We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tarangire Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Save
You added Tarangire Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Royston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in Tarangire Sopa Lodge as part of a tour operator safari to Kenya and Tanzania. It was a very good hotel, with large sized rooms, very pleasant food with lots of choices, very friendly staff and a family of very cute hyraxes living in the shrubs out the back of our balcony. Overall we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    155
    66
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
172
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Once again we have chosen another lodge by the Sopa group and have not been let down by the level of service or the rooms .
really enjoyed being there after a day in the land rover it was nice to come back and sit in the lounge area and have a drink and talk about the days highlites with the other people on safari .
I could not speak highly enough about the Sopa Group of lodges all of them have been a very pleasant suprise to my wife and myself well done group

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virum, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Wonderful hotel, great room, but not a great view from our room. try to get a better view. Wonderful facilitis, good food in the nice restaurant with very good service. Nice pool area. Can only recommend it

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and I were both surprised with the quality of this Lodge as well as the wildlife we saw. Lions, cheetah, elephants and giraffes to name a few. Lodge is very well laid out and food is absolutely fantastic.

Pros
Amazing amazing food (set menu)
Great safari
Service very good

Cons
Rooms shaped kinda wierd
Bugs in the room
Picnic lunch was just so so

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Gaudens, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

No bungalows like many other places, though an intimate touch

Very good food, very nice rooms and very friendly staff

At dinner you will enjoy the hotel staff singing for you traditional songs for about 10 minutes

In the early morning hours elephants are walking right under your balcony

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore, india
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at Tarangire Sopa on the second night of our ten day trip to Tanzania.
Check-in was smooth but as we were led to our rooms the sense we got was that the lodge had seen better days. Don't know when such clunky concrete designs were in fashion but it certainly has no place in 2014.
The rooms were large and the beds were comfortable but not the best we slept in on our trip. The toiletries were really average. The biggest problem was lighting - with the exception of the dining room the lighting everywhere else was completely inadequate. Reading in bed was impossible even with all the lights on.
The food was tasty and plentiful and the service was good with Robert, our server, being attentive to all our needs.
The lodge is located in a beautiful setting and the view from the dining room is spectacular.
While this was a comfortable place to begin our safari we honestly expected better and this lodge needs a makeover if it doesn't want to be left behind by the newer camps and lodges.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The lodge is located in a stunning location but like the other sopa lodge we stayed in this one too was tired and dated.

The rooms were very dark, even with all lights on it was difficult to see. My friend stepped on a scorpion inside her room. Luckily she had her shoes on!

The food was okay and the service was good.

The location however is great with lots of rock hyrax, agamas and hornbills around the lodge. The was the most charming part of my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarangire Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarangire Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Tarangire Sopa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarangire Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.