We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to end our two week safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Great way to end our two week safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Oliver's Camp was our final stop on our recent safari, and it was a wonderful way to end our two week camp experience. Jackie and Justin are great hosts and very professional; their staff was very accommodating and as nice as can be. We were in tent #9 at the far end of one side of the camp, and we liked the quiet location very much as well as the walk to the dining area. The tents are nicely furnished with lovely outside showers and a patio with lounge chairs; I missed one afternoon game drive just to sit on that patio and enjoy the ambiance! We took a walking safari with Lewis and learned a lot about the animals who live in the park and often visit during the night. He is an intelligent and well-trained walking guide who is currently teaching others how to become qualified to do the walking safaris......we didn't see a lot of wildlife up close and personal, but it was great to be walking in the bush where you know they live. We asked Justin and Jackie if the 6 us us traveling together could have a private dinner the last night of our stay, and they surprised us with a wonderful dinner under the stars in a nearby location; it was truly memorable and very nice of them to go to the trouble. All in all, we left Oliver's Camp and Tarangire Natl. Park with wonderful memories of incredible wildlife sightings of leopards, cheetah, lions and of course, the magnificent elephants! Herds of them welcomed us when we entered the park and when we were leaving, it was magical to stop for at least 100 of them who saw us out! BTW, it's true that there are annoying tse-tse flies in this area; however, we used the spray our guides had in the vehicles, and it seemed to be effective for most of us. Dressing in light colored clothing with long sleeves etc. also seems to deter those little buggers. Considering the total experience of tent safari camps, I would have to say they are a minor inconvenience. Put this place on your "must see" list!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    19
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
137
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We came to Little Oliver's on our honeymoon trip to Tanzania and are thankful we did. The camp is a little smaller than the normal Oliver's Camp, which we appreciated. As others have stated, the service was amazing!!! Angel, who is a very friendly, approachable host has done a wonderful job. The staff, including Joseph and others, were extremely polite and accommodating. Being located in the bush, you definitely can't find a better location. Our stay here was the highlight of our honeymoon in Africa!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We arrived at Little Oliver's (not Oliver's which is a larger camp just up the road) to be greeted with juice and cool wash clothes - thank you! Then we were led to our fabulous permanent tents - they are very large and spacious. Our sons were in a tent beside ours - both were really fantastic. The staff at this small camp were wonderful - having the laundry done every day was so helpful! The food was great - you eat family style with all the guests at one large table and Angel and Alex, the managers, are wonderful hosts getting everyone chatting and relaxed! The pre-dinner fireside happy hour is also wonderful. I recommend that everyone take the 'walking' safari with Alex - super interesting and the highlight of our stay. As in all places you need an escort to walk at night - they have a walkie talkie so you can call someone to come and get you - the lions are right outside the tents - you hear them as you are snuggled in your bed!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles Scotland
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night at the start of our safari and how we wished it was longer.This was our first camp experience and it certainly hit all the right spots.Justin and Jackie were very welcoming hosts and set a very collective/pleasant /amiable tone for all the guests.After a fab shower it was off to the camp fire to meet the other guest and have some pre dinner drinks which was very welcoming sitting chatting with people from all over the world.Dinner was excellent as was the wine.Getting woken up at 0600am with coffee was a great start to the day,great breakfast then we were off on our travels.Give this place a visit you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Olivers Camp exceeded our expectations in every way! The friendliness of Justin and Jackie set a welcoming tone, that permeated the whole experience. This was our introduction to Tarangire and the tent camps. One highlight was a walking safari with Blessed. It was scary at first to walk in the bush, but Blessed led us with a strict, but quiet dignity that made us relax. He was so interesting and knowledgeable! We also enjoyed a night safari.
The location was completely remote within the park.
The tent, with its verandah and outdoor shower was fantastic! This was about as elegant and well appointed as a tent could be! A truly memorable stay. Asilia camps are top drawer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our mantra became: "We didn't know what to expect, but this is beyond expectation!" Truth is, we anticipated incredible wildlife. We didn't imagine the comfort and care we found at Little Oliver's. Angel and Alex are terrific managers; the staff was top notch. Loved the huge, comfy beds and outdoor showers. Delicious meals. We couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Oliver's was our first camp on our first ever safari. We arrived with preconceived expectations about what the camp would be like, mainly derived from previous trip advisor reviews and Asilia's own website. We therefore thought it would be good, but nothing could prepare us for the truly unforgettable experience we had over 3 days.
From the outset, tumbling out of the jeep after the long journey from Kilimanjaro, being met with a cool drink and cold flannel was just the 'pick us up' we needed. Justin and Jacky were patient and wonderful hosts, carefully explaining camp rules to 4 rather jet lagged safari novices!
Unforgettable for us means sitting by the campfire for pre-dinner drinks with our guide discussing the highlights of the day and plans for the next, meeting fellow guests and the hosts at dinner for lively discussions, wonderful food (incredible quality and variety), the elephant which interrupted our showering whilst he casually carried out some garden maintenance, the views through the mesh screen, and seeing the sunrise with a hot flask of coffee.
The safari drives from Oliver's were exceptional and with the location away from the main tourist trail, we enjoyed the relative tranquility and exclusivity of the area.
The camp would not be so successful without the wonderful friendly and attentive staff, so a HUGE thank you to Justin, Jacky and the team. We shall not forget or time at Oliver's as the first stage in our amazing journey!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the south of the spectacular Tarangire National Park, Oliver's Camp may well be the best-kept secret for travelers seeking a real bush experience, located close to the animal dense Silale Swamps. Environmentally friendly Oliver’s Camp is the place to enjoy personal and friendly atmosphere in a Bush camp that makes you feel at one with nature and offer exclusive activities such as walking and fly camping which give you a true bush experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.