We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Bill's Seafood & Steak

Captain Bill's Seafood & Steak
6108 W Market St, Greensboro, NC 27409
(336) 852-5162
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 775 Restaurants in Greensboro
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
High Point, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I frequent Captain Bill's Seafood and never leave disappointed. Firstly, the service here is second to none. Only after a few visits, the folks recognize us now. They are super super friendly. As for the food, the portions are huge and tasty. We take our kids there and there's something on the menu to satisfy all. Hushpuppies are probably some of the best I've ever had. The fried popcorn shrimp is my favorite... cooked very well, and not greasy. I always leave stuffed and satisfied and so does the rest of my family. When we want seafood, this is where we always go. Again.. the service and the people there are unbelievably friendly. The parking lot always fills up quick.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Glad I stopped in! Hushpuppies alone were worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just went here a couple of days ago and loved it! We really liked the feel of the restaurant, locally owned, and very "north carolinian." The prices were good, especially if you come for lunch and order a sandwich or something (those run around 4-7$).

The service was great and fast and the food was delicious. This will be a place we will return and possibly frequent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good service but less than good fried seafood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Captain Bill's has excellent service and big servings for the price, but their fried seafood has too thick a coat of blah, mushy breading. The cole slaw was mediocre, and some of the green beans were black--? overcooked vs. going bad. I would not recommend the restaurant; there are much better, albeit more expensive, seafood restaurants in Greensboro and the Triad area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Solid Fried Seafood, If A Tad Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This place has been around forever, it seems (30 years actually), and has built up a loyal base of customers. Obviously, it is primarirly a seafood joint, but also serves a small number of steak dishes, salads, sandwiches & subs, and Chef's Specialty Platters that include: Shrimp Creole, Beef Tips, Greek Chicken, & Souvlaki. There are Pasta Plates (Spaghetti, Lasagna, etc) and there are a number of Children's Plates - something for everyone.

Some of these items are nice, but the seafood is the thing to get here (Remember Restaurant rule #1 - It is usually best not to order a steak at a seafood place) They are known for their Popcorn Shrimp, and rightly so - it is consistently very good. The Flounder here is also excellent. The traditional sides for seafood of slaw, FF, and Hush Puppies are nice, as well.

They are a little pricey here on the standard menu items - 3 item combo plates range from $17.95 to $19.95, and their Seafood Platter is also $19.95. Their single item platters begin at $9.75, rising to $14,95 . They also do something I've never encountered before - they charge 15 cents for To Go Boxes.

They do have daily specials with some better pricing, but all in all, this is not the cheapest place to eat fried seafood in the area (better in Kernersville, Burlington, Eden, and Walkertown), especially when taking into account portion size, but it is probably the best place for fried seafood in Greensboro.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

I used to eat here a lot until i moved from the area. Food was good, service was great and you cannot beat the prices. This is the best seafood joint in Greensboro, no competition. I had a large group here as well, and we were all eating with 20 minutes.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Bill's Seafood & Steak also viewed

 

Been to Captain Bill's Seafood & Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Bill's Seafood & Steak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.