We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Residence Inn - Comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Greensboro Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Greensboro Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn Greensboro Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7616 Thorndike Rd, Greensboro, NC 27409   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in Greensboro
Göteborg
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Typical Residence Inn - Comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

I stayed at the Residence Inn Greensboro Airport for 3 nights in June 2009. The hotel is failry standard for Residence Inn: the room was BIG, with plenty of seating space (desk, kitchen table and sofa).
The bed was extremely comfortable and bathroom was adequate. The real killer though is the kitchen. I had never seen such a big microwave in a hotel room. Then again, I guess most guests do not cook at all.
Overall, my stay was pleasant. The breakfast could be improved with better quality food. My only real issue is that the hotel is aligned with the airport runway, which means that you will hear planes. Then again, most hotels in the area share this problem, and the last flight is around midnight.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
14
11
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangor ME
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stayed for two nights at this Residence Inn last week, and it was one of the nicest Marriotts we have ever stayed at. The lobby was spacious, the room comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, and the breakfast varied.
If there is one thing that could be improved upon, it is that the breakfast seating is inadequate at the peak of the breakfast hour.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Nice, clean, liked almost everything about the hotel. Even the price. But the indoor pool was too cold. My kids were turning purple and chattering and we had to get out after 10 minutes. That was very disappointing. The room was perfect, loved everything. Not a complaint about the room at all.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, va
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

large clean room, with kitchen and flat screen tv. free breakfast had many different selections, light and heavy. oatmeal with several toppings, cereal, yogurt, fruit, eggs & potatoes and a waffle maker. there is an outdoor patio with two tables and chairs to eat at or just enjoy the outdoors. staff were very friendly and helpful. Even though the airport is near, I did not hear any planes while indoors. The free level of wi-fi was fast enough for normal internet use. I did not download large files, so I had no delays.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

There must be 1,000 hotel rooms located within 1/2 mile radius of the Greensboro Airport Residence Inn....so competition is intense in this area. That said, the Residence Inn provides a pretty good product, at a relatively low price. We paid $113/night (AAA rate) for our room, upgraded to a fireplace-equipped unit on request.

The rooms are very well designed and equipped. "Kitchenette" is almost a full kitchen (no oven; tiny range; full-sized refrigerator and microwave, plus dishwasher). Separate bedroom can be closed off behind two doors. Lots of closet space. The hotel is new and shows almost no wear yet.

Rooms are fairly quiet--of course hotel designers seem to relish in providing room doors that SLAM in the middle of the night. We had some noise from stairway and outside door (SLAM! again), plus occasional noise from smokers standing outside to get their nicotine fixes. Oh yeah, being the airport hotel (PTI airport is runway is about 1 mile away), you do get a number of jets flying low over the hotel. But PTI is not ATL, ORD, or JFK...the number of landings/takeoffs per hour can be usually counted on one hand.

This hotel accepts pets for a $100 fee...which isn't too bad if you're staying multiple days, but is pretty steep for a one night visit.

As of today, the Marriott Courtyard Greensboro Airport, which is located right next to the Residence Inn, is still not open. But it looks like it will be very soon...another new Marriott property to consider in the area.

Breakfast provided in the lobby area was good. Staff was fine, what little contact we had with them.

  • Liked — size of rooms, clean
  • Disliked — dull location
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

Better than home. New hotel. Modern furnishings. Great staff.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

I was on a 3 week business assignment and stayed here the first week and one day the second week. This Residence Inn is new and has a different, more modern feel than older RI's. The staff was friendly, the rooms were really nice. I really appreciated the cleanliness and the flat screen television was a nice touch. If I had a con it would be that the breakfast was very limited and they offered the same thing day after day. Also I didn't like the food at the cookout they had on Wednesday. I took a bite of that burger and ended up tossing it in the trash. Thank goodness for Penn Station Subs...lol! I enjoyed working out in their fitness room. I forgot my swimsuit so I wasn't able to enjoy the pool, but it looked fun. Oh, yeah I really enjoyed the free wifi. However, they have 3 different packages, the free wifi which is way slow, the middle package costs $9.95 and I wasn't willing to pay for that. Unfortunately, trying to watch videos on my computer was not seamless. I'm sure if I would've paid for the middle package, I would've had better results. All in all, I would not hesitate to stay there again. A clean, new hotel goes a long way for me.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — The cookout
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Greensboro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Greensboro Airport

Address: 7616 Thorndike Rd, Greensboro, NC 27409
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Greensboro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn - Greensboro Airport is an Upscale, All-Suite Propety conveniently located off Interstate 40. All of our Rooms have fully-equipped kitchenettes, and we provide a choice of Room Types to suit your particular needs. The Property also showcases an Indoor Heated Pool, Jacuzzi, and Fitness Room. A Gourmet, Daily Breakfast Buffet is Complimentary with your stay. We also provide a Complimentary light evening meal, with your choice of beer and/or wine (limit of two per adult registered in the room) from Monday - Wednesday. The Residence Inn also provides a Complimentary Airport Shuttle daily, and based on availability, will provide our guests complimentary transportation within a five-mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Greensboro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Greensboro Airport Hotel Greensboro
Greensboro Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Greensboro Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.