We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife's favorite restaurant in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1618 West Seafood Grill

1618 West Seafood Grill
1618 W Friendly Ave, Greensboro, NC 27403-1209
336-235-0898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 723 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My wife's favorite restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The menu here has numerous choices, but all are very good. My wife goes here frequently with friends for birthday's etc. My favorite thing about the menu is their flexibility. Frequently, my wife has ordered one entrée prepared in the style intended for another entrée on the menu, including sides.

The food has always been good and we would recommend. It is expensive, but the portions are good for fine food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    36
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, MA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food with fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The staff at the 1618 businesses are top notch. I drank/ate at both restaurants and attended a catered event. The attention and professionalism of the entire staff was impressive. Excellent food in a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restauarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Absolutely love 1618! We live in Greensboro and this is always our first choice for dining out. Had brunch there this morning and it was fantastic! Their fish dishes are the best I have ever had. Great wine list, friendly staff, amazing food...what more could you want?

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“The top of our list again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My spouse and I used to eat here years ago but for some reason we have been eating at other local restaurants. We just sort of forgot about it. Well, we are glad we decided to return! We had a reservation and were seated promptly. Water was delivered immediately plus an inquiry was made if we wanted drinks. We decided to really look at the menu before making our drink order. After sufficient time, our waiter returned and answered my questions. We started with the Albarino from Spain. It is my favorite wine and offered by the glass.............wonderful! For starters, we had the scallop appetizer with mushroom and duck confit. The scallops were cooked perfectly with a nice sear to the outside. I had the Chilean sea bass and my spouse had the grouper. Both were wonderful. The fish is fresh and perfectly cooked. We finished with the key lime pie and coffee. The creative dishes plus the presentation are upscale without being pretentious.
It can get a little loud at times here, but it all depends on the people dining there. We usually don't pay much attention to what is going on around us and enjoy the moment. Service was good..........attentive, without being overbearing and professional. I think we have found our way back and plan on returning often now.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“When within 300 miles of Greensboro, make time for a meal here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The people of the south are friendly and aim to please. My wife and I eat at restaurants at least 300 times per year, both domestically and abroad. The service and food at "1618 Seafood" in Greensboro, NC is in our top 5 percentile. Putting ingenuity and execution together regarding restaurant prepared seafood is a pretty scary concept, but 1618 pulled it off without a glitch. The dishes were tasty, beautiful, innovative, and the staff friendly. It is hard to make Halibut exciting, but they did. The staff were attentive but not hovering. It was a busy Saturday night during Christmas shopping season and the place was packed, yet the food came out quickly, but not making us feel rushed. The wine list broadly included several moderately priced reds and whites from all producing regions or continents. We would fly from Altanta just to eat here. Don't forget to try the eggnog creme brulee!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1618 West Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Been to 1618 West Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1618 West Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.