We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20% tip added in, service not great.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Oak

Liberty Oak
100 W. Washington St. #D, Greensboro, NC 27401
336 273 7057
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 723 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“20% tip added in, service not great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to Liberty Oak for 30 years. We have a group of six that goes to Triad Stage about once a month and we eat in the downtown area on theater night. (SHIPWRECKED is really good show, BTW). Service was not great tonight and the food was so-so. And then, we had to wait 15 minutes for our check only to find that they put in a twenty percent tip for themselves. This practice of adding in the tip really angers me when it happens. So much so, our group will not go back for some time. Management should know better...if you want loyal customers, don't anger them by adding the tip into the bill. I understand that servers make a living off tips; but if you want tips, give good service and customers will be generous. Put in a mandatory tip and most (like me) will take business elsewhere. It's a short sighted policy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    37
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always been a favorite of mine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I used to eat at Liberty Oak when I was in school there and thought it was terrific. I have followed them to new locations, chefs, wait staff, and owner and still always liked it. We ate there last week and it was absolutely the best meal I have every had there and the best filet I have had anywhere. A+++++

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“one of the "wanna go there again"s!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Good food with a good service even though it was so crowded... The staff and the atmosphere along with the good taste of food just made me say "i want to come back here again!" while leaving.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Much better in the past”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This used to be a wonderful restaurant, but a recent lunch there was so disappointing!! Their gazpacho used to be the best - worth a special trip - but the other day it was very ordinary. And the spinach salad consisted of spinach leaves that had lots of brown (as in much too old) spots and practically raw bacon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Full worth in high quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This restaurant is in a lovely, historical building (worth a read on their web site). Our family enjoyed terrific service and a delicious food. Our server went above and beyond to help the special needs of one older and one younger member of our family. Thank you for making our family dinner a special one!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Oak also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.