We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Lodge, excellent views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osupuko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Osupuko Lodge
Save
You added Osupuko Lodge to your Saves list
Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Exceptional Lodge, excellent views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a safari after climbing Kilimanjaro. We arrived here after a day in the park. The reception was very friendly and informative. The lodge is small with ten well appointed rooms spread along an escarpment overlooking the park, each with a veranda offering a superb view. Wildlife is plentiful in and around the lodge and the Masai staff will take you to and from your room for your safety. There is a small bar/restauran/pool area also overlooking the park where we saw elephant, impala, baboons, buffulo and much more. The menu was personalised and the food very very good. We were taken on a very interesting nature walk by the hotel manager at sunrise where we saw an elephant and a few other animals. Service and attention to detail faultless. One of the best places that I have ever stayed in, wish I had stayed longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are good with supurb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
40
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited Osupuko in August 2012 for one night and wished it had been more! From the friendly reception of the staff, complete with a refreshing glass of juice, we were escorted to our individual bungalows. This lodge was a highlight of our visit to Tanzania and Africa. We so enjoyed the setting, facility, and the service! The spacious room honored a traditional Masai design and was bright and clean, and we appreciated the ecological features. Its not everyday one can see elephants, zebras and wildebeasts from your room. The dining area overloooking the pool and the park vista created a very relaxing atmosphere. Interacting with the Masai staff from beginning to end was truly a joy and completed an overall outstanding experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for one night and thought this place was great. It is 5km from Tarangire national Park entrance.
The rooms are very nice, beds were really really comfortable with amazing views. We woke up in the morning to Elephant trumpets, opened our curtains and there they were 100 meters away along with baboons and impalas, amazing... we were told by others that the day before the elephants were even closer. You actually need to be escorted by Massai when going to/from the restaurant.

The food was nice, but we had the same menu for lunch as we did dinner, pasta and tomato sauce, lamb in a sauce or pork escalop, all very nice though.

The staff are very friendly too.
I would really recommend this place, I probably wouldn't want to stay longer than two nights though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The lodge is ideal situated overlooking the Tarangire Nat. Park. There is plenty wildlife around.
A guided nature walk (free offered) in the early mornining is true experince.
Quality of accommodation, food and services is very good.

Room Tip: Shortly they have family (interleading) rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was our first tented camp in Tanzania, having always stayed in lodges before. It's a lovely place and the staff are incredibly friendly. We went on an early morning walk and saw elephants as well as a pack of wild dogs hunting! It was a truly unforgettable start to our visit to Tarangire.

Room Tip: We saw two dfferent rooms, both were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

If you're looking for a good starting point for a safari, I'd recommend this Lodge. It was a remarkable unique experience for us in our first trip to Tanzania, and even better a second time.
The "suites" are designed like Masai huts (but have no resemblance) are spacious with indoor and outdoor showers. You never know what you'll hear calling to you in the evening and overnight as elephants, lions, lots of birds are common sounds. Considering the remoteness of the property, the food is very good and prepared well and served in an open dining facility that overlooks a deck and pool area, which, in turn, overlooks the Park. Masai (Massai) tribesmen provide 24 hour security as well as acting as hospitality hosts, bellmen, guides and interesting conversations. Make sure to do the "walk about" around the area surrounding the property. It's not only a good workout, but there are many animals to observe and we learned a lot about the importance of the Tarangire River to the area.

We were amazed at the service and the friendly attitudes and smile of the Masai tribesmen the entire staff. We recommend it to anyone who enjoys "roughing it" with style.

Room Tip: The suites are spread out so you have lots of privacy. It's not much of a walk from the farthes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi, Kilimanjaro, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Osupuko Lodge is relative new and not yet totally finished. However - the location is breathtaking at the border of the Tarangire park on hilltop. It is really in the middle of the wild - elefants stroll around and come as close as 100m to your dining table. The loadge ist not fenced, but Maasai protect the area day and night.

The lodge consists of several individual bungalows which are nicely furnitured and give you a touch of luxary in the wilderness. Huge panorama windows let you enjoy the scenery even from within the bungalow, but you can also sit outside on your private terrace.

The restaurant presented great dinner and breakfast, The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Before dinner the Maasai presented a dance performance.
The time we were there (December 2011) the pool terrace was not yet finished. Nobody used the pool because there was not any shade and no pool furniture was available.

The main negative experience was the heat in the room. There was no cooling wind and no aircondition, so we layed in our beds and kept on sweating all night until morning, when a little wind was giving us some releave from the heat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osupuko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osupuko Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osupuko Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.