We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darryl's Wood Fired Grill

Darryl's Wood Fired Grill
3300 High Point Rd, Greensboro, NC 27407-4620
336-294-1781
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 775 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Veasley St
Transit: Use the Greensboro Transit Authority Bus System. Mon- Sat. use Route 11 stop 3 at the High Point Rd. and Pinecroft intersection, and Sun. take Route 25 stop 3 at the same intersection. More information regarding the Greensboro Transit Authority is available via http://www.greensboro-nc.gov/departments/GDOT/divisions/gta/routes/
Description: Since 1971 we’ve been known for our 100% wood fire grilled steaks, ribs, and Southern classics. We expanded in 2010 with a $2 million renovation that included two outdoor fire pits, an outdoor bar, large patio, themed seating areas, new large bar, business bar, and state of the art kitchen. Although steaks and ribs are our specialty, we offer a large and diverse, made from scratch menu. With a World Class Bar program consisting of 24 craft beers on draft, 24 wines by the glass, and a 10-page menu– we’re sure you’ll find something to please your taste buds. Our two-story restaurant has plenty of room for all your friends and we’re eager to accommodate groups of all sizes up to 130 people. You can even reserve the fire pit areas and theatre room for private events! Enjoy your meal in a glamorous theatre room, floating ferris wheel seat, elevator booth, jailhouse or snuggle up with S’mores for dessert by one of our outdoor fire pits. Located across from the Koury Convention Center and close by the Greensboro Coliseum.
Kingsport,TN
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Pretty neat place to eat. Food was good and service was great. Would highly recommend!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We think you're pretty neat also! Have you been back through to visit us since this review? We certainly want to make sure we're still meeting your standards! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    94
    33
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A Fresh, Re-Newed Daryl's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

I grew up going to Daryl's in Charlotte. Visited the Greensboro restaurant a few years ago and it was a step back into time. But, it was time for the restaurant to be refreshed.

Took a Party of 7 to Daryl's on a Tuesday night. Everyone was pleased with their food (steaks, salmon, chicken), great beer selection and HUGE dessert portions.

The remodel brightened up the place, while still keeping the original theme (Ferris Wheel booth, Church Pew, Jail, etc. Outside, two fire pits and a long bar provide a great place to unwind.

Glad to see this restaurant still going strong.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you! We're glad to see long-time supporters still coming in to see us! We do find that our restaurant is great for both intimate and large parties, and we are very pleased your group had the same love for us as you do. Did you enjoy a favorite beer while you were here, or maybe even one of our beer flights?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great, with a Few Exceptions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

This was our first visit since the reopening. I got the onion soup, which I thought was very ordinary. The pork ribs and smashed potato were as good as they ever were. I felt like the baked beans had something new added which I did not like. My husband got the potato soup and raved about it. We also got beignets for dessert. Having lived in New Orleans some 60 years, I can say they were very good, but not authentic. They were covered in powdered sugar (which made them less crispy), instead of sprinkled with the sugar. None the less they were a fine ending to a very good meal.
My only real problem with Darryl's is not uncommon to many restaurantts:
It took about 20 minutes to get the soup, then all the rest of the meal came out in the next few minutes. Everything was all over the table, and all getting cold. I looked over at the table across from us and the same thing had happened. Why does this happen? I think they want to get rid of you so they can turn over the table, plus there is no coordination in the kitchen or the wait staff. I find this very annoying, but I have to say we will go back because the food is still great.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for the honesty in this review! We'd be interested to know if you have been back since this visit. Our recipes are constantly evolving, so when a diner has feedback like this, we certainly take it to heart and look at what we can do to make this a better experience. You're right though, timing is everything in a restaurant, but we are certainly not trying to turn a table. We love our diners, and we want them to feel at home with us. Once again, thank you for the feedback, and if you have been back since this review, please let us know what you thought. Feel free to email us at jennifer@darryls.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience w/great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Be prepared for an exceptional treat - the decor inside is eccentric with all kinds of interesting pieces arranged for dining with table/chairs, such as eating inside a cage elevator, or a ferris wheel chair. Plus the service is top notch, timely food preparation. I ordered a ribeye steak that probably the best tasting and juicy that I have encountered. The rosin baked potato was also just right texture. The accompanying house garden salad was also crisp and delicious (included in price). I would eat here every week if I lived in Greensboro!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Awwww...:( we feel sad that you don't live here in Greensboro with us! We'd love to have you every week! Have you found time to come back to see us??? We have another Certified Angus Beef Ribeye perfectly prepared over our wood fired grill just calling your name! Don't you want to stop in soon??? ;) We're glad our Culinary team showed you how wonderful Darryl's is. See you next time you travel through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocksville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our visit was EXCELLENT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

My husband and I visited this restaurant at a very busy time when the US Olympic Figure Skating was going on. In fact, we went there after our skating extravaganza at ther Coliseum which was about 6:20 pm. We both ordered steaks and they were superb. We had a very good meal and it was worth the price if you enjoy eating out on occasion. I will return any time the opportunity arises.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Excellent is what we love to hear! So glad you enjoyed the steaks! Did you know every one of our beef items are Certified Angus Beef? Have you been able to return since this review? We hope you have and that each experience after this was just as EXCELLENT! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darryl's Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Darryl's Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.