We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, but the property needs major improvement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4307 Big Tree Way, Greensboro, NC 27409   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed 'N Breakfast Deal
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Greensboro
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice staff, but the property needs major improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Within the Hilton scale, this property really should be catergorized well below a Hampton Inn. That's not a a good thing! One of my criteria for rating a property is how well the heating/AC maintains a reasonable level of comfort within the room. My room absolutely failed on this criteria. It had one of those noisy window units that ran all the time or not at all. Thus, I could chose to have it off at night and freeze in silence or on and hear the noise of the fan in too much heat. I chose to first option. Eventually I traced the cold air coming in from the bottom of the heat pump. On the last night of my stay, my inner MacGyver engaged and I crammed two pillows under the heat pump to slow the cold air entering the room- with the unit turned off. It worked but it wasn't until my last night.

I have had some fantastic breakfasts at some of Hilton's properties, unfortunately, this location was not one of them. The ingredients were not of the usual HGI quality. My omelet was terrible most likely because of the reason just mentioned. The options were sparse- only diet yogurt available...yuk! Tried it once and did not go back.

The two positives for this location was the central location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear 365travelNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our property. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work with our team members to improve our guest experience. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please don't hesitate to contact me at the number below. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    59
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
82
25
13
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a business trip. Also used there conference facilities on one of the days. Staff were friendly and accommodating , room was clean, quiet and had good heating /air con . Breakfast food was a bit basic but ok. I travel occasionally to Greensboro and would certainly use this hotel again. They also provided pick up/drop off to Greensboro airport -as an infrequent visitor I really appreciated this as I didn't know my way around and this took the stress out of the connections from airport to hotel. I'll certainly recommend this hotel to colleagues

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Ron28QC,

Thanks for reviewing our Hilton Garden Inn - I'm glad that you could take advantage of our complimentary park & fly while you were here and that you enjoyed many of our amenities. We also appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Greensboro!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Outside of my brief interactions with staff, the stay was quite nice. Check-in was quick and business-like. Don't look for a welcoming smile here, though. The room was very clean and surprisingly quiet, given the nearby highway that my window faced. Connecting to the wireless Internet was quick and easy. Oddly, the room service button on the phone did not connect directly to the kitchen. The front desk answered and then transferred me. Over the course of an hour, calling every 10 to 15 minutes, there was no answer in the kitchen. Finally, a dead why-are-you-bothering-me voice answered and took my order. You're welcome! I understand that the kitchen can be busy and I didn't complain - but does everyone hate their job here? Anyway - the Fiesta Cobb Salad was excellent. The greens were very fresh. Not sure I will stay here again. There are multiple hotels in this area to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Jeana P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I'm so sorry that your order was not handled promptly and you did not receive an acceptable level of service - all of our customers' needs are extremely important to us and we appreciate your feedback so that we can address any issues and provide a better experience. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the number below. However, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed everything else about your visit and found your stay quiet. Thanks again and I hope you will consider giving us another chance during your next stay in Greensboro.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our business travels take us through Greensboro quite often and we continually choose to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. The location is perfect, the staff is friendly, check-in is always a pleasant experience, and the rooms are welcoming. We look forward to their breakfasts, especially the freshly made omlets. This hotel rates as one of our favorites as we travel throughout the state.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear travelover09,

Thanks so much for your review - we're really happy to hear that we have become your regular destination in the area. I'm glad that you continually find that everything meets your expectations, you enjoy our Great American Grill restaurant, and receive a high level of service. Thanks again & we'll see you the next time you're in Greensboro!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The reservation was for two rooms. For some reason one room was on one end of the hall and our room was on the other end of the hall. The rooms were also outside of the elevator closet- terribly noisy. When I bought this to the attention of the front desk staff they made absolutely no effort to change the accomodation, offer any room credit, nothing. They simply said no and were very dismissive. Needless to say, I will not be spending another dime at this hotel in Greensboro.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear MzPotter,

I'm so sorry that we weren't able to meet your needs during your stay with us. We always try to fulfill our guests' room requests depending on our availability, but I would like to apologize that our staff seemed dismissive to your concerns, which is not acceptable. I appreciate your feedback and will pass it on to our General Manager so we can work to improve our service for future guests. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to call our General Manager, Sandi Ellis, at (336) 852-1491, or me at the number below. However, I am glad to see that you rated our location and rooms highly and hope that you found your stay comfortable otherwise. Thanks again for your feedback and I do hope you'll consider giving us another chance on your next trip to Greensboro.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
434-822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here with my business team for three days. It had a good location to downtown, good restaurants. This is a good HGI with the style and amenities we expect. The junior suite was very comfortable. Good breakfast and lobby. The staff was really friendly and hospitable. The market was well stocked and the business center worked great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear SterlingLatte,

Glad to hear that everything during your stay met your expectations and that your room was so comfortable. I hope you and your team were able to take advantage of all the shopping and other attractions nearby. Thank you for your review and we'll see you the next time you're in town!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here overnight with our team. Hotel staff was more than accommodating, especially Renae Simon who oversaw our group sales account. She helped get us checked in smoothly and had our meeting room and meals set up at requested times. Great to work with. I highly recommend calling Renae to book your team or group stay.
Hotel decor and comfort was great as usual. Third time staying at a Hilton Garden Inn. Big fan. Breakfasts are great as well. Nice to see they had a hotel bar but did not have a lot of options. Great location allows for many food/bar options in the area though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Lindsay W,

Thank you for reviewing our Hilton Garden Inn. I hope your team won while you were here! It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with no troubles from booking to the comfort of your guest room. We also appreciate you recognizing Renae's great work and encourage anyone looking to book group business to give her a call at 336-852-1491. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Greensboro!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro

Address: 4307 Big Tree Way, Greensboro, NC 27409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Greensboro
#7 Business Hotel in Greensboro
#11 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn in beautiful Greensboro, North Carolina. Our hotel offers many amenities for your comfort and convenience, including an indoor pool, business center, and fitness room. The Great American Grill is our on-site restaurant and is open for breakfast and dinner. All of our guest rooms feature a microwave and refrigerator - perfect for the business or extended stay traveler in Greensboro. We are located minutes from the new Greensboro Aquatic Center and the Piedmont Triad Airport. Let our hotel be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro Hotel Greensboro
Hilton Greensboro
Greensboro Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Greensboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.