We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darryl's Wood Fired Grill

Darryl's Wood Fired Grill
3300 High Point Rd, Greensboro, NC 27407-4620
336-294-1781
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 775 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Veasley St
Transit: Use the Greensboro Transit Authority Bus System. Mon- Sat. use Route 11 stop 3 at the High Point Rd. and Pinecroft intersection, and Sun. take Route 25 stop 3 at the same intersection. More information regarding the Greensboro Transit Authority is available via http://www.greensboro-nc.gov/departments/GDOT/divisions/gta/routes/
Description: Since 1971 we’ve been known for our 100% wood fire grilled steaks, ribs, and Southern classics. We expanded in 2010 with a $2 million renovation that included two outdoor fire pits, an outdoor bar, large patio, themed seating areas, new large bar, business bar, and state of the art kitchen. Although steaks and ribs are our specialty, we offer a large and diverse, made from scratch menu. With a World Class Bar program consisting of 24 craft beers on draft, 24 wines by the glass, and a 10-page menu– we’re sure you’ll find something to please your taste buds. Our two-story restaurant has plenty of room for all your friends and we’re eager to accommodate groups of all sizes up to 130 people. You can even reserve the fire pit areas and theatre room for private events! Enjoy your meal in a glamorous theatre room, floating ferris wheel seat, elevator booth, jailhouse or snuggle up with S’mores for dessert by one of our outdoor fire pits. Located across from the Koury Convention Center and close by the Greensboro Coliseum.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on here we decided to go to darryls instead of smokey bones.

Our server Jesse was great! The design of the restaurant was so cool and different we sat near the charles mansion wall. We started with the sampler app. Once it was brought out the waiter stated that the manager didn't approve of two pieces of the potato skins because they were cut too thick and brought us fresh ones when they were done. Honestly I wouldn't have even noticed they were missing but the fact the manager took notice of what was leaving the kitchen automatically got two thumbs up! the cajun shrimp was awesome! (Highly recommended) and for my meal I had the ribs with beans and fries. They were not dry and the sauce was really good. I would def go back if I didn't live in new jersey!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
You must come visit us again from Jersey! It's important that our Managers keep an eye on everything, because it helps us to ensure that you have a great time every time. Thank you for the kudos for Jesse. I will pass them along. Hopefully we will see you next time you pass through! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    94
    33
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good, but not as impressed as other reviews.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Sampler platter was excellent. Steak was good but sauteed mushrooms were bland. Jack Chicken was less than average and the pecans on top seems like an after thought. Beignets were good. Service was friendly, but had a lot of tables and was spread thin, salads came after dinner was served. Atmoshphere was very good and comfortable. Overall, I would expect more for the prices charged.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Sounds like you definitely didn't have a normal experience with us when you visited. We take the feedback to heart, and I appreciate you taking the time to provide it. Did you happen to speak to a Manager about your experience when you were there? If there is anything else you can think of, please don't hesitate to email me at Jennifer@darryls.com. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Not as good as advertised on Trip Advisor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Went with business associates. Prices were not cheap for ribs. 1/2 Chicken with 2 sides $12.99. Baked potato ok, beans too meaty and coleslaw fair. No corn muffin or bread served. Grilled bourbon chicken with pecans was ok. Service ok. We would give Darryl's another shot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. For the high quality of our ribs, we feel our ribs are comparable in price to our competitors. I would love to hear more from you in regards to why you felt everything was just "ok". We take our feedback seriously and do everything in our power to address each concern. Talk with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I used to love going to Darryl's when they were in other cities and really enjoyed being able to go back on a trip to Greensboro. It was just as neat as I remember and the food was awesome! Great place to take kids.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I love to hear when our guests have memories of us. We are now the last remaining Darryl's, and we're proud of what we have been able to preserve of the original while adding a touch of modern and amazing food. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Three of us were in town for a trade show. It was forecast to start snowing around 7PM and Darryl's was a block from our hotel. The atmosphere is terrific and our waitress was excellent.

If you are a fan of craft beers don't miss this place. This list is amazing and we were delighted to find we could do beer flights at a very reasonable price. The servings portions in the flights are perfect to taste and then we settled onto a specific ones for the rest of the evening.

We had an appetizer, side salads and fish and chips. The food was great and came quickly.

Even though the snow had started the staff never made us feel like we needed to leave or hurried us in any way. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for coming in on a snowy night to dine with us. Did you find any beers that we did not have that you were wanting? I hope you will be back in town again soon and can visit us again. Next time, try any combination of our wines in a Wine Flight. Thank you again for the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darryl's Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Darryl's Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.