We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasently Suprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3030 High Point Road, Greensboro, NC 27403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Greensboro
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasently Suprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I have not stayed at this location sense it was a Howard Johnson's back in the 70s. I was pleasantly surprised to find bright lobby, nice clean rooms and very friendly people. Bed and pillows much nicer than a Hampton. Inn. It has a clean restaurant attached for casual meals. l would rate Double Tree a great value for your money. Will be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your comments. This is definenetly not the Howard Johnson of old. It is a fresh, vibrant DoubleTree and we appreciate you noticing the hardwork put in to turn this into a great property. J Butlers restaurant is attached to the property and provides a great place for causal dinner with friends. We look forward to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    122
    65
    33
    28
See reviews for
103
57
36
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Arrived on spec (8/17/2011), the receptionist was VERY helpful despite not having a king bed room she was able to give us a well apointed 2 queen bed on the 5th floor, the view is not great but your not going to get a sea view in Greensboro. No wireless but as long as you have acess who cares. Room very clean, loads of towels, ice machine down the hall, well decorated, plenty of free parking, and of course "the cookie" (or as we would say back home the biscuite). Here for two days so I migh update ...but first impressions count and this hotel is GOOD.
Mad Frank. Southampton, England

Room Tip: Be nice to the receptionist
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
We appreciate your kind comments about the DoubleTree Greensboro. Our front desk staff works very hard to accommodate each guest. Unfortunately we have an Ocean view but we are working on it. Our housekeeping does a great job in keeping the rooms very clean and they will really appreciate these comments. And don’t forget the freshly baked “cookie” which is the staple of DoubleTree hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I've never stayed at a Doubletree before so I can't compare this to others of it's kind. We stayed here one night for a concert in downtown Greensboro. It was just a short drive (5-10mins) from downtown and there is plenty of free parking downtown, so it's a great location for that. It is also very near to the coliseum. The hotel was very clean and well-kept. They gave my husband and I both a warm cookie on check-in and the ladies at the front desk were very friendly and welcoming. The room was about the cleanest I've ever stayed in. Not even the strange hotel smell that is in even the cleanest hotel rooms. The beds and bedding were very comfortable and the bathroom and shower were very nice and worked perfectly. The in-room hairdryer was great, and the in-room Wolfgang Puck coffee was very good. Normally the in-room machines make terrible coffee, but this was quite good. The breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent. I didn't expect it to be so large. It had everything anyone could want for a full meal. The entire hotel seemed very new. The only somewhat negative things were the price was a little high, but I think the value was fair. The hallways were hot, but I didn't spend much time in them so that's not a big deal. The area between the hotel and downtown was a little seedy, but understandably so.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for your great comments about our property. This hotel is in great condition due to the hard work of our housekeepers. We also have a great location right off I-40 very close to downtown Greensboro and the Greensboro Coliseum. The cookie is another aspect that sets us apart. It’s not just the warm delicious flavor of the cookie but rather a symbol of promise to you to provide great service each and every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just got here so might update this review later with more info.

FIrst of all.. No DT Cookie at reception. They were out. They will have some later, but dont really feel like going down to the lobby from the 12th floor to get one :s

Next up... Internet access. NO WIRELSS, but they did leave me this 4 foot cord which is JUST to short to reach the bed. Internet is free for everyone apparently (i get it free anyway) but at 500kbs its pretty unusable. Might have to get my aircard out.

Rooms is pretty standard, nothing fancy - A/C is a little loud though so will have to turn that off.

I can see a Hooters, a Chilies and a Lone Star from my room window so plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
The cookie is a huge part of the DoubleTree Brand. Due to this they are very popular among guests so we have to keep the oven on at al times to keep fresh cookies stocked at the front desk. I am sorry we didn’t have them available when you came by the desk. We strive to provide exceptional customer service to each guests. Our property is located very conveniently at the intersection of High Point Rd. and I-40. These means there are a plethora of restaurants, shopping and entertainment in the area. Thank you for your response and please stop by our property on your next visit to Greensboro and we will fix you up with our famous cookies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at hotel about two weeks ago for 1 night. Staff was very friendly. Hotel in very good condition.

My wife, daughter and grandson are staying at hotel again today. They checked in last night and will spend the day there before traveling this afternoon. Are they receiving " 5 star" service?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for your response. We pride ourselves on clean rooms and great service. Your comments are a testament to our staff’s hard work to insure each guest receives the same great treatment. We strive to provide exceptional service to each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We recently had my daughters wedding reception here. Pam did an amazing job! It was great! The staff, Pam, Lisa, Omar and others made it memorable. They were great to work with and very friendly. If you are looking for a wedding receiption site, I would highly recommend this place. They went above and beyond my expectations as I had to plan this from out of state without seeing the site or meeting any of the staff. We also thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food was very good too. I was very impressed with everything. (I wish I had another wedding coming up)

Room Tip: our bed was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for your response to our property. We are privileged to be able to share a special day with friends and family. Pam and the entire staff wish you had another wedding in Greensboro as it was very enjoyable to have your group at the DoubleTree Greensboro. Our banquet rooms are perfect for wedding receptions, as well as, many other events. Our staff takes pride in accommodating all travelers and groups to the Greensboro area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Double Tree in Greensboro NC. The customer service that this hotel gives is excellent. I even had a good experience with the housekeeping staff. The hotel is in excellent condition and is always clean. I always arrive early for my stay and they always accomodate me. I have never been turned away. There is a front desk agent named Keisha that works 2nd shift that is great with the guest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadBaker, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for your response. Customers like you make our job in customer service very enjoyable. The housekeeping works very hard to keep the property in the best shape possible. The front desk prides itself on being helpful and accomodating as shown by Keisha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro

Address: 3030 High Point Road, Greensboro, NC 27403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a rewarding experience nestled in the heart of Greensboro at The DoubleTree by Hilton. Centrally located just 15 minutes from Piedmont Triad International Airport, just off interstates 40 and 73. From reservation to check out, a warm and inviting staff will create a simple and pleasurable stay beginning with a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in and the luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams bed. Here at The DoubleTree by Hilton, we know it’s the little things that matter most and we are dedicated to anticipating your needs to make your stay the best it can be. Come stay with us, there is a warm cookie and a sweet dream with your name on it ready and waiting for you!Accommodations Include: 175 Guest RoomsSweet Dreams by DoubleTree sleep experienceFree WiFi throughout the hotelCable T.V. with premium channelsAlarm clock radio MP3 connectivityUSA Today availableTwo telephones, voicemail and data portIn room coffee/tea providedAt your service:Same day laundrySelf parking24 hour Business Center24 hour Fitness by PrecorIndoor PoolSundry Shop with ATMSurrounding Attractions:Greensboro Coliseum ComplexGreensboro Aquatic CenterACC Hall of FameFour Seasons Towne CenterThe Koury Convention CenterNC A&T UniversityUNCGGreensboro CollegeGuilford CollegeGuilford Technical Community CollegeHistoric Downtown GreensboroThe International Civil Rights Center & MuseumWet- n-Wild Emerald Point Water ParkThe Shops at Friendly CenterFriendly Shopping Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Greensboro Hotel Greensboro
Doubletree Greensboro
Greensboro Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Greensboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.