We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good prices, typical breakfast place, very friendly service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tex & Shirley's Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tex & Shirley's Family Restaurant
708 Pembroke Rd, Greensboro, NC 27408
(336) 299-9315
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 775 Restaurants in Greensboro
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good prices, typical breakfast place, very friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had excellent service at our visit to Tex and Shirleys. Like any breakfast place, we ate until we felt like we would bust open. The waffles and pancakes must have sugar in them, they are very very sweet and rich. Eggs are "okay" (I'm very picky about eggs, though). Bacon is "okay" "(I prefer a really fresh off the griddle slightly chewy bacon. This bacon was a little overdone for MY taste but, every has different preference for bacon done-ness, so don't blame Tex, or Shirley). The waiter we had was one of the most friendly I've had at any restaurant. My mom was visiting from out of town and he took the time to ask her questions and chit chat with her about that which was really nice, and rare nowadays! Overall, I'll definately eat there again! It's a typical breakfast place, not mind blowing, but it gets the job done.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    19
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont of NC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Love TEX & SHIRLEY's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Love TEX & SHIRLEY's. Always had great food, good service, fantastic atmosphere. Love their all you can eat pancake night.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“yuk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

just plain food. you could get anything offered here at any diner anywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etters, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Little Tired Looking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I ate at the original location for Tex & Shirley's. It wasn't bad. The place just looked old and tired.

I had the strawberry waffle which was good. The strawberry topping did not have that heavy industrial syrup taste to it which made it palatable.

The value received for the dollar was good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Skip This Place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The service was slow - the food not special - the decor old and dated -- this is no doubt one of those restaurants that your relatives went to 50 years ago and then the kids go and their kids go - it's tradition -- but if you haven't started this tradition - don't start - and if you do - break the cycle

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tex & Shirley's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tex & Shirley's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tex & Shirley's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.