We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kikoti Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kikoti Safari Camp
Save
You added Kikoti Safari Camp to your Saves list
PO Box 284 | Arusha, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is one of those places where you get to spend just a night and end up promising so much more that you would immediately start planning your next trip with more nights. Kikoti was a surprise package for us. It capped a great day of game viewing and excellent weather. There were not too many guests when we arrived. A warm welcome and nice briefing awaited us. The tents built at a height from the ground are luxurious. When we left thetent for dinner in the evening there were about 5-6 guards waiting to escort us to the very tastefully decorated dining lounge. Good food, great service. The place has generator backed electricity round the clock. Charging o batteries however can be done only in the room next to the reception. Hot water for bath was available as early as 5 am. as was early breakfast. Overall, a place I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    27
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Lovely camp with relaxing atmosphere. Spacious room, huge bed, nice bathroom with all the soaps, shower caps, … and flush toilet. The room smelled very nice because of the firewood. Mosquito nets were a bit torn but mended.
Food was self service and tasty. They serve tea and cocoa on your porch when they wake you up.
Staff is friendly, always smiling and chatting with you.
Even though they operate on generator, electricity was always available and there was also a flashlight for backup.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Let me preface this by saying I am not really the outdoors-type. When my husband recommended Tanzania for our honeymoon, I was skeptical. Now, of course, I'm raving about it on Trip Advisor! This was an unbelievable adventure that started off just right at Kikoti. These are not tents, they're log cabins up on stilts -- which was helpful for me at the beginning of our trip because I felt safe. The cabins have running water, which was also a plus given that you're in the middle of nowhere. The camp itself is about 15-20 minutes outside of Tarangire National Park. This didn't bother us at all as the drive was quite lovely (through fields and brush) and we encountered animals all along the way. We had a fantastic guide (Nomad Guides) and had our own private vehicle (which when you're there is actually really important so you're not stuck with a bunch of random other tourists who really just want to see safari ants). Tarangire is a great park -- we saw massive herds of elephants, cape buffalo, several lions, leopards, zebra, giraffe, and many more. And the landscape is varied, which made every day feel like a new adventure.

The food was very good, especially for being on safari. The desserts were wonderful! We enjoyed a glass of wine by the fire each night after our drive and sipped tea delivered to our cabin each morning at sunrise. For a city girl, this was the perfect introduction to a weeklong safari throughout Tanzania!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

After a day long safari through the Tarangire National Park we checked our wearied bones into Kikoti tented camp and were instantly awarded with all the creature comforts one can yearn for in such a wonderfully desolate location.

To start, a welcome drink with a smile. Then a short trip tp your tented acommodation - sparse, rustic, simply furnished, clean and very, very quiet surroundings - just sights and sounds of the jungle around you - you need armed escorts to get to the main areas of the resort and back to your room.

The food was always buffet included in the charges. A wonderful spread for dinner and breakfast while lunch is always a packed meal for the safari. The food was always steaming hot and tasty and more variety than you'd care to bother. An equally well-stocked bar nearby kept us in good spirits.

The best feature about this hotel is its quietness, a clear sky above with millions of stars and occasional jungle sounds to keep you on your guard. Other than the safari and nearby walks there isnt much else to do. But then that's why you're in Tanzania!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

To stay at the Kikoti lodge for 2 nights was a wonderful experience. The staff where very nice and brought us tea and coffee in the morning so we could drink it at our balcony while the sun is setting high in the sky.

The staff walks you to your lodge in the evening to make sure you get in your tent save without encountering animals. The chance to encounter them is very small by the way, one guard told us that he has only encountered one big animal in about 10 years so dont let this scare you.

Further the food was more then great and a nice breakfast. The Kikoti Lodge is one of the better lodges wich we have slept in.

Also the free Wifi in the lobby was a big plus for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We spent 2 nights at Kikoti as part of a tour of the Tanzania. At Kikoti, we experienced by far the best service. The tents were interesting and comfortable. I loved sitting on the porch during the afternoon and reading a book. I would higly recommend

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Kikoti was our first night in the bush and it was certainly an experience to remember. We got woken up in the wee hours of the morning by elephants having a snack and drink. How great was that! Rooms were spacious and well appointed and the service was great. Having running water and flush toilet was a real plus. While our walking safari guide was great, I would not really call it that as it was only a short walk to the Kikoti rock to see the sunset and night game drive was slightly disappointing as the most exciting animal we saw was a hyena. We had a great time and would recommend Kikoti.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kikoti Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikoti Safari Camp

Address: PO Box 284 | Arusha, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kikoti Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kikoti Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.