsnaqar restaurant in Yerevan belonging to the same person security just killed a person whom they just did not like.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We visited this hotel as part of an inclusive tour so cannot comment on value for money. Some members of the tour had rather negetave things to say about the standards of cleanliness in their rooms but they were in the apartments rather than the main hotel.

Our room was huge and had picture windows overlooking the lake along with a small balcony. The room was well furnished and the bed comfortable. There was a large modern bathroom. Everything was very clean.

The food was rather poor by Armenia's high standards but there was plenty of it and the service was OK.

The hotel has loads of facilities, a huge pool, spa, tennis courts, etc.

If we were to return to this resort I think we would seek out a smaller, familly run hotel with more personal service and better food but if the recreational facilities are important to you this is undoubtedly the best in town.

Room Tip: Try for lake front rooms on a high floor with a balcony. Apartments could be good for groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011 via mobile

We come to restaraunt 12.07.2011,
service was good, food was unaceptable:(
We told about poor quality of food to water, chef give us watermelone free, but impression still not good

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Have you seen the film The Shining with Jack Nicholson? The one where he’s the caretaker of a huge hotel out of season, and slowly goes mad as he paces the endless corridors whilst being spooked by ghostly children? This was how I felt at Harsnaqar. The hotel is a huge complex with hotel, bungalows and water park on a hill overlooking the beautiful lake. We arrived as a walk-in in mid June and found we were the only guests, which was something of a surreal experience.

We were shown a couple of rooms on the third floor and opted for a corner room with large balcony and views of the lake and the surrounding snow capped monutains. The room was very clean and well furnished. It gave the impression of being recently refurbished. From the comfy bed you could actually wake up and look out across the lake which was nice. The bathroom was modern with a good shower.

The hotel is about a 25 minute walk along the highway to the peninsula where most of the bars are. We therefore ate at the hotel. The food was good but it was a little strange eating in a huge restaurant with only one other table populated out of dozens. In the morning we had a long drive to Goris so wanted to set off early. The breakfast didn’t start till 9am and we asked if we could have it earlier. We were told that 8.30 was the very earliest we could have it so declined. When we left at 8am the whole hotel was deserted and we had to wake the receptionist to check out.

The grounds of the hotel are extensive and I imagine its like an all inclusive resort in the short summer months of July and August. As it was, the hotel was fine but just a little odd being so deserted. “Heeeeere’s Jonny!”

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harsnaqar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harsnaqar Hotel

Address: | Tsamaqaberd, 38610, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Gegharkunik Province > Lake Sevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Sevan
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Harsnaqar Hotel Lake Sevan, Gegharkunik, Armenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harsnaqar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.