We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not the best Vietnamese food in Greensboro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Hien Voung

Pho Hien Voung
4109 Spring Garden St Ste A, Greensboro, NC 27407
(336) 294-5551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 770 restaurants in Greensboro
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Greensboro NC
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Good, but not the best Vietnamese food in Greensboro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have been here several times and like this restaurant. They do a nice job with most things, and the facility was renovated a while back so it is more attractive than it used to be. However, it does not have the best Vietnamese food in Greensboro, or even the best pho, for that matter. That designation is reserved for Vietnamese Garden, a well-run chef-owned restaurant on Battleground Avenue, where the pho is better, the spring rolls (dreamy) are better and the flavor and quality of the ingredients (e.g., lemongrass chicken) are clearly better. Prices are similar, especially for lunch specials; for dinner, VG can be slightly more expensive on some items since it has a wider range of offerings, but it is worth it. If you like this place, try VG.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    47
    24
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pho Hien Voung taught me to eat Pho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My first experience with Pho was at Pho Hien Voung. Since then I have become addicted and search for fun Pho Restaurants where ever I travel. The Pho here is what I now judge all other Pho's by... some better and some cannot compete. The restaurant has surged in popularity and there can now be a wait time to be seated. I might suggest that they are a bit understaffed both in table wait staff and in the kitchen as I waited about 10 minutes after being seated before anyone took my drink order. I am not complaining (maybe a little) but it is worth the wait. Delicious food with a delightful staff make this restaurant worth any wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“pretty authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Arrived on a Sunday, at around 1pm. The place was pretty packed. We are used to eating pho, so wanted to try it there. It wasn't clear from the menu that you could order different sizes, but learned that you could make it larger or smaller, by adding or subtracting $1. We also orderd fried spring rolls. At $1.50 each roll, it seemed kind of expensive. Also it didn't come with any lettuce. We had to ask for lettuce, and there was an unknown charge on our final bill, probably for the lettuce...

As for the pho, it was alright, but not best. For middle of NC, I didn't expect much, and it wasn't bad. The beef slices were thicker and tougher than normal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First time eating Vietnamese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I went here with my brother-in-law and his wife, who is Korean (we are white). I had never eaten Vietnamese food before, but I'm definitely willing to try anything, so we went because she really likes it. It looks a little sketch on the outside but inside it is actually pretty nice. The service was good and there were not many people there (it was Friday around 3pm) so we were seated quickly.

I ordered vermicelli with pork, shrimp and a spring roll. We also had fresh rolls as an appetizer with an AMAZING peanut sauce. My food was really good. There was a pepper sauce that I poured over the pasta and the pork was well seasoned. My brother-in-law had curry and seemed to like it and his wife had the beef pho and she loved it. She even said she wanted to come back here every time she visits Greensboro. To me the shrimp was not amazing but the rest of the meal was really good. I especially liked the sauces.

This restaurant also serves Thai food so you have a choice when you go there. Overall, very nice experience and I will likely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Pho, Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

TripAdvisor did it again. Tying to figure out what to do for dinner on my first night in town, I stumbled onto this little place. I got there a little early and was seated immediately. It took about ten minutes for someone to come take my order, but after that everything was very prompt. My fried spring rolls came out within minutes (and we're delicious) and the Pho followed not one after.

Overall, evening was great. It was very reasonably priced, though you don't get refills on your drinks. The food was excellent and, despite the bad start, the service was great. Overall, I was very happy with my visit.

(Side note: the music in the restaurant just about drive me crazy. I got sat directly under a speaker and contemplated stuffing napkins in my ears.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Hien Voung also viewed

 

Been to Pho Hien Voung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Hien Voung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.