We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable permanent tents with ensuite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maramboi Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Save
You added Maramboi Tented Camp to your Saves list
Tarangire And Manyara Pans | Minjingu, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable permanent tents with ensuite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Good location for visiting Tarangire National Park. Comfortable permanent tents with ensuite. Internet available from reception. Lot's of zebra and warthogs about the place. A nature walk to the lake edge with a ranger is also offerered. The food was variable. Self serve lunch boxes definitely need improvement, specifically presentation and packaging. However, no big deal for me as I didn't pack much any way. I enjoyed my stay at this camp despite the annoying insects bombarding us at dinner time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    128
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
94
197
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

The tented camp was amazing. Kind of in the middle of nowhere, the service was great along with the food. You can also take a guided walking tour and walk with the Zebras and Flamingos.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Maramboi has beautiful and huge tented rooms. At night it feels like all the insects in the world are trying to get it. The beds have nets but unfortunately a couple of insects found their way into my bed leading to a restless night. Not the camp's fault though - this is africa after all! The reason I won't choose Maramboi again is the atmosphere. The staff were all very friendly but not in a genuine way - certainly not compared to the other 4 places we stayed on our trip. The lunchboxes were rubbish but that is the same everywhere - the safari camps and lodges need a little advice on how to put together a good lunchbox esp on how to make sandwiches! It neednt be expensive!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

The tents and lounge areas here are very nice. We only stayed here for one night and enjoyed seeing the animals grazing in the area as well as the sunset.

The only drawback to this place is the food, it may have been poor because it was a buffet, but it really wasn't that appealing even compared to some of the other buffets we had at other lodges in Tanzania.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

At the end of our Safari we stayed at this tented camp and it was definitely one of the highlights for spending the night!
The tents are situated next to the lake with a fantastic view during sunset. The tents are big with two big double beds and a nice bath room.
The camp has got a nice lounge and dining / breakfast area on a terrace next to Zebras.
For dinner and lunch there was a nice buffet. The lunch paket could be individually selected during breakfast.
Additionally the camp has a swimming pool and it is possible to do an early morning safari by feet with an Maasai.
Altogether this was a lovely end of our safari.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed two nights at Maramboi at the end of our 12day/10 night Safari. We agree and find accurate what has been said in most of the previous positive reviews. Notables from our visit:
We very much enjoyed the animals grazing near the camp. We did not hear them in the camp at night, but there was some evidence that they had visited.
Our tent was very large as others have mentioned, but only had two beds which made a for very large space between them—could easily have been three beds in the tent.
On our visit, there was NO 24-hour power—the lights stopped working sometime after we retired and worked again shortly after we awoke for an early morning game drive. If you don’t have your own flashlight, a rechargeable type one is available from the bar area.
Water for the sink and shower was hot at all times.
Our deck area had a great view to the lake and escarpment beyond. Two chairs and a cocktail table were on our deck to enjoy the view.
We participated in an escorted walk to the lakeshore. Interesting, but our guide did not say much, and the animals scattered quickly as we approached—we got closer to the animals when we were on a game drive in our rover.
Food was very good, service was good.

We would definitely choose Maramboi on a future visit, would recommend to our friends, but did not find it outstanding when compared to other tented lodges, camps and lodges on our Safari: thus the 3 star rating. It would have been a 4 with a bit of improvement in service and a bit wider selection of food options.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Location is outside the Tarangire NP but slightly interior, off from the main road. It is good for an experience in a tented camp. The rooms were large and spacious. There were few mosquitoes but the beds had net. Bathroom, hot water etc was good. Dinner and breakfast were ok, not great but sufficient and decent. There was free internet access with computers. The safari guide could eat with us. We did not see any animal around there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Address: Tarangire And Manyara Pans | Minjingu, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 26 standard rooms and 14 suites 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.40 rooms with en suite facilities.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maramboi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.