We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen

Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen
1421 Westover Ter, Greensboro, NC 27408
+1 336-370-0707
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 723 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Green Valley Road
Description: Discover American Southern Cuisine at our Greensboro restuarant, served in an upscale but casual environment. We use the highest quality ingredients (including a lot of local food) to create our interpretation of classic Southern dishes. Please join us for lunch or dinner, seven days a week, for the highest quality food and drink with friendly, attentive service. Weekend brunch. We are near UNC-Greensboro, Friendly Shopping Center, Women's Hospital and Green Valley office park. We promise you’ll be happy!
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Decor is very attractive, service was excellent, menu choices were varied and all tempting, and most importantly the food was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    129
    46
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Busy night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The food was good the problem I had was we no more than got started on our salads when the main course came. Because it was a busy night I felt like we were being rushed to open up our table.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, General Manager at Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. I'm so sorry about your experience. We clearly timed the courses poorly and made you feel rushed. It is just our pleasure to have you dine with us, it would never be our intention to rush your experience. I truly hope whether a busy night, or slower evening that you will give us another chance and dine with us. Thank you again for your response. We learn so much from our reviews. Karen Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pseudo-Southern?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen is an enigma. Upscale decor, downscale food. My problem with this restaurant is that it thinks that it can slap the label "Southern" onto anything and automatically have a unique concept. There is Southern Cobb salad, Southern eggs Benedict, on and on. My recent visit started with fried pickles, very common bar food nowadays. These were downright terrible. If you are going to do fried pickles, go around and sample local offerings and make sure yours are better. There was also cold cornbread that tasted, well, like cold cornbread. These were supposedly "Southern" appetizers. Insulting to any native Southerner who has had mom's hot cornbread slathered with melting butter. A person at my table ordered the "Southern" eggs Benedict -- a gravy biscuit. Really? Eggs Benedict has hollandaise. Always. Another insult to any foodie. In my opinion, Lucky 32 cuisine is just lazy or, at worst, ignorant. There are some things that just don't work together. And classics you just don't mess with. I had ordered the Southern Cobb salad before and had to send it back because the chicken tasted old. This time, I tried to play it safe and order a burger. The burger was OK, but I had a MUCH better one at a family restaurant down the street (Oakcrest) for half the price. It's sad, because Lucky 32 has a long reputation of having pretty good food, but the chef is destroying that rep with these pseudo-Southern offerings and schizophrenic classics.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, General Manager at Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am truly sorry that you didn't enjoy your brunch experience with us. We do often take a unique spin on different southern dishes, with the hopes of our guests enjoying those flavors. I hope you will give us another chance and dine with us again, if not for brunch perhaps for lunch or dinner. Thank you again. Karen Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing Exceptional and Over-Priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Most of the selections are average; five of us were there for dinner. Burgers were not worth $11; sides are small. Oyster Pan Stew was good but too salty - seasoning over-powered the meal; Tomato Basil soup well worth trying; Grilled Salmon over-valued at $21. Deviled Eggs too cold, four on a plate - priced at $3. As long as patrons are willing to spend money on a meal experience that should be either more price reasonable or offer more exclusive fare, Lucky 32 will command a 1 to 2 hour wait on a table. This may be billed as a Southern Kitchen, but most of the selections are improvised "Southern" like the Shrimp and Grits for $19. This is no marriage between Southern "comfort food" and distinctively "Southern" gourmet cuisine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, General Manager at Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I am so sorry that we disappointed you with some of the flavors and with your value perception. I am happy to say that our new featured menu started on January 8th and we have some really flavorful dishes at a good value. I hope that you will give us another chance and dine with us again in the near future. Thanks again. Karen Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"Very satisfying"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've eaten here on more than one occasion, and it is always good! After many starts and stops, I finally tried the fried pickles. They were a mouthful of excitement! My jaws puckered and the flavor was amazing. I am looking forward to Sunday brunch in a couple of weeks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaintance W, General Manager at Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. We so truly appreciate your business. I don't know if you've tried us on Tuesday nights yet, but we have live music in our bar and fresh skillet fried chicken! We hope to see you soon. Karen Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.