We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DI Valletta Restaurant

DI Valletta Restaurant
1000 Club Rd, Greensboro, NC 27407-8286
336-834-0159
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
DI Valletta Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #159 of 775 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Date Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great dinner, nice atmosphere, very romantic date night. Entrees ordered: NY Strip and Chilean Sea Bass - both perfectly prepared and fabulous presentations. Dessert ordered: Roasted Pears with ladyfingers and coconut macaroons finished with amaretto and whipped cream. The amaretto was so over-powering that it was difficult to enjoy the dessert. This dessert is not recommended unless the pastry chef makes an alteration. (The server asked our opinion about the amaretto and admitted that he and the other servers had made the same observation the night before after tasting the dessert.) Prices are in line with other restaurants of this quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, North Carolina
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Eat here every Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Love this buffet for special occasions. Lovey views from the restaurant. Not so much if you are in the bar area.
The food is always good and and the desserts are great.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Christmas buffet- poor!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had looked forward to their buffet/brunch after reading about it as we are new to the area. We could not get a reservation for Thanksgiving in October but I was able to make one for Christmas. We thought this must be great as it was booked so far ahead.
When I called, I was told it had the normal brunch items but the lunch buffet. Wrong- brunch items are eliminated with the exception of omelets (no breakfast items at all to go with them).
The selection was POOR! If you have a seafood allergy or don't like seafood, there are very few items to chose from.
The hot buffet consisted of mashed potatoes, a chicken dish, a beef dish, salon, and roasted vegetables. There was a carving station offering very rare prime rib and lamb. There were a few salads but except for one salad, all had seafood. There is shrimp with cocktail sauce as well as some platters of fruit.
Unless other buffets at hotels, there was no soup, salad bar or salads with toppings, pasta, stir fries- nothing. No selection of any breads- just some rolls. The mashed potatoes were tasteless. The desserts looked nice but with the one delicious lemon cake,
The price was $32.95 and this is what most hotels charge but with ten times the selections. If you have a child with you, there is no child section either.
This was a huge disappointment for us as we had pictures a special buffet. The hotel is lovely but I would not go there for a meal again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitty Hawk, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“50th anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

11 of us, all around great, food, wine, manager and waiter. all of our diner meals were great, brunch was exceptionmal. Grumpy40

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food selection is limited and then when you do order something you may not want, it has no flavor

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DI Valletta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to DI Valletta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DI Valletta Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.