We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tented camp next to Lake Manyara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maramboi Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Save
You added Maramboi Tented Camp to your Saves list
Tarangire And Manyara Pans | Minjingu, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely tented camp next to Lake Manyara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

At the end of our Safari we stayed at this tented camp and it was definitely one of the highlights for spending the night!
The tents are situated next to the lake with a fantastic view during sunset. The tents are big with two big double beds and a nice bath room.
The camp has got a nice lounge and dining / breakfast area on a terrace next to Zebras.
For dinner and lunch there was a nice buffet. The lunch paket could be individually selected during breakfast.
Additionally the camp has a swimming pool and it is possible to do an early morning safari by feet with an Maasai.
Altogether this was a lovely end of our safari.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    118
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
83
169
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed two nights at Maramboi at the end of our 12day/10 night Safari. We agree and find accurate what has been said in most of the previous positive reviews. Notables from our visit:
We very much enjoyed the animals grazing near the camp. We did not hear them in the camp at night, but there was some evidence that they had visited.
Our tent was very large as others have mentioned, but only had two beds which made a for very large space between them—could easily have been three beds in the tent.
On our visit, there was NO 24-hour power—the lights stopped working sometime after we retired and worked again shortly after we awoke for an early morning game drive. If you don’t have your own flashlight, a rechargeable type one is available from the bar area.
Water for the sink and shower was hot at all times.
Our deck area had a great view to the lake and escarpment beyond. Two chairs and a cocktail table were on our deck to enjoy the view.
We participated in an escorted walk to the lakeshore. Interesting, but our guide did not say much, and the animals scattered quickly as we approached—we got closer to the animals when we were on a game drive in our rover.
Food was very good, service was good.

We would definitely choose Maramboi on a future visit, would recommend to our friends, but did not find it outstanding when compared to other tented lodges, camps and lodges on our Safari: thus the 3 star rating. It would have been a 4 with a bit of improvement in service and a bit wider selection of food options.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Location is outside the Tarangire NP but slightly interior, off from the main road. It is good for an experience in a tented camp. The rooms were large and spacious. There were few mosquitoes but the beds had net. Bathroom, hot water etc was good. Dinner and breakfast were ok, not great but sufficient and decent. There was free internet access with computers. The safari guide could eat with us. We did not see any animal around there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
689 reviews 689 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
836 helpful votes 836 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Arrived after dark and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the tents were. The room was huge with 3 beds. We sat out on our deck, had a drink and watched the sunset over Lake Manyara with animals in the background. Free wifi and internet was great. The food was a step up from most places. I thought the variety was good. One lunch they served us poolside We also enjoyed the box lunches here. A guard will walk you to your room in the dark. There are animals close to the tents, you can hear them all night. If you're a light sleeper pack earplugs. You do have to walk through some sand to get to the rooms. I found tennis shoes better then sandals for this. Overall I thought this was a great, well managed comfortable place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo, CA
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We spent two nights at Maramboi. They have added two family tents that are a great addition. They are two seperate rooms connected by a patio, great for families. We were actually yje 1st family to occupy the Duma/Faru Tent, Very well decorated and cozy. Obviously being brand new it was in great shape. They operate on solar, and as my teenage daughter took a long shower in the evening we had no hot water in the morning. The grounds are beautiful, and the staff are amazing. My wife and daughter got extremely ill our 1st night there and the staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to accomodate.
Food quality was good, although it was buffet style with not a great selection. I really enjoyed Maramboi. The biggest downfall is the length from Tarangire. It is about 30 minutes each way which cuts down on game viewing in the park although you can see wildebeest, giraffe, zebra etc right from your room at the camp.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Maramboi Tented Camp was our very favorite accommodation during the safari trip my husband and I took in June of 2010. Maramboi was recommended to us by our irreplaceable guide / safari organizer Jombi (www.tanzaniaoutdoor.com), who made his thoughtful suggestions (regarding both the accommodations and parks) based on our interests and budget. Even though our primary focus was Tanzania's wildlife and nature, and it seemed that where we slept almost wouldn't even matter, I must say that after hours of driving on the rough park roads we greatly appreciated our clean and comfortable tent and bed. The camp is beautifully situated and there is a definite Out-of-Africa feel to it. The view from our tent was spectacular - the sea of tall grass, palm trees and a beautiful blue sky. From the outdoor dining area we would often spot zebras, warthogs and other interesting creatures. At night we would fall asleep to a wide array of intriguing wildlife sounds. Maramboi is run smoothly and efficiently. It has a small and beautiful outdoor pool (try to avoid my mistake and pack your swim suit), and offers free wireless Internet access (luxury not available at any other camp/lodge we used). I was also pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food offered. Our guide mentioned that there has been quite a few improvements made in the camp since his previous stay. There are other camps that may be more conveniently located (this one is located about 45 minutes from the Tarangire park and the last few miles are very bumpy), but despite this one disadvantage Maramboi remains my very favorite accommodation and Jombi of TanzaniaOutdoor.com our favorite safari organizer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

This was our second safari to Tanzania and Maramboi is one of the best places we have stayed. The views across Lake Manyara towards the escarpment of the rift valley are beautiful. The camp is run in an environmentally sensitive manner. All food (excellent) is grown organically and locally. The rooms built on wooden platforms with a metal and thatch roof have canvass and net walls that allow you to open up as much as you want. The bed was perfect, as was the shower. Zebra wilderbeast and reedbuck were common sights around camp. I would suggest booking in the dry season because that is when game viewing in Tarangire NP is best.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Address: Tarangire And Manyara Pans | Minjingu, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 26 standard rooms and 14 suites 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.40 rooms with en suite facilities.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maramboi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.