We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fincastle Restaurant

Fincastle Restaurant
215 S Elm St, Greensboro, NC 27401
(336) 272-8968
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 770 restaurants in Greensboro
Restaurant details
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“eh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

yeah, not a fan. skinny burger, weird menu, local taste. They "fry" the burger in butter, which is strange to me. Really flavorless.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joseph m, Manager at Fincastle Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We regret that you found our burgers flavorless. On another note, we do not cook our burgers in butter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    19
    15
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Downtown Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stopped in at Fincastle Restaurant for an early dinner (4:15pm) mid week while making college visits in the area. The restaurant is located in downtown Greensboro, NC. We easily found a parking spot street side a few doors down from the restaurant. Lots of cute eclectic shops and eateries are nearby. Upon entering the establishment we were greeted by the owners mother and a jovial staff. The restaurant is reminiscent of an old fashioned diner. It is a long, skinny property with tables on the left side and the right side is counter service with an open kitchen/grill. When the waiter approached our table he asked if it was our first visit, we said yes and he said "well, that means you need a song to start off." He broke out into "My Girl." Before long, our entire table was singing along with him. After that, we ordered our food.

Immediately we began our meal with an appetizer of fried crawfish tails with a delicious homemade sauce. We quickly devoured the basket. My son ordered the Joel Burger with classic fries (2 patties, pimento cheese, grilled onions, fincastle sauce, lettuce, & tomato on grilled sourdough) and ate every morsel of it. My daughter ordered a plain Cheese Burger with classic fries and declared it one of her favorite burgers ever. Both burgers were cooked to order and were juicy. I chose to order the fried oyster po-boy. Growing up in the deep south, I thought this might be a risky choice but oysters sounded so good to this landlocked midwesterners. The po-boy arrived open and overflowing with tiny succulent hand-breaded oysters. The soft, flavorful bread, shredded lettuce, sauce and oysters were just perfect. I can honestly say, this is the best oyster po-boy I have ever had. Sorry New Orleans, I will be going back to Fincastles to fill my future cravings.
The restaurant also has an ice-cream counter. There was no way that we could leave without trying at least something from the counter. Since we were all full from our dinner, e decided that a vanilla shake for the road was something that we could all at least just get a sample of and share. After tasting the shake, we all felt remorse that we hadn't ordered our own personal shake for the road. Overall an absolutely wonderful meal, phenomenal service and a fabulous atmosphere. Highly recommend stopping in for a meal. You will be glad that you did.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joseph m, Manager at Fincastle Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We really do appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food - Amazing! Service - Not so much!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food was worth the wait, but the service was slow and I spied the server handling my food the the food of others with her hands. She literally evened out the fries between plates using her bare hands.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joseph m, Manager at Fincastle Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. We will work on improving our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hasn't lost its charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time here since 2006, and it was every bit as good as before. My family had never been and they were very impressed. Their kitchen isn't very big, so be patient as you wait for your food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joseph m, Owner at Fincastle Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great hamburger joint downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

this is like a diner and plays the music to boot. They have outstanding hamburgers and fried pickels to die for! Very casual but very good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fincastle Restaurant also viewed

 
Greensboro, NC
Greensboro, NC
 

Been to Fincastle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fincastle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.