We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could quite happily live here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarangire Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Save
You added Tarangire Safari Lodge to your Saves list
P.O. Box 2703, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
norwich
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Could quite happily live here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Amazing views, great food, can sit outside and watch nature pass you by like the herd of tembo that where blowing their trumpets. At night we could hear the lions snuffing and roaring. The tented accommodation is well above average and everything you could wish for. We will most definitely be re-visiting here to spend longer in this location next time we visit the area. It is simply stunning and ticks every box for relaxing or a good base to view the park. They even baked me a lovely cake for my 40th and managed to get everyone in the restaurant to sing Happy Birthday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Jambo the_globtrotters!
We love your happy review and all the stars to go with it! = )
Happy you enjoyed the view, your accommodation and the subject of your review. = )


"Karibu tena. Karibu sana."
"Asante sana"!!

A.Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    139
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
124
226
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Of the places we stayed on our safari, this was the most unique. From the open air layout of the main areas to listening to the lions roaring in the middle of the night, this was an excellent experience that I'll always remember. If you're looking for real camping, this isn't it. If you're looking for a lodge with 5-star rooms, this isn't it. It's exactly what it's advertised to be and it's spectacular. The only thing as a watch-out is the monkeys (happens everywhere, not just here0 - they pick out unsuspecting tourists to try to intimidate into giving them food. Wildlife is in and around the tents, so just use common sense. If you don't have any, then maybe you should have one of the guards take you around. I would go back and stay here much longer than the one night we were here. Side note: they do have free wifi in the main area, which I don't consider to be a benefit. Everyone on phones/iPads takes away from the feel of the lodge. That said, I did very much appreciate that my wife and I were able to check in for our flights the next day so I guess I'm just as guilty as the next guy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Jambo Ryan L,
Thank you so much for sharing your description of our set up here. = )
Indeed it is not "camping" nor is it 5 star. (We prefer for our guests to feel comfortable and at ease.)
Pity that some prefer to be "connected" rather than game viewing but we offer it so what can we say? And so many guests really expect free Wifi these days.
We do have signs re. No Food Beyond this Point - this is because the monkeys can be a nuisance when they see/smell food/snacks.
Happy to read that you would have liked to stay longer. A warm welcome back again.

A.Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our family stayed at TSL for two nights and we were very impressed with the lodge. There are two kinds of buildings: tents and bungalows. We recommend the bungalows if you have a daughter like ours who was worried about the lions coming into the lodge. The food was excellent and my husband appreciated that there were several vegetarian entrees each evening. We stayed at several lovely properties on our safari and what we appreciated most about TSL was the personal attention from the management. Unlike other properties where the staff seemed almost robotic in their careful service, the TSL staff seemed to us more friendly and comfortable. I think a lot of credit belongs to the manager Annette who seemed very observant, demanding of staff and relaxed at the same time. We did rent the sunset chalet for one evening and while the privacy was nice, there was a limited view of the sunset. Tip: check first if they have trimmed the bushes before you book the hut. In conclusion, the lodge is a very comfortable place and we actually spent the afternoon lazing away in the swimming pool and playing chess instead of "on safari." We highly recommend you include TSL in your safari and stay there at least two days. We hope our travels will take us back to TSL again.

Room Tip: Avoid bungalow 5 since it is next to a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Jambo 3_ready_travellers,

Thank you for the wonderful review! = )
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay & our staff here.
Sorry for the "parking lot' feel since normally there is only 1 vehicle there "for emergencies" Thankful you pointed that out. (Most do like that triple bungalow for all the animal activity at the water hole.)

A warm welcome back again!

A.Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The first thing you will notice when you walk into the main area of the lodge is the view. It is breathtaking.

The lodge is located within the park and consists of a main stone building where you can sit, relax and enjoy the views as well as charge your various electronics. It is also where breakfast, lunch and dinner is served. Around the main building are tents.

This was my very first experience sleeping in a tent so I was a little nervous, especially after hearing that animals could be roaming outside your tent at night. My first night I could hear lions but being so tired after spending a whole day in a car, I slept with no problems. When we woke up the next morning to go to breakfast, I was surprised to find elephants behind my tents and along the path towards the main building. They were not threatening whatsoever as long as you minded your own business.

The food was good (buffet style) and offers quite a selection. On the days we were there, they had a lamb dish every night (I hate lamb but there were other options thank goodness). Soup is always a starter at lunch and dinner and every day we were there, the soup was wonderful.

The staff was great and after dinner, they will escort you back to your tent to ensure your safety.

The room as well as the bathroom was roomy considering it's tent living. The bathroom was roomy enough for us to hang up a clotheslines so that we can dry our clothes since you will get dusty and grimy from the game drives.

The only negative I had about this lodge is that the shower pressure in our tent was low.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Jambo beccal72,

Thank you so much for the reveiw!
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay & our staff. = )
Sorry you missed good water pressure when most are commenting on how good it is.
We do prefer guests informing us immediately so we can fix any issues.

Thank you for coming and a warm welcome back again.

Asante sana!

A.Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently stayed here (july 2013) while on our Safari in Africa. Wonderful lodging. My wife calls it "Glam-camping" Large tents on concrete floors and fixed roofing. Nice beds w/ bathroom in rear of tent, nice showers and hot water (solar). There not a lot to do at the lodge, but what a great place to spend the night while traveling on safari. The accomodations were great, the food was great (US/Euro), and the people were wonderful. They know their country is about tourism, and they treat you wonderful because they want you back. It was wonderful to arive late afternoon, get a hot shower, and head for the patio for Gin and Tonic.

Room Tip: All rooms look down from the hill to the river valley. I would suggest one close to lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Jambo Phil H,

Thank you for your review! Happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
And happy to read you also enjoyed our staff & your dining experience.
For some activity here at the lodge we do have a refreshing pool,
guided night drives, morning & evening bush walks along the river, relaxing massages with a view! & private sundowners at Patulivu.

I hope your TZ experience was unforgettable.

Asante sana & Karibu tena!

A.Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Tarangire Safari Lodge is located within the Park. It's beautiful main building built of stone has a large patio high above the savannah and the Tarangire River. Sitting on the patio, enjoying a sundowner and watching shadows lengthen on the baobab trees and large groups of elephant moving across the plain is mesmerizing and provides the memory of a lifetime. Food is very good with some served meals and some buffets. The dining room shares the view with the patio. Rooms are luxury tents with also a few bungalows. If you want a double bed, be sure to request it in your reservation. Sleep can be interrupted by the occasional elephant trumpet, which is not a complaint. Sunrise is spectacular and is clearly visible from the tents. Wild game such as impala frequent the lodge grounds, and also the occasional elephant in any of their favorite fruit trees are ripe. Staff is professional and competent. The swimming pool is good, but too deep for young children unless they are good swimmers. It's a very good facility and Tarangire is a top park with abundant elephant, lion, cheetah, and a wide assortment of grazing animals. It is one of the top spots in Tanzania, although a step behind Ngorongoro or Sarengheti

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear John O,

Thank you for your positive feedback! Happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
The lodge is still busy with animal acitivity, lots of Elephants coming around, Impala, Waterbuck, and of course an abundance of birdlife! :) The rains will be here soon so we will miss the hustle and bustle of it all, but the animals are looking forward to some green grass!
Regarding the pool being too deep; we do have a kiddy splash pool next to the main pool, and only 25cm deep :)
Once again, thank you for your 5 star review. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your Tanzanian Safari.

Karibu tena/Welcome again!

S. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here on our recent safari with Basecamp Tanzania. The property is beautiful. It is perched up high above the area below, so you can sit on the patio and watch elephants, zebras, impalas, giraffes, and other animals walk by below. One time on our way to our room, I saw some zebras grazing between tents, another time a herd of impala grazing on the hillside just next to the room.

The rooms here are very nice and there was always hot water (solar heated at each tent). At night you can here the animals roaming around which was neat. You can stargaze at night, as there is very little light pollution.

The food was also excellent. This place had the second best food of our trip and the dining room is beautiful. Outside the dining room there were usually resident monkeys making mischief that were always fun to watch.

All in all, you could not ask for a better view and the rooms were great too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Jambo CMD915
Thank you for your wonderful review!
Wonderful that you enjoyed all the wildlife in & around the lodge. = )
Happy to read you "would definitely return again".

A big "asante sana"!

And "karibu tena"


A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 2703, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor patio, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats, which make a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! "Karibuni" or Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarangire Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.