We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Justin and Jacky are the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Save Saved
You added Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Justin and Jacky are the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had an outstanding 3 days with our hosts, Justin and Jacky at Oliver's Camp. This permanent camp comes with spacious tents, that are a cross between a tent and a cabin. There is a large bedroom area, comfortable beds, a bathroom area with flush toilet and dressing area, a "porch" with recliners, and delightful outdoor showers. It is a true bush experience. One day we couldn't return to our tents after our afternoon game drive as a large bull elephant was blocking our way! We just had a few beers in the community area until the elephant moved along. Evenings are so much fun with great Sundowners with our delightful hosts, Justin and Jacky, who make you feel as if you are the only person in the camp. They are fun, full of energy, and outstanding at what they do. It is clear that the entire staff adores working for them, and everyone followed their example of gracious hospitality. It was a happy place. One evening the entire staff came out singing the "Jambo" song. Pretty soon Justin and Jacky had our entire table up dancing around the table. It was so much fun. I'll remember that forever. The food was delicious and the wine was excellent. Dinners were served graciously on a beautiful candle lit table. They do take credit cards if you care to purchase something from "the mall", a small cabinet of souvenirs, or purchase a beverage that is outside of the offerings of the full board accommodations. We loved every minute of our visit. Here is a little tip about the only potential downside, the tse-tse fly population in the Tarangire. They are more present in the forested areas as opposed to the open areas. We applied (four of us) the skin-so-soft insect repellent and even when the flies were buzzing all around us, not a single bite on any place where the SOS was applied. I was the only one to get bit, several bites on my stomach! The flies bit right through my insect repellent shirt to a place where I had not applied the SOS. Not a single bite on my bare arms! It comes in convenient packets, or you can also get a tube that also has 30 SPF that works equally well against the flies, and also protects from the strong African sun!

Room Tip: Rooms close to the dining area might be best for anyone with walking issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
117
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

As part of our safari, we stayed at Little Oliver's Camp for three nights. Little Oliver's is just down the road from Oliver's and also run by the Asilia group. The Camp is relatively new (opened in June 2013). The Camp Manager and her team provide an outstanding level of service. The location of the tents allows guests to watch the wildlife from their deck or perhaps even from bed. The tents are roomy and comfortable with a most wonderful outdoor shower - not to be missed! We would highly recommend this Camp to anyone visiting Tarangire National Park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

By now, we have spent three week in Tanzania. We were in four camps, all of them different
in style and experience. We loved Oliver's Camp. If I were to be picky, I would say that the
"breakfast and Lunch to-go" we not the best. I would definitely go back.
John

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our two week vacation in Tanzania. I can say without a doubt that Oliver's Camp was my favorite camp. The accommodating staff, the "tent" and definitely the outdoor shower made this an absolutely enjoyable experience. Don't let the words "camp" or "tent" scare you. Oliver's was like staying at an outdoor four or five start hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had a seriously wonderful time at Little Oliver's. The camp is new but there are no kinks that need to be worked out. Do not hesitate to book a visit.

The service here was the most thoughtful I have ever encountered. One morning we stopped for tea and my Mom asked if there was milk. There wasn't any included by the kitchen but Richard, our guide, must have mentioned this because milk was available every day after. I was impressed that he was so attentive and concerned with what would enhance our experience.

I can't say enough about Richard's knowledge and skills. We learned so much from him and I don't think there was ever a question he couldn't answer. It was apparent from his answers and general attitude that he is passionate about guiding. We would request to have him as a guide again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We choose Oliver's camp as our first stop when beginning our Tanzanian safari. Oliver's camp is set within Tarangire National Park, a great place to see elephants, along with other animals.
However as elephants are my personal favourite this seemed like an ideal place to start, and boy was this right!! On arrival we spotted hundreds of elephants moving along the swamp area in groups of up to 16, this was so wonderful and a real dream come true for me. We got to observe them for as long as we wanted and see all the wonderful behaviours they displayed, truly magical.
When arriving at camp, our home for the next 3 days, we were met by a wonderful couple who manage the camp. We were welcomed with big smiles, nice cold drink and made to feel very much at home. The camp itself is very beautiful and being in the middle of the park is an idyllic setting for wildlife fans. Once we received the safely information we were shown to our rooms, these really are special, stylish yet complimentary to the surroundings.
That evening we joined our fellow campers around the camp fire for pre dinner drinks, this was really fun and a great way to relax. Dinner each evening was delicious and served by polite and friendly staff, we enjoyed the company of the other guests and liked hearing all the different safari stories.
Each day out on safari here brought new animal sightings, including elephants, leopard & cub, honey badger, giraffe, warthog, water buffalo and many beautiful birds. Safari here will not disappoint, so much to see and a really beautiful place overall. I look forward to visiting here again and spending time at Oliver's camp again when visiting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Eight family members traveled on this trip organized by my in-laws. Our children are age 10 and 7. The drive through the park to Oliver's camp was long but packed full of wildlife viewing. Tarangire park is great and it was the first stop for us. Within 15 min of entering the park, we had already seen zebra, wildebeest, elephants, impala and many birds. The elephant viewing in this park is great! Oliver's camp was very welcoming, greeting us with cool towels and drinks when we arrived. There are only 8 tents so it is a very intimate camp. Our tent was for 3 people. The beds were comfortable, it was very private, the water was reliable and warm for our outdoor shower. There was a beautiful view of the savannah from our room. The camp manager was filling in for two weeks and she was great. She knew us by name and was always present at meals.
You cannot venture out of your tent at night without an escort since you are in the animals' territory! Meals are at the main reception open tent area. They take down wake up times for each tent and deliver hot coffee, tea or chocolate in the mornings. Breakfast is buffet with hot made to order eggs. Lunch is buffet with a mix of hot and cold items. For these meals, people are coming and going at various times. There is a campfire at 7 with snacks and drinks. Dinner is at 8pm and is a 3 course meal. The food was very good. I am vegetarian and have one particularly picky child which we let them know about in advance. We felt they took good care of our food needs.
The only situation which wasn't ideal for children was the dinner set for 8pm. Even some of us adults felt tired to eat so late and drop into bed.
We did go on the night drive and the walking safari (age 14+). We unfortunately didn't see much on the night drive but it isn't a zoo there after all! Our walking safari gave us a different perspective than the vehicles and was very worthwhile.
The clientele was mostly American and European.
We would highly recommend Oliver's camp.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the south of the spectacular Tarangire National Park, Oliver's Camp may well be the best-kept secret for travelers seeking a real bush experience, located close to the animal dense Silale Swamps. Environmentally friendly Oliver’s Camp is the place to enjoy personal and friendly atmosphere in a Bush camp that makes you feel at one with nature and offer exclusive activities such as walking and fly camping which give you a true bush experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.