We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good choice in the Triad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Greensboro Airport

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Greensboro Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Greensboro Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7616 Thorndike Rd, Greensboro, NC 27409   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #21 of 75 hotels in Greensboro
Castro Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still a good choice in the Triad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We've stayed at this property since it opened. As we come for the Furniture Market, we do stay for at least 1 week at a time. Overall, a superior property in the Triad, with spacious rooms, a pool with a very comfortable Jacuzzi, and a friendly staff. Our only complaint is with the mattresses showing wear (hate rolling into the middle of the bed), and with some of the furniture worse for wear (i.e. that recliner others commented on). Hopefully those will get replaced in the new year.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the parking lot in the back. A little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    35
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
12
11
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
Top Contributor
656 reviews 656 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

They welcomed us and were appreciative of our gold status by upgrading our accomodations.
Suite was comfortable and clean, but they do need to upgrade the reclining chair in living area. It was pretty ragged and worn. Oherwise, it was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel just didn't meet expectation. The entrance and lobby area was very clean, bright, and inviting, and the elevators were clean as well (not always the case). However it was in the rooms where things went down. I had to question to myself if the bedding had been changed. I saw stains on the sheets and towels (not huge stains, but stains nonetheless), there were multiple stains on the carpet, I found a hair in my bed (ahhhhhh!), the remote control looked as though there were spots all over it, but they wouldn't wipe off. The room just wasn't fully clean, which is a complaint I generally have of Residence Inns because I always wonder with the rooms being so large how can the staff clean them properly. But no excuses for this one because some things they missed on were so basic. It looked like a tornado made my bed and rolled my towels. My pillows looked so sloppy (made me wonder if the cases had been changed or left from the previous guest because some were tucked in and others were not), my fitted sheet was barely on the bed, so it was definitely not taught and crisp, when I went for a towel it was not evenly folded or completely rolled. Whoever cleans the room just doesn't care but those details are so important. Also the sink in the vanity was very small and close to the wall which made brushing my teeth feel cramped. The tub and toilet were for the most part clean. I don't think this place is hopeless, they just need to get their housekeeping staff more motivated and understanding of their crucial role in the guest experience. But I won't stay here again. Oh, also I could hear people in the halls and walking above me, and airplanes flying overhead...the room wasn't very quiet. But great selection of cable television channels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grace1908
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel and this location many time. The staff this time was very disappointing, and the rooms seem to need some attention. The pillows are old and tired, and the chair showed wear and tear. The comforter was also tired. This is not the usual standards that we have been accustomed to finding at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsail Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we were just as pleased this time as the first. Rooms are very large, clean, and comfortable. While they cater to the business traveler, we appreciate the amenities for the pleasure traveler. The breakfast choices are great and location is very convenient for us as we visit family in the area. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have been long-time guests at this property, and have always used it as a standard for every Residence Inn that we visit. It was that good. However, something not-good seems to be happening. Last week we were shocked, with others, that the long-time manager, Ken, had abruptly left. What a loss his absence will be.

When we arrived we noticed that the grass had not been cut in the front, and the newspapers in the lobby area were from the previous day. Once in our room, we found that the posted weekly "menu" of social experiences was from the previous month. When I visited the business center to print out a map, the computer was out of ink. At the weekly BBQ, they ran out of clean glasses as well as out of white wine. In my opinion, NONE of this would have happened if Ken had been there. In fact, we often found him doing the actual BBQ cooking himself. while enjoying conversation with guests on their lovely patio. Speaking of the patio, they really need additional umbrella tables - two tables just doesn't do the job.

The breakfast, as usual, was outstanding. One reviewer mentioned that they found better elsewhere. Really? We were offered scrambled eggs, two types of sausage, home fries, pancakes, french toast, McDonald's-type egg mcmuffins, a waffle bar, hot oatmeal, fresh fruits and yogurts -- on, and on, and on. Plus, eating on REAL glass plates with REAL silverware instead of plastic, is a huge plus over other similarly priced properties. I am at a loss as to what more the previous review could possibly want.

We will give it another try, of course, but whatever happened to Ken is a loss to his loyal staff as well as his loyal guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjshe, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Greensboro Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to send a review, we are taking steps to make the transition as smooth as possible for everyone, we have addressed everything you noted and I hope when you come to Greensboro next time you will stay with us again. If I can assist you with anything please feel free to call the hotel and ask for the Director of Sales. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for an event at High Point University in July 2011. We had to wait 20 minutes for the desk clerk to emerge when we arrived at 3:00am. We were not happy, but the clerk could not care less. In fact, everyone at the front desk seemed put out all weekend long. It's too bad, because these updated Residence Inns are really Nice. Nice hotel, but the front desk staff was annoying.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Greensboro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Greensboro Airport

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Greensboro Airport Hotel
Residence Inn Greensboro Airport Hotel Greensboro
Residence Inn Greensboro
Greensboro Residence Inn
Address: 7616 Thorndike Rd, Greensboro, NC 27409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Greensboro
#24 Family Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Greensboro Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn - Greensboro Airport is an Upscale, All-Suite Propety conveniently located off Interstate 40. All of our Rooms have fully-equipped kitchenettes, and we provide a choice of Room Types to suit your particular needs. The Property also showcases an Indoor Heated Pool, Jacuzzi, and Fitness Room. A Gourmet, Daily Breakfast Buffet is Complimentary with your stay. We also provide a Complimentary light evening meal, with your choice of beer and/or wine (limit of two per adult registered in the room) from Monday - Wednesday. The Residence Inn also provides a Complimentary Airport Shuttle daily, and based on availability, will provide our guests complimentary transportation within a five-mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Greensboro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Greensboro Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.