We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated... Amazing, 5-star place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Newly renovated... Amazing, 5-star place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Oliver's Camp was given a major overhaul in April/May 2010, so we were some of the first guests to stay at the "new" Oliver's camp. "Incredible" is an understatement! The tents are wonderfully appointed, with large bathrooms and, in our case, showers both in and outside! No more bush showers - each tent has running water and a flushing toilet. Our favourite area was the new mess. It has a beautifully thatched roof, a large table for communal dining, and is scattered with plush armchairs, interesting artifacts, and books. Just beyond is the firepit where drinks are served at sundown. The food was delicious and the staff were great.
When we visited Oliver's, most of the game was slightly north, so we had to drive a fair bit to see most of the wildlife we saw, and unlike the Masai Mara (Kenya) and parts of the Serengeti, you are not allowed to drive off-road in Tarangire (to get closer to the animals). That said, we saw plenty of amazing creatures including thousands of elephant, three cheetah, and a few leopard (among others).
We loved our stay at Oliver's and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    19
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
137
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Our safari really began at 11:00am when we started our journey from Arusha to Tarangire National Park. We took a back “road” into the park via the Boundary Hill entrance. The Land Cruiser got stuck. We had to empty the vehicle, jack it up and put logs under the rear tires to free ourselves.

We arrived at Oliver’s around 5:00, showered and went off to watch Bush TV for sundowners. The camp seats its guests together at the dinner table. We had a great meal talking with the only other guests, a couple of ladies originally from Uganda, Alex, Oliver’s walking guide, and Richard, the camp manager. The next night there were no other guests and we had the camp to ourselves and we dined with our guide. Great food and wine at the camp! Oliver’s has very nice tents, too.

The game viewing in Tarangire focused on elephants. We saw maybe 600 on one drive. Seeing lions mate was also a highlight and there were a lot of birds. The landscape was dramatic and the baobab trees were really cool.

The only downside was the number of tse tse flies in parts of the park. They are pure evil and tormented us during our game drives. In some places the clusters were so thick, we would crack the window just long enough to snap a couple of pictures and then close it fast.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Simon (Camp Manager) and all the staff were great! The camp has very nice tents with beautiful views out the front looking over the savannah. We even had lounge chairs in front of our tent on the patio to enjoy the view. While the tents don't have running water, the camp guys will bring you hot water in the morning and afternoon on your request. The food was outstanding with lots of fresh fruit, great meat dishes & vegetables. Plenty of beer and wine available & we had happy hour each night before dinner by the campfire (“bush TV”). One of the girls in our party was celebrating her 50th birthday, and the camp went out of their way to help her celebrate. They made a “surprise” cake and delivered it to her with all the camp staff coming out to sing to her - our entire group ended up in an African line dance singing along with what I think was the Tanzanian national anthem!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We went to Olivers as the first stop of out 2 weeks safari last August. We had read all the great reveiws and were excited to experience it for ourselves, but nothing could of prepared us for this place.
Set in beautifull surroundings, miles away from anywhere, the camp was a welcome site at the end of a long day of travelling and game drives. We were met by a really warm welcome from all the staff before being taken to our tent. I say tent but that is a bit of an understatement. Beautifully decorated and really comfortable. My wife did have a little difficulty sleeping though- not because the room was uncomfortable- just because of the lions that insisted on walking around our tent!!!
The food was also excellent and way above what you might expect in such an isolated place.
All in all I would reccomend this lodge to anyone who wants a true luxury safari experience- you wont regret it. As for us, we will be back there as soon as we get a chance. Thanks Olivers camp !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed in August 2009 and have been remiss in submitting our review.

In looking at other reviews for Oliver's Camp, it's important to know what you value and what the lodging has to offer. Yes, it is a semi-permanent tented camp IN Tarangire NP and has chemical toilets and bucket showers in an open air bathroom attached to your tent. The bathroom was clean. The tents are spacious and we thought romantic. Morning tea and coffee are delivered at a time of your choosing (seems to be standard on safari) and at that time they will fill your wash bucket with hot water. Don't take a shower in the morning; wait until afternoon break when the sun is out and the air is warmer. They will fill your bucket shower at any time you wish with hot water. The Asilia guides (Martin, Alex and Alex) were fantastic. It is nice to already be in the park. Another reviewer said you had to drive out a bit every day. We agree, you do drive out a bit to get to other locations of the park, but really the wildlife is all around you (even sometimes next to your tent).

We also happened to really like the food, which was buffet style (eat as much as you like) and communal seating which we also really enjoyed and think other camps should do the same. In particular as a home cook, I was impressed what they did out in the bush and the food while fly camping was also fantastic. The lounge appeared "Out of Africa." Staff were always very friendly and accommodating.
We assigned value three stars because while Oliver's is exceptional, we paid for exceptional.

This is NOT Sayari in the Serengeti. Sayari is now a permanent camp and has a totally different feel. We actually preferred the more rustic and private Oliver's camp.
We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendoon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

"Without doubt with KIRAWIRA tented camp the highlight of our recent trip to Tanzania." Olivers is the real africa you go to sleep after port with cheese in the dining tent accompanied by the scamper of dik diks around your tent and are awakened by the majesty of a competitive pride of lions on the surrrounding plain at Tarangire. Alex is the perfect ghost and impressario if you are (we were) lucky enough to have an entertainer at Dinner. The food service and boma all superb complemented by great company of fellow guests. Make no mistake Olivers with its bucket showers and REAL african experience will remian long in your memory long after you've forgotten the many five star experiences you may have had in your lifetime in terms of perfection we can only compare it to its opposite La Posta Vecchia Ladispoli Lazio Italy in terms of absolute perfection. Just cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

we stayed at olivers as part of a month long vacation in kenya and tanzania. while the accomodations were ok, we did not know there was a bucket shower and chemical toilet. while we could adapt to this for the few days we were there....the food was mediocre and there did not seem to be enough staff. more than once, we went down to the "bonfire," which was not lit, and sat in the dark alone for 15 to 20 minutes..........
i o\would not recommend this camp!!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the south of the spectacular Tarangire National Park, Oliver's Camp may well be the best-kept secret for travelers seeking a real bush experience, located close to the animal dense Silale Swamps. Environmentally friendly Oliver’s Camp is the place to enjoy personal and friendly atmosphere in a Bush camp that makes you feel at one with nature and offer exclusive activities such as walking and fly camping which give you a true bush experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.