We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Proximity Hotel

Save Saved
You added Proximity Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Proximity Hotel
704 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 75 hotels in Greensboro
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leonia, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, and found the staff welcoming, the decor modern and sleek, and loved our corner room. It was very clean, loved the 2 sinks in the bath and the sliding door. Also enjoyed our breakfast in the Printworks Bistro, as well as drinks from the bar. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Guest Service Coordinator at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience- the corner rooms are my favorite too. See you again soon!

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    44
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
72
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My son and i stayed in this lovely hotel near the interstate while i was visiting him for one night in Greensboro, NC. This was a spur of the moment stay, and i found this hotel on Trip Advisor! You would never know the interstate highway is so close!

Although a bit pricey for a monday night, $250.00 for a king room, we were extremely pleased with the staff, room, and service and quality of the bar. We loved the "London taxis" and the lobby furnishings. The bistro Restaurant menu was very nice and creative and boasts an extensive creative cocktail and wine list.

The Proximity Hotel is a wonderful place to rest and enjoy great food and service!

Our room was lovely, comfortable, and very clean. On the hall is an internet lounge with coffee and honor refrigerator. When returning to Greensboro, i would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Guest Service Coordinator at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are also happy that you enjoyed Print Works Bistro – they have some great classic cocktails and a number of new creations on the menu every 6-8 weeks depending on what’s available from our local farmers. The London Taxis you mentioned are a great way to get around town – we’d be happy to drive you to one of our sister restaurants during your next stay.

We look forward to seeing you soon on your next trip to Greensboro.

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just recently stayed here on a business trip. I stayed here on an overnight trip last night, but this time I was here for a week. And what a pleasure it was. The facilities were great. Very clean and very comfortable.

The hotels promotes itself as an environmentally friendly hotel, but this does not in any way detract from the quality of services and facilities it offers. I would say though that like a previous poster I was disappointed with the pressure of the water coming out of the taps. It was not weak enough to prevent having a decent shower, but it was not strong enough to have a real refreshing type of shower.

I really enjoyed that natural earthy colours that are on all the walls and integral to the decorations.

The best thing of all was the staff. They are amongst the most friendly staff I have ever met in a US hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they are all just a pleasure to talk to.

The only reason I did not give this hotel a 5 is that the breakfast is a more formal sit down, pick from a menu affair whereas I prefer the more buffet select it yourself type breakfast. This is absolutely nothing against the quality of the breakfast which was good, but just a personal preference.

I will definitely be looking to stay at the Proximity next time I am in Greensboro

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Guest Service Coordinator at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for naming us your choice in Greensboro, it is such an honor to hear that! Our goal is to only enhance, not detract from your experience with our sustainable features. I'm glad that was consistent with your experience.

Our staff will be excited to hear your praise! We seek out people for our team that are genuinely passionate about our guest's experience, and we're glad you felt so well taken care of.

Thank you for the feedback regarding your breakfast preference. Our sister hotel, the O.Henry, has a wonderful hot buffet breakfast included with its rate and may be something to consider on your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Greensboro!

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for my friends wedding. The room was spacious, clean and cozy. We brunched with friends at the Bistro, leaving full and satisfied. Everyone on staff was friendly and eager to help out. I love supporting environmentally conscious companies. We could not get over how fast the elevator was.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Guest Service Coordinator at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review.

I am happy to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that you had a chance to enjoy a weekend brunch at Print Works Bistro – they have some amazing dishes on the seasonal menu.

Our elevators are actually North America’s first regenerative drive versions of Otis’ Gen 2 model, meaning riding down the elevator actually feeds energy back into the grid – one of the many sustainable features of the hotel, and I’m glad you enjoyed how quick they are, too. Come back to see us soon!

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the hotel - we have stayed a few other places in the area, and the Proximity was the best. The service was absolutely second to none!!

We will not stay in another hotel anytime we travel to Greensboro. We are even planning on going out of our way on our next road trip to go to Greensboro just to stay at this hotel. If you eat at the Bistro, I recommend sitting outside on the patio.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, General Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
This is fantastic! We love being a spot on your road trip map! We promise we will make it worth the miles to get here. We’re honored to be your place to stay in Greensboro.

The terrace at the Print Works Bistro is an unbelievable place to dine isn't it? Whether for a nice quiet breakfast or wonderful spot to enjoy the setting sun it is hard to beat. We've got a scrumptious local tomato plate on our seasonal menu right now that is just a perfect start to your outside dining experience.

Till your next road trip…Cheers!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our daughter chose the Proximity as the site for her wedding and reception. The Proximity representatives were wonderful and exceeded our expectations in every department!
Planning - Kristen Sanecki and Jacob Bennett listened to our daughter's vision and they successfully delivered a traditional, cozy celebration with family and friends. Our initial ideas tweaked by their suggestions in room design, seating, decoration placement, food selection, and timeline of the day delivered a day of wonderful anticipation, excitement and joy. Kristen and Jacob responded to our emails and calls promptly always making us feel appreciated.
Setting - The Proximity Hotel is a beautiful, green property. The decor is warm, inviting and elegant.
Proximity rooms - We had several guests stay in the Proximity and everyone enjoyed their rooms. The bridesmaids and groomsmen enjoyed suites that were beautiful, spacious with plenty of sleep space and dressing areas, relaxing sofas and table areas for eating.
Food - The reception buffet set-up was spacious allowing guests plenty of space/time to choose from a wide selection of brunch items. The food was delicious, scrumptious, "had to go back for more." The groom and many in his family were vegetarians and Kristen suggested a macaroni station that was a big hit with everyone.
Proximity wedding day staff - Kristen and Jacob were there on the big day assuring that the planned timeline was being followed. The entire staff was very attentive anticipating what we needed before we needed it. As Mom of the bride, I noticed during the wedding ceremony extra guests not on the orginal guest list (grandchildren). After the wedding ceremony, I told a staff member who quickly added chairs to the reception table thereby avoiding embarrassment by all.
We enjoyed a wonderful wedding and reception at the Proximity; the venue is beautiful, the food delicious and staff superb. Our family and friends are still calling telling us how much they enjoyed their day at the Proximity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, General Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Reading your review truly warms our hearts. You honor us by trusting us with such a special moment! We are so delighted to be a part of such a wonderful memory. Every bit of your experience is exactly what we intend for our guests.

Our team takes great joy in bringing a special event together. Every detail is an important one. We're so glad to hear we exceeded you and your guests expectations!

Thank you for sharing!

Cheers!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed in the place for a week on a business trip. The hotel is a LEED certified hotel and lives the values. Big open rooms, large windows, recycling, and a very friendly staff. The internet is a little slow, which is not great for business work but overall i was pleased.

Green Features: Solar heated water, Avada bath supplies, recycling, low flow water and light.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony V, General Manager at Proximity Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed both the rooms and our staff! Sustainable Practices certainly are an integral part of our mission and values. I am glad it showed in your experience.

Thank you for the feedback regarding your internet experience. Our WiFi is offered at two speeds: our complimentary at 785k and a premium option of up to 4m for $10 per day or $45 for a 5 day pass.

I hope your travels bring you back to us soon.

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Proximity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Hotel

Address: 704 Green Valley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
#1 Green Hotel in Greensboro
#6 Business Hotel in Greensboro
#8 Family Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to use 36% less energy and 30% less water than a comparable hotel, the Proximity Hotel offers a glimpse of the future while celebrating the past. Sustainable practices, custom-designed furnishings, commissioned art and innovative design await guests in every corner of the 147-room luxury "green" hotel and its adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Proximity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Hotel Greensboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proximity Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.