We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality camp, worth a stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mawe Ninga Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mawe Ninga Tented Camp
Save
You added Mawe Ninga Tented Camp to your Saves list
Tarangire National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Monceaux sur Dordogne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good quality camp, worth a stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having had a spectacular first day on safari, we possibly wouldn't have noticed any "faults" if there were any! Good camp layout, nice restaurant / bar area, space between tents & lovely individual verandahs. Friendly welcome, but, overall, not all staff perhaps as willing to please as in some of our other stops. None-the-less, we really enjoyed our stay and would go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Fantastic two night stay. Service was extremely good, if not somewhat chaotic. At a typical dinner, 3 or 4 individuals would be serving tables in a somewhat random, but enthusiastic way. Rooms were clean and comfortable, each offering a degree of privacy from the decks. For those traveling as a family, the lodge made sure that we had two "tents" located close to each other. With the required after-dark escort to the rooms, we and our teenagers felt extremely safe. The common spaces were well appointed and maintained. A natural blending of the in situ stone and masonry provided a wonderful natural feel, enhancing the outdoor experience. Cocktails while watching the sun set was a peaceful way to end the evening. The bar attendant was sure to bring out nuts or popcorn to enjoy with the drinks. The Masai fire pit host was a welcomed addition to the staff, being extremely willing to discuss his culture and background. With 27 brothers and sisters, he had much to share about Masai family life. The food was quite good, not overly fancy, but incredibly well prepared, such that our teenagers truly enjoyed it. The location was great for enjoying Tarangire Nat'l Park. We appreciated the common tip box for shared gratuities that guests can "fund" at stay's end. The staff seemed to accept this, and we did not feel like the baggage handlers, for example, were waiting around for tips. We were more generous with this approach because of its ease.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during our visit to the Tarangire and it was my first experience of a tented camp. I was pleasantly suprised as the tents were comfortable and had ensuite facilities. What most impressed me though was the location and views from our private terrace over the Tarangire Park across to Lake Manyara. The tents are built high up on platforms over the rocky outcrop so are cool and make the most of the fabulous landscape.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful with good sense of humour. Food was good, nothing exciting but you are in the middle of nowhere and I am amazed they manage as well as they do. I liked the fact that you could pick your own items for the picnic lunch rather than have one made up for you.

Every evening they light a camp fire on the top of the rock by the bar and guests gather for drinks before dinner to watch the sunset, which was spectacular.

I loved the Tarangire Park as it was packed full of wildlife while we were there and we saw so many elephants! Only downside was the Tsetse flies which bugged us during our game drives.
Coming back to the camp each night was a pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Up close and personal with Tsetse flies enroute. We loved the Tarangire Park and the Mawe Ninga Camp was placed well. No vehicles by the French tent owners, which we found interesting. The bartender/waiter was an interesting character. When we arrived in the late afternoon, he said "good morning" and that's the way it remained for 3 nights. In the morning, he said, "good evening". When I asked what the soup was, he said "elephant." That when on and on, which I kind of enjoyed. The tents were quite adequate. Best showers of the 6 or so we stayed in during our stays in Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania. We had 3 beds, which was a little limiting on space. Nice people, all.

Room Tip: They are all the same, I would say. Might want one not directly facing the western sun, if there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The tents at this camp are comfortable, but not elegant. Our tent had plenty of room, a deck with a lovely view, a good shower, sink (but no running water), and a toilet. I was joined on my deck by a curious hyrax, the funny little animals that are everywhere on this property. The common areas of this camp are inviting. The sunsets overlooking a lake are spectacular, and once the sun goes down the fire pit serves as “bush TV,” as the manager explains to every new guest. Our shower did not have hot water on our first day here, but we notified management and it was fixed by the time we returned from our game drive. We enjoyed our two nights here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent two nights here in late July 2012 and liked it a lot. While it wasn't as luxurious as the other places we stayed in (e.g. Alex Walker's Serian North in the Mara which was truly five star), it was perfectly fine. The bed was comfortable, the showers and toilet were good, and the food was edible. We didn't have any trouble with tsetse flies or mosquitoes, though we did put on repellent as a precaution.

The service was good - no complaints at all. The waitstaff was attentive and friendly. I would stay here again - it's very good value for money in Tarangire. (we paid ~$500 per night during peak season in July)

Room Tip: There are two rows of rooms, all facing the lake. The outer ones (closer to the lake) seem to have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are beautiful, each with balconies with lovely views. The dining and drinks area is very atmospheric and sitting sipping drinks as the sun sets over the lake and valley was a romantic and relaxing experience. The rock hyraxes are cute and add atmosphere and we were not bothered by Tsetse flies, despite them being a problem elsewhere in the park. The camp has been very thoughtfully designed but it is not run as it should be and could be so much better.
We had no water in our shower either day we stayed, the food was very bland and uninspiring and, as a vegetarian, I was served the same pretty poor meal on both nights. Guests pack their own lunches from a prepared selection in the morning, which is fine, but people had taken all the vegetarian options and there was nothing left I could eat except bananas. When I asked whether they could make another veg sandwich, I was told no. It took our driver going into the kitchen and asking them himself for me to get lunch. The service was not good and, in fact, the waiters were rude and inappropriate on more than one occasion, often making jokes at guests' expenses, leaving us waiting for 15 minutes to order a drink, after we'd got their attention, while just chatting. When we wanted to settle our bar bill in local currency, their first reaction was no and we had to have a long negotiation before they would agree to it. We stayed at Olduvai which is owned by the same company and had a much better experience- maybe it is time for Management to pay a visit? It was really hard to rate this camp because it is so beautiful but it doesn't compare on the service and you should be entitled to expect more, especially for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mawe Ninga Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawe Ninga Tented Camp

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Also Known As:
Mawe Ninga Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mawe Ninga Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.