We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tsetse flies and heat - but fly-camp wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tsetse flies and heat - but fly-camp wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Like the other tented camps we stayed at in Kenya and Tanzania, Oliver's is beautifully set out with a welcoming lounge area and dining area. We saw heaps of amazing wildlife on our drives from here including more brods than anywhere else we travelled. However the heat was intense and the tsetse flies plain awful. Our tent was not sited under trees and therefore was uncomfortably hot during the day so there was nowhere to escape the heat (I got heat stroke).

The fly-camping and walking safari experiences were absolutely brilliant. Being in the middle of nowhere with just a tent, a roaring campfire and camp staff and of course the wildlife was exhilarating and I recommend it as an awesome experience. We had a lion roar right behind us while watching the sunset - a real adrenalin rush!!! Our guide Onno had a gun so we probably were never in danger but it was a buzz!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    19
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
137
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

This was our first tented housing experience and it was spectacular. Oliver's is located inside the Tarangire National Park so everyone is on a Safari. We would highly recommend Oliver's to everyone even those who feel they need luxury housing. Spend the extra money to stay at permanent tented camps to really feel you are in Africa. Oliver's offers a walking Safari which we would love to have done. Great food wonderful people.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

I stayed at Oliver's camp for three nights during a two week safari. The camp moved recently to this new location in the deep south of Tarangire NP. It is away from all the crowds in a good location with a nice view and the added benefit that walking safaris are allowed. Since you're pretty much constrained to the safari vehicle the rest of the time, I enjoyed the walk along Tarangire river a lot. The camp is pretty close to Silale Swamp, maybe the most spectacular part of Tarangire, and we had a herd of elephants visiting the camp a couple of times and nightly entertainment was provided by a pair of jackals and the occasional leopard roar.
The camp is small with large tents which feature a king size bed, an additional twin size bed, an en suite bathroom with a flush toilet and a shower with 24h hot water. The common areas are very spacious and look beautiful. Food was delicious and everybody enjoyed the nightly campfire chats and drinks.
Camp staff was excellent and made me feel right at home, just like at the other two Asilia camps I visited on the trip, Dunia and Olakira.
If you're looking for a remote wilderness experience in Tarangire with the comfort of a permanent tented camp, Oliver's is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We liked this camp as it was small and intimate, gathering round the fire for sundowners and eating all together. The tents were very comfortable and the hot water system excellent, which I understand is new. The game drives were very good and we saw most game, including the big cats. Elephants were many, they liked coming near the tent at night which was exciting. The walking safari for two hours was very educational. Very friendly staff. Certainly would recommend this camp.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

When I first dreamed of a luxurious camp in Africa, this is exactly what I pictured. The “tents” have 5-star amenities, which I found incredible given that the location is so deep within Tarangire National Park. (Don't be fooled by the 2-star TripAdvsor rating!) I really enjoyed taking hot showers after game drives, as your view while bathing is the park itself. You are living about as close as you can get to nature, without sacrifcing a sense of luxury. I also enjoyed the intimate atmosphere of this camp -- you get to know the other guests at happy hour and dinner, as it’s very small relative to the other camps and lodges throughout Tanzania. Waking up to hot tea and coffee brought to the ten each morning and going to bed after cocktails around a campfire -- excellent touches!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

This was my favorite place during our trip to East Africa. The camp is very luxurious, but it is not excessive. There is a simplicity to the place that lets you feel like you are really on safari. The camp is pretty small and the tents are well spaced out. And the Southern part of Tarangire park - where the camp is situated - is quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Olivers camp was my first experience of Africa and I was not dissapointed! The lounge and dining area was spacious and comfortable and there were plenty of books to read about animals and the history of the area etc. The tents were well furnished and had everything you needed including a very comfortable bed. A flushable toilet and shower with a view were great, not sure the wildlife appreciated my singing though!

The staff were friendly and very helpful and catered well for me as a coeliac. The food was great and I even had special bread cooked for me which was very much appreciated. Eating a meal together around a large table was good for swapping stories and having a laugh with fellow guests, even when the hyenas decided they wanted to join us! We were walked back to our tents every night and zipped in for the night with a radio on hand if there was a problem. The animals can get right up to the tents, so be prepared for some rather odd sounds in the night (and that wasn't my partners snoring!)

This was a fantastic place to stay and I would thoroughly recommend a stay at Olivers Camp and while you are there, try a walking safari and learn all about the local flora and fauna. I never knew that there was something called the toothbrush tree and the toilet paper plant! I want to go back again, very soon!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the south of the spectacular Tarangire National Park, Oliver's Camp may well be the best-kept secret for travelers seeking a real bush experience, located close to the animal dense Silale Swamps. Environmentally friendly Oliver’s Camp is the place to enjoy personal and friendly atmosphere in a Bush camp that makes you feel at one with nature and offer exclusive activities such as walking and fly camping which give you a true bush experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.