We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarangire Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Save
You added Tarangire Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived here having stayed at the sister hotel, Ngorongoro Sopa, and werent disappointed.

Elephants within the hotel boundary, playing with the water hose pipe, welcomed us when we arrived. These giants could be spotted from inside the lounge as they passed through to the park.

The pool area is pleasant, especially when the sun was out, and the food choice reasonable. The main dining area and the food choices were good. Bedrooms were fine and sizeable.

The only noticeable issue was the still unpainted exterior buildings, making the lodge look a bit unfinished and raw.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms are located on two storeys - do ask for the upper storey ones, to minimise any unwanted insect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    171
    68
    14
    5
See reviews for
70
184
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

There is no magnificant view like the sister hotel at ngorongoro sopa lodge at ngorongoro crater BUT i was very comfortable and happy here.

The lobby was more modern than the crater

My room was also very modern/updated as well as the bathrooms. very clean rooms. rooms equipped with giant mosquito net. Out of all the safari park, i did noticed the bugs more at Tarangire. Hardly any at ngorongoro crater or the serengeti

I enjoyed by sunset time out on the deck immensely. elephants were in view very near.

I call Tarangire NP aka the "elephant park" because that was what I saw the most there

My meals were pretty good at Tarangire but enjoyed it more at ngorongoro crater.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Tarangire Sopa Lodge as a part of a 12 day package tour of Kenya & Tanzania, so we can not rate the value for money. The Lodge entrance was impressive with Marble floors and a sunken waterfall in the centre of the foyer, which was switched off as soon as everyone had arrived.
That being said, there was a triping / falling hazard as there were many uneven surfaces / steps that were not immediately noticable showing where the steps were. Watch your step!
Staff were friendly and helpful as they were at all Lodges we stayed at. Free WIFI in the lounge areas.
All rooms we had on the tour were generously sized. Beds were comfortable but on the firm side as were most of the Lodges on the tour.
The food on offer was tasty but had the least choices for both lunch & dinner of the whole trip while we stayed at the Sopa Lodges. Some of the serviced lunch orders by the pool were totally forgotten. For the table service dinner, dessert was miserably sized.
The Park itself is spectacular, we were even greated by an elephant at the entrance to the lodge. A large range of animals can be spotted, (we even saw a boa constrictor in a tree). Baobab trees are in abundance. During the afternoon Safari, we had the best encounter of the whole trip, a Leopard & cub, unforgettable. Followed by a great Sunset.
In the morning we were woken up by the elephants breaking branches outside our room just before dawn. A nice way to finish off our Safari trip

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The location is good and the staff are friendly. We asked for new rooms as the old ones were in need of modernising. Exciting moment was when a lion entered the reception area and went up to the bar at around 3am!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This has a wonderful location on the edge of the park with spectacular sunsets. Free Wi-Fi is available on request. Food is lovely and plentiful. Sometimes dinner is a buffet and sometimes it is table service. Robert looked after us well here. Drinks are expensive at around £20 for a bottle of the cheapest (Spanish not local) wine and £3 for a small beer. Rooms are a good size with an entrance area, bedroom, good size bathroom with walk in shower and a balcony. They looked newly refurbished but some of the furniture seems too big for the room and blocks access to the balcony! Adjoining rooms are available upon request but are limited. Entertainment comes in the form of either Masai dancers or a staff choir. You are escorted to your room at night as animals roam the grounds.... There were many hyrax and swallows during our visit. There was a very nice pool which had a drinks service at the sun beds available. This seemed a popular place for honeymooners to stay.

Room Tip: Room 30 and 31 were nice and quiet though not adjoining
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Tarangire Sopa Lodge sports a beautiful entryway, dining area and bar with lovely vistas. Some of the best food we had in Africa was at the Tarangire Sopa Lodge. Choices were plentiful and servings generous. A highlight was a nightly performance by the staff of a song or dance. The bungalow layout made this large lodge feel a lot smaller. Resident monkeys and hyraxes were always on hand to entertain guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This lodge was our 1st stop during our 5 days safari.
We dis not really know what to expect but ended up in a beautiful place, with a huge room.
The staff was really nice, ready to help. The food was good, with a large choice including a barbeque.
Some animations were also propose by the team, Eg.: Masai warriors dance demo.
Free wifi at the reception/ bar.
The pool area is pretty nice, surrounded by monkeys and little animals.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarangire Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarangire Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Tarangire Sopa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarangire Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.