We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A wonderful place.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Got here on day two of our trip after a long journey and a full days game driving. Wonderful camp in the south of the park (this oddly was one of our only gripes - the best game viewing is towards the north). Tents are wonderful and the outdoor bucket showers are great! Gin and tonics around the camp fire were very welcome and food was delicious (quite hearty for that sort of place). Good hosts who are very clued up on their passion which is wildlife photography. Couldn't recommend it more really - we were sad to leave!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    19
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
137
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

From the moment that your four wheel drive stops, in what feels like the middle of the African bush, you know that this will be special experience.
Oliver’s Camp, managed by Ken and Michelle, has the most welcoming and attentive staff, whose hospitality compliments the very essence of the sense of freedom the East African wilderness offers.
The camp’s architecture blends with nature, enhances the sensors with a blend of canvas and thatch, and leaves one with sense of being part of the bush.
We were fortunate enough to meet a walking safari guide Ethan, who shared his vast knowledge about Africa with us not only walking, but also in evenings around the fire and over dinner.
Thank you, Ken and Michelle, Jackson, Sophet, Ethan and all the exceptional staff for your wonderful hospitality and assisting us to awaken our sensors.
P&J

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a better room at Oliver's Camp. They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverell, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just back from a trip in Africa and stayed at the best place ever, Oliver's Camp, from the moment you arrive to the time you have to Leave they treat you like kings and queens.The food , drink and accommodation was the Best and the Hosts Ken and Michelle were great. I would recommend this to any one. Thanks Ken and Michelle

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I'm not big on TA reviews but felt it was important to share how wonderful our stay at Oliver's was....


Oliver's is a really special place. I think we will always hold a special place in our hearts for that camp. Maybe it's because it was the first stop on safari, but if the staff and the camp wasn't as great as it was, I don't think we'd hold such fond memories as we do today. Michelle and Ken are just fantastic. They sat with us every single night and took time to get to know us, taking a genuine interest in our lives. They gifted us with a bottle of champagne and an incredibly sweet note (which we are having framed) that will help us remember the start of honeymoon forever. You can tell they truly love what they do and the people they meet and we feel grateful for having met them. The staff at Oliver's was fantastic as well-- mainly Alex and Jackson. They were both also so polite and supportive with whatever we needed. Alex sat with us every night during our sun downer and took time to actually hear our day's stories. Jackson always remembered our names and greeted us with a huge smile and bubbly personality. The camp was extremely clean, we felt secure, and we felt comfortable. And the food!-- delicious. Oliver's is truly special.

Our guide, Alfred was the best. Truly. You know the saying-- you don't know what you have until it's gone? Well, it wasn't until we parted ways with Alfred that we realized how great he was. Not only was he knowledgeable about the local area and all the camps, enabling us to see incredible things, he was always extremely professional. Alfred was always on time, kept the jeep extremely clean, he was polite, and pleasant. He was fun and willing to share stories, but was also totally fine with a quiet drive. The car was always packed with essential drinks, snacks, napkins, etc. and completely spotless. Anytime we left the jeep, we returned to a clean and organized seat, even if we were gone for a few minutes. His English was perfect and his knowledge of other cultures was fantastic as well. We truly can't say enough good things about Alfred and hope that the company is aware of how great of a guide he really is.

The location of the camp is fantastic-- there were elephants all around. We saw a hyena right outside in the daytime! Tarangire is amazing and the location of Oliver's allowed us to easily get around. We loved it.


We absolutely loved traveling with Asilia. Both of our guides were beyond amazing (We also stayed at Olakira and our guide Kivuyo was outstanding as well). Both camps were clean, safe, comfortable, and gorgeous. The food was amazing and we were extremely impressed with how they were able to accommodate any dietary restrictions with ease. The service was by far the best part of our stay-- we felt like family and the staff was incredible.

We would definitely recommend Asilia and its camps to anyone and everyone-- they really helped us have a fantastic honeymoon. Thank you, thank you!


- Jaclyn and Marc from New York!

Room Tip: Location doesn't really matter here. Maybe just request to be closer to the common area so you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhttan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I live in NYC and have traveled to Africa many times, including multiple trips to the bush. Oliver's Camp rates as my top bush experience -- and this is going up against very high end lodges such as Londolozi in South Africa.

The camp is intimate, with "permanent" tents, which gives an open air experience with the comfort of luxury appointments. The food and service could not have been more terrific, and our guide was truly exceptional (which is the most critical part of any bush experience). Tarangire offers a truly dense population of many species, including a massive population of elephants. The hosts are laid back -- available but not intrusive. The only downside was the quality of wine. Bearable, but off the mark for the quality of everything else.

Room Tip: In this camp there are no good and bad tents. Each is completely private and removed from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stormville, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived at Oliver's Camp after a day of touring Tarangire National Park and spent 2 nights there. It was a wonderful experence-part of our group took a morning walking tour, which they loved, and the rest of us went on a game drive. Everything was frist class-the service, accommodations and food were great. Definitely a camp to be considered for your safari.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our camp. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Oliver's, our walking safaris and game drives. As we always strive for the best service levels and safari experience for our guests we take all feedback and share it with our team for further improvement. Thank you for your positive feedback and on behalf of camp managers - Ken & Michelle - and the Oliver's team we hope to welcome you back to Tarangire one day!

Kind regards,

Marleen Haverkamp
Asilia Africa | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Spent two nights at the end of Aug. It was a drive to reach the camp but saw many animals along the way and were glad we went that far into Tarangire Park. Swamp was dry in places but lots of elephants. We were welcomed upon arrival with wetface cloths and a glass of juice. We stayed in tent #6, it even had a door. Shower is outstanding with hot water and toiletries. Everything about the camp is top shelf, food, service and lodgings. Heard the lions roar the first night. Take a walk if you can. Hosts Ken and Michelle convinced me it would be fun and they were right. Alex led us on an interesting walk, and we got a different perspective.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the south of the spectacular Tarangire National Park, Oliver's Camp may well be the best-kept secret for travelers seeking a real bush experience, located close to the animal dense Silale Swamps. Environmentally friendly Oliver’s Camp is the place to enjoy personal and friendly atmosphere in a Bush camp that makes you feel at one with nature and offer exclusive activities such as walking and fly camping which give you a true bush experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.