We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- terrible lodge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Osupuko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Osupuko Lodge
Save
You added Osupuko Lodge to your Saves list
Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location- terrible lodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The location and the landscape were the best parts of Osopuko lodges- in the middle of the Taranguire national park- you could wake up with a wildebeest in front of your lodge!
The manager, David is very nice and helpful and has lots of fascinating stories to tell
On the other hand, the rooms are not high quality- no air conditioning and electricity only from 06 am till 10.pm. There is no internet available in the rooms neither in the lobby.
The food is quite good but not many choices although you'll always have a vegetarian option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    23
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
37
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall UK.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stopped here for one night on recent short (3 day) Safari holiday following climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro.
Welcome was excellent and the rooms are fine with view out over Tarangire National Park.
Dinner and breakfast were excellent based on a simple menu but very well cooked and presented.
As mentioned in other reviews David, the manager, was very friendly and helpful as were all the staff.
Being guarded at night and escorted to and from the room by Maasai guards was a unique experience!
In the morning they asked me whether I had heard the lions roaring in the night which, sadly, I missed being too fast asleep but it was nice to know they were there looking out for me!
You do need a torch though as the power is all from a generator which goes off at 10:00 p.m. and back on at 6:00 a.m. I had my head torch from the climb so was OK but otherwise you might be groping around in the dark a bit!
So if you want 5 star luxury, air-con and full a la carte menus then this is not the place for you but if you want a totally unique experience getting close to the landscape and country side then definitely a place to stay.
Thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are only 12 rooms and they all have the same magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great Lodge, you approach it outside the Tarangire Park, but the rooms are built right on the border of the park, so you have excellent views into the park. Great staff and good food. The rooms are clean and have the comfort you would expect. Unfortunately no wifi available.
Because it is a small lodge the athmosphere is great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Posting this only now because it's taken this long to get a response directly from management about our experience.
Travelled with my group of 16 in August 2012 and booked 8 rooms. Upon arrival after a long and dusty safari day, we were told they didn't have 2 rooms because of...the reasons varied but evidently due to construction delay and overselling, which they should have informed us of earlier. They offered to host 4 group members at nearby Roika Lodge which was very bad and not comparable. Besides to split a group was hugely inconvenient. David, the manager, tried his best to manage the situation but eventually tics like a trickle of a shower, no pool (elephants had broken the pump -- same reason as from a review 7 months prior), construction workers walking past uncurtained windows...eventually eroded his efforts. My group voted Osupuko the worst lodge in our 15 night safari through Ke/Tz.

Management response was they provided extras such as juices and a very informal cooking demo to compensate. They also offered a wholly inadequate $500 as compensation for 4 people over 2 days of the inadequacy of and shuttling from Roika. Note their website says there is adequate hot water and the rooms are air conditioned...not true.

Positives: the location overlooking the Tarangire plains; Masai women's co-operative, David - he's a charmer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights whilst taking part in a community project in a nearby village. Everything about it was fabulous. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the beds are more comfortable than my own at home. The food was sensational. The pool is a lovely place to start the day, watching the sun come up over Tarangire national park, watching the giraffes and zebras. But what makes this place is the staff - they are all lovely people who can't do enough for you. I will be going again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights here whilst visiting Tarangire NP, and must say it was my favourite lodge of the north-western national parks by far! The manager David, was an absolute delight, being friendly, very approachable and I would definitely recommend his complimentary early morning walks on the outskirts of the park where he educates you on the uses of the land as taught by his ancestors (he's a Maasai warrior) and also learning how to recognise animals by their footprints. This was a unique experience to get close to the land on foot, whilst being protected by 1 or 2 more Maasai warriors who accompany you.

The accommodation itself is absolutely lovely, clean and spacious bungalows, based on the traditional Maasai boma, as well as being eco-friendly. Felt quite spoilt.

Overall, an excellent experience, with great views down across the park, and a serene setting. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The lodge is absolutley amazing, we stayed for one night after a safari in Tarangire National Park. Wasn't too sure what to expect when we drove up a dirt track for a few kilometres but was pleasantly suprised to be greated by a couple of Masai to carry our bags and the manager with a welcome and a couple more staff will cool flannels and cold fruit juice. We were then taken to our bungalow which was amazing, a great size with great views and even an outdoor shower. The temperature was quite cool for the outdoor shower but I brazed it anyway and was rewarded with a feww warthogs walking right past me! With the lodge being right on the national park you do get animals wandering through so you do need to be escorted by the Masai when walking to dinner. The food was great, the starter of carrot and ginger was amazing followed by another four courses. Because it was Monday night we were treated to an authenic Masai dance which the ladies were invited to join in. The swimming pool looked lovely but we didn't get a chance to use it at we arrive late and left early.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osupuko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osupuko Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osupuko Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.