We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but not personal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maramboi Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Tarangire And Manyara Pans | Minjingu, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
La Spezia, Italy
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but not personal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Well laid out tented camp next to a dry (in Oct.) lake bed, with lots of "tents" on platforms. The facilities and accommodations were beautiful and fairly luxurious. The dining area well set up and the pool and lounge area nicely placed. Well-run but on the border of being industrially large.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    96
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
73
132
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel was the first hotel we stayed in on our safari through Africa Rose Travel. We were a bit apprehensive about staying in a tented camp, but we needn't have worried. The "tent" was huge with a large bed, huge bathroom and shower and larger room with a balcony which overlooked Lake Manyara.

The complex is in the middle of nowhere, so you were surrounded with wild life : zebra, wild boar, wildebeest, birds,etc. It also has a swimming pool (more a plunge pool)

The staff, food , everything has fantastic

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

- Tents are spacious but not very clean and not insect-proof (have seen better ones)
- Furnishing "has seen better times"
- Service ok but impersonal ("mass tourism")
- Some "unwanted virsitors" sharing in your breakfast buffet (sparrows, flies, bees)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our first time in a tented camp and it was a very positive experience, Our tent was comfortably large with a comfortable mosquito netted bed, nice bathroom, desk, adequate lighting, fan bottled water, and a deck with table and chairs (from which we could enjoy the zebras, wart hogs and wildebeast nearby). Everyone was wonderfully helpful and ready to see to any need. The pool area was lovely and provided another area from which to view the animals. Appetizers were served before dinner, bar drinks were available, and the buffet included soup, a variety of nicely cooked vegetables, salads, beef dishes, and a variety of desserts including fruits. Breakfast was equally generous with eggs prepared as you wanted, a variety of fruit, toast, muffins, crepes, etc. There was always someone available to walk with us from our tent to the dining/reception area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The camp is owned by a safari tour operator. They had just finished constructing (sewing together?) new permanent tents and they are amazing! So new, the varnish had barely dried. We had 2 adjacent, which looked directly out onto Lake Manyara. From our back private balcony, we could see Zebra, Giraffs, everything (OK, no Lions or Elephants). The rooms were beautiful with bed netting which hung from the ceiling 30' up. The bath rooms were amazing with very large showers. They were in the process of putting the finishing touches on all the walk ways, landscaping, etc. and we were told that all the older tents were going to be torn down and replaced. The main lodge was very nice with plenty of seating to gaze out over the lake. Food was good, buffet style, and served by flash light. Not too sure why, as there was 24 hour electricity. You can also sit inside if you like. There were very convenient wash rooms right before the main lodge so you could wash off the dust from your Safari and go directly to dinner, lunch, drinks, etc. You do need an escort after dusk to return to your room. Driving off the main road to the camp we came across many local tribes who were more than happy to take a small token like a pencil or chewing gum (be sure to take off the wrapper). The hotel Manager was very well mannered in dealing with tourists from all over the world. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a new tent- one with a view out onto the lake as some tents are in front of other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

When arriving at Maramboi Tented Camp, the manager started telling us the do's and don'ts immediately, without presenting himself first or saying hello... Strange way of welcoming your guests, but this is a detail. Through our safari agent we booked a 'family tent' for 2 adults and 2 kids, but, without any notice, we were given two separate tents with - moreover- one tent in between. When we asked how this problem could be solved, the response was that there was no solution and that this was a problem of our safari agent, not theirs.... There was not even one second of alacrity to look into a solution or to listen to us. In the evening the staff asked us by what time we wanted to have breakfast in the morning. We told them 8 o'clock. When we arrived at breakfast the next morning, there was no more bread and only three pieces of fruit. On top of that we were charged a dollar for some water to take in our malaria pills. Where in the world do you have to pay for a glass of water at breakfast?! If the staff knows that a family is having breakfast at 8, they should take into account that there should be sufficient food available. Having eaten almost nothing at breakfast, we hoped that the lunch box, which was given to us by them for our day of safari, would clear it all.... What a disappointment again: the lunch box contained a lasagna, which tasted not good, one piece of fruit (mini banana) and one small sandwich with only some butter. We were glad the other hotels on our safari offered us a nice lunch box with correct food and some extra's.
To conclude on a positive note: the lodge has a beautiful view down on the river and the experience of the 'tents' (on a wooden platform) gives a safari a nice adventurous touch, especially to the kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Each "room" is a standalone building with its own bathroom, shower, sink, beds and deck. The warthogs scuffled around underneath the wooden elevated flooring at night which was too cool. Wildebeest were wandering the grounds between the tented camp and the lake. A wooden floor, canvas sides all around and netted "windows." We were a party of 3 and each of us had a single bed with mosquito netting all the way around each bed. The food was good at both dinner and breakfast. We got box lunches which we could select the items for. We got there too late to enjoy the pool, but the view from the pool deck and the dining deck were terrific.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Address: Tarangire And Manyara Pans | Minjingu, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty lodging in Tarangire National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 26 standard rooms and 14 suites 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.40 rooms with en suite facilities.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maramboi Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maramboi Tented Camp to your Saves list