We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darryl's Wood Fired Grill

Darryl's Wood Fired Grill
3300 High Point Rd, Greensboro, NC 27407-4620
336-294-1781
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 723 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Veasley St
Transit: Use the Greensboro Transit Authority Bus System. Mon- Sat. use Route 11 stop 3 at the High Point Rd. and Pinecroft intersection, and Sun. take Route 25 stop 3 at the same intersection. More information regarding the Greensboro Transit Authority is available via http://www.greensboro-nc.gov/departments/GDOT/divisions/gta/routes/
Description: Since 1971 we’ve been known for our 100% wood fire grilled steaks, ribs, and Southern classics. We expanded in 2010 with a $2 million renovation that included two outdoor fire pits, an outdoor bar, large patio, themed seating areas, new large bar, business bar, and state of the art kitchen. Although steaks and ribs are our specialty, we offer a large and diverse, made from scratch menu. With a World Class Bar program consisting of 24 craft beers on draft, 24 wines by the glass, and a 10-page menu– we’re sure you’ll find something to please your taste buds. Our two-story restaurant has plenty of room for all your friends and we’re eager to accommodate groups of all sizes up to 130 people. You can even reserve the fire pit areas and theatre room for private events! Enjoy your meal in a glamorous theatre room, floating ferris wheel seat, elevator booth, jailhouse or snuggle up with S’mores for dessert by one of our outdoor fire pits. Located across from the Koury Convention Center and close by the Greensboro Coliseum.
South Paris
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Darryl's is one of our favorite destinations in Greensboro. As soon as you step onto the patio fitted with open wood fires andthen are enticed by the wafting aroma of steak on the grill , you can tell that these people know how to please their customers. Doors are open wide by friendly staff. The quirky decor makes great conversation starters AND THEIR ARE CHOICES ON THE MENU FOR EVERYONE FROM VEGETARIANs , to gluten-free dieters to hearty meat-eaters. Our favorites include: steak cooked perfectly to order, lightly grilled salmon,French onion soup and of course, the cheesecake.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
What a grand review! Thank you so much, we're so glad to have customers like you! We hope you've been able to make it back since!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    100
    36
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Apple Bee's Quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Not top notch, too many menu items to get one thing right. The decor is pretty gimmicky, but I suppose some people prefer that.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. I hope you've been able to make it back since to reconsider your view on Darryl's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our booth was in an elevator on the 2nd floor, WOW. Teens loved it. Food was delicious and plentiful. Little pricey but worth it. I give this a big thumbs up.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Glad you had such a wonderful experience! Our elevator booth is one of many specialty seats that we have! Hope you've been able to visit again since!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Everyone in my party was happy with their food. After a long wait (45 minutes) the service was great and not rushed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit after the long wait! Hope you've visited us again since!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Food & cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The food is great and it takes me back to the original ones in Raleigh when I was younger. Ribs are great and the rumrunner chicken also. They have hummingbird on draft and lots more. The staff is friendly and helpful. Sometimes it is a little warm if you are seated upstairs.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Glad you were able to bring back some memories! Hope you've been able to visit again since!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darryl's Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Darryl's Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.