We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Like It Used To Be Years Ago” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Restaurant

Giovanni's Restaurant
5831 High Point Rd, Greensboro nc 27407, Greensboro, NC 27407-7004
336-852-8890
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #227 of 723 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not Like It Used To Be Years Ago”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have to agree with Trisha of Mebane, this place is WAY over-rated. I really can't understand how some people think this place is good. It used to be in the past; but sure isn't now. Apparently they have changed chefs or owners, or something as Trisha said. Dine here at your own risk.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    7
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Huge build up. Culinary letdown.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Arriving in the rain, we were greeted by a charming man with an umbrella to escort us to the restaurant. The ambience was wonderful I was with my new husband taking advantage of a gift certificate, and we found our waiter to be knowledgable and friendly. I was salivating at the menu choices. Then, it went downhill. Many items were not available. Since it was a Saturday, that was somewhat surprising. Then the veal saltimbocca arrived. (Caveat: I used to cook for an Italian restaurant, so know how this dish should be made) It was literally swimming in a watery soupy mess that had not been reduced, and had tomatoes in it. Tomatoes are not in the dish. It was rubbery, and inedible. I was so disappointed. They did not charge me for the dish. However, I had heard good things about the restaurant, and can only assume they have changed chefs. I hope they send this one to culinary school It was a build up to a very disappointing dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Wasnt expecting this experience. At all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My Fiance took me here the last time we were visiting his mom from Georgia. He swore by this places food last time we were here so of course I went with the flow. Food was good but there were just a couple things that were off. Service was the main one which I was warned about by my future mother in-law. Seemed like everyone was stone faced and just trying to get through another day at the office. Well, 7 months later... Not this time. Our server was a very personable young man who stated he would not stear us wrong and get something he wouldn't approve of. From the wine to the apps all the way to the Chocolate cake he was on point. He made us feel as if we were the only table he had. Our waters were never low, bread was always full and we didn't touch our own wine bottle to pour ourselves because he was always there when needed. The only thing I found to complain about was the charge for my side salad and pasta with my Shrimp Parm. My Fiance got a free salad with his Flounder so that was a plus. But the expierience was worth it. After we left we were still talking about it. My Fiance words when we got in the car were "wow, that didn't feel like the same place" in a good way. We are here until the end of the week and after not really wanting to go we may have to stop by again before we go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Giovanni's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great place to eat, and dine...Romantic atmosphere available. Food is superb !! Cocktails and apetizers at the bar are worth the wait...Thursday night "WINE " 1/2 off is a must !! GREAT FOOD, GREAT DRINKS, GREAT PEOPLE, GREAT PRICES ", Who needs anything more..

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian just on the ourskirts of Greensboro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was our second trip to Giovanni's while in Greensboro for the ACC Tourney. We knew it had great food, but when Dickie V sat two tables away, we knew it must be the best Italian food around, Baby!

Ask for Meredith, very knowledgeable, friendly and professional waitress.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Restaurant also viewed

 
Greensboro, NC
Greensboro, NC
 

Been to Giovanni's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.