We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Night in Bush” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tarangire Treetops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarangire Treetops
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Tarangire Conservation Area, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Rowley
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First Night in Bush”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our first night of our 13 day safari was spent at Treetops just outside Tarangire National Park. What a great experience and what a great way to start our safari. The lodge was spectacular in every way. Our cabin, set high above the ground, faced west allowing a great view of the sunset. Dinner was a buffet served under the stars with a show by the local Masai. In the morning we were greated by 5 elephants just outside the pool and blocking our access to our safari vehicle. Sat at breakfast watching the elephants eat the entry flower garden and prune the trees adjacent to the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    30
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
50
117
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our absolute favorite accommodation! Great staff! Spacious, comfortable rooms. Enjoyed evening dinners with Masai singing and dancing. We were glad to see that this lodge offered night time game drives as we really enjoyed the night games drives in South Africa and were surprised that they were not typically offered in Tanzania (We wished we would have known about this fact in advance – it may have influenced our lodge choices!) We were highly disappointed in one of the box lunches provided from this lodge.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room closer to the main lodge as the walk between the treetop and main lodge c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

One of the best, if not the best hotel I ever stayed in ! Great luxury rooms, great food, excellent service, and very unique. You won't regret it. The whole room is surrounded by 'windows' overlooking the national park. The sunsets are incredible, just perfect for a honeymoon :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

So I should preface my review by saying that by the time we got to Tarangarie we were rather sick of being on Safari - literally and figuratively. 7 days of safari was too much for us and on the way we also managed to get sore throats. But the second we got to Tarangarie they took care of us from the first second!

We were in room number 2 which was a bit far away from the main lodge / lobby area. So when we did walk back to the lobby we mentioned it. After that every time we had to go or come from our room they would always arrange a golf cart to pick us up. Considering that we were a bit under the weather too this was very very much appreciated!

On our first night I was too sick to make it to dinner so we asked if they could deliver the food to our room. Shortly a whole army of staff (at least 4 people) came by all together to deliver our food!

A special thanks has to be given to Mbazi who took care of us the whole time we were there. We were spoiled silly and couldn't have been happier! There was a big group of 22 who was there at the same time we were and we were sure that we were going to get lost in the shuffle but that wasn't the case at all. We have very individualized attention the whole time!

The room - was fantastic. The view of the sunset was amazing from our room and the bed was super comfortable. The bathroom is huge too and the hot water (which is available from 5am-11am and then 5pm-11pm) worked great! The double shower head was a great idea too and the shampoo / soap in the bathroom was pretty decent too. There are walkie talkies in the room that also allow you to communicate with the main lobby area which was super convenient.

Big thanks to all the staff there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights on while on safari for our honeymoon and had an incredible time. The property is amazing, with an open air central area with a small pool overlooking a watering hole, frequented by Elephants etc. Food and service were both excellent, including a Masai BBQ complete with traditional dance. Nicholas who took personal care of us during our stay was a particularly great host.

We stayed in room 6 which built around a baobab tree and was the ultimate in Swiss Family Robinson meets luxury and a short walk to the central area (some of the other rooms are a bit of a walk which might be harder for elderly guests).

The location is a bit of a distance outside the park itself, but not a major inconvenience as we are coming all this way to drive around looking for game in the first place. This also allowed us to participate in a night game drive, which was quite fun.

Based on our stay alone, I would certainly rate this property as highly as possible, as this was one of the best lodging experiences I have ever had. However, while we were there another set of guests who had several valuables stolen from their room while they were at dinner. Imagine, having for example your camera with all your photos stolen while on safari - that could ruin a vacation!

Speaking with the management of the property, they feel it was someone who came to the property from outside the lodge who committed these thefts. Still I would certainly take good care of your valuables when staying and hope that further steps are taken to prevent events like this from happening in the future.

Room Tip: We loved staying in room 6, which is close to the central area but still felt very private. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElewanaCollection, Owner at Tarangire Treetops, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Krishna

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Tarangire Treetops and for your kind comments regarding out beautiful property next to the Tarangire National Park.

I have passed these kind words on to the Team at the Lodge and they will be delighted to hear of your approval of their work.

In regards to the theft at Treetops, we did have a petty thief access one of the rooms, by-passing our 24-hour security team. This malevolent action was indeed done by an opportunist from outside of the property and the individual, according to the local authorities, has been identified.

Since this incident, rare as it may be within our lodges and camps, we have fully appraised our security protocols to ensure not only the safety of all our guests but also the security of their goods and chattels. Any incident that affects our Guest Experience is both regrettable and highly concerning to us as we wish each of guests to enjoy the beauty of the bush without any concerns or worries.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and should you or anyone else reading this review have any further comments or questions, please feel free to contact us at the Elewana Collection.

Best regards
Jason Barry
Group Director of Communications
jason.barry@elewana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at Treetops for 2 nights in July 2013. It was a great experience. The room was beautiful and well appointed- it was exactly as it looks on the website. The staff was welcoming and helpful. We had dinner both nights- the first was buffet style, it had a bit more local flair and was tasty. The second night was around the pool and was also very good. Breakfast each morning was wonderful as well. We went on a walking safari with Moses and it was a great experience - we saw lions and elephants! Moses was a great guide and provided interesting information and ensured we were safe. Then we had sundown drinks which may have been the highlight of the trip! The staff was very helpful- we were late one day for lunch (were got caught up watching lions hunt!) and they set up a late lunch for our group. The only downside is the road in is a bit rough. All and all a wonderful experience and highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We loved Tarangire Treetops so much that as we were leaving and the staff were all lined up to bid us farewell that I felt a lump in my throat! The welcome was warm, the service impeccable and the accommodation of a very high standard. I liked the fact that there was a good distance between the tree houses. We were in #1 which was the furthest away from the main lodge and it was a good walk or there is the option of a golf buggy. The game drives were excellent and our guide Elly was superb. He has amazing eyesight and even spotted a leopard in a tree, at the same time as driving! We were impressed with the large herds of Cape buffalo and elephant that we saw. I would not hesitate to recommend Treetops.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tarangire Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Treetops

Address: Tarangire Conservation Area, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tarangire Treetops 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarangire Treetops tree-houses meander through the branches of thousand-year old trees. Nights are magical, as the wind seems to carry bedtime stories from the ancient branches of the majestic baobabs and marulas; calming your senses, cradling your slumber. Here, under clear and sparkling African skies your dreams and fairy tales have been waiting for you! Nowhere, does fantasy come alive as it does at Tarangire Treetops. Experience night-game drive and bush walks only at Treetops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Treetops Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarangire Treetops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tarangire Treetops to your Saves list